Ratings based on 1,456 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The Hakata Excel was quite easy to find, located right along the canal. Everything was perfect and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Nice Hotel, very central

Posted Jul 17, 2017
It was very good (I speak no good english, my language is deutsch)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lai Mei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
The hotel was very nice, the room was spacious and tidy. We had the biggest bed we've ever slept on and it was very cozy and comfortable. We recommend!
5 out of 5
by Po kwan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location but hotel is old and room smells.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Rooms were apparently non smoking however it reeks of cigarettes. Room is small and old for the price I've paid. Definitely doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel. Location is good though, 1 minute away from subway exit. Loads of izakaya and convenience stores within the hotel area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Exceeded all expectations

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel - good value for money. The rooms were clean and kept in great order - it was a comfortable room, simple but yet provided all the in room amenities required (e.g. Kettle, safe, toiletries etc). The staff were excellent and we were provided very good service right from check in to check out. When it rained we were automatically provided with umbrellas at the door. Location was okay - close to many eateries and transportation but not at the heart of town. All in all it was an excellent stay and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CA

Great Hotel in Hakata

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: I loved everything about this hotel. They made me feel welcome.
Cons: I couldn't find anything to improve.
Location: It was in the best location. By the river, by the RiverRain Mall, restaurants, food stalls. Also, it was clean and beautiful.
I was very impressed with the hotel. The staff was always pleasant, helpful, and considerate. They greeted you when you come into the hotel and onto the lobby from the elevator. When the elevator opens, one of the staff runs over to keep the doors open. If they can't speak English, they find someone who is fluent. The restaurants were excellent. I highly recommend them - buffet or Japanese style. The cleaning staff are always polite and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Uncomfort room temperature

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location is good and Hotel staff is not bad.
Cons: Please do not shut down the air conditioning system during winter time. The smell of toilet also needs some improvement.
I wish the hotel top management can understand this problem: The hotel cannot shut down the air conditioning system for all rooms during close to winter season. It is very cold outside and it is very hot inside the room. Because the room is very small, it is hot already. It does not need any more heat. When you turn on the A/C system, only heating is available. The hotel room temperature is around 82 to 85 degree fahrenheit. This is too hot for most of us. When you are in the hotel lobby, yes it is comfortable around 70 degree fahrenheit. Yes you can feel the air conditioning is working in the lobby.