Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mosquito infested dump

Posted Jan 6, 2018
I arrived at the Mango Bay resort??? On Christmas eve . I was taken to a shed in the dark dingy part of the grounds that was actually my room . It had a bed (two singles pushed together) and a shelf unit, that was it!! No table No chair No bedside cabinet, No fan , No ceiling !!?? And definitely No fridge. In hindsight I should have refused to even go in the room, it was disgusting. That night I tried to read my book but the insects coming through the roof were ridiculous, one thing they did put in the room was a large can of fly spray, i sprayed the bugs and then they would come cascading down on to me and the bed, i would then have to brush them off of me and the bed . After repeating this 3 or 4 times I gave up, and decided to try and get some sleep . When I lay down my feet hung over the end of the very uncomfortable bed . I managed to get 2 maybe 3 hours of sleep that night. I decided to get up and have a shower before breakfast, I flicked the light switch No power, I thought oh well I will shower in the dark, But No water , this was a great start to Christmas day . My breakfast Christmas morning was a bowl of cereal with warm milk , couldn't get a tea or coffee because you need hot water for these luxuries. I contacted a few of the other hotels along the Coral coast but they were all booked. I booked a flight home on the 26th I was supposed to be there till the 5th January. I have never been so happy to leave somewhere. Oh and the rain came through the roof.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill NSW Aust

Do not go here

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: Cusotmer relations
Location: Didn't stay there so I cannot comment
After having my booking for 6 weeks they emailed to say they were doing major work at the resort and had transferred me to another resort. THE RESORT GAVE ME 2 DAYS NOTICE. Bit late to change airlines, car bookings etc. Very annoyed at this. It never mattered that I did not like the other resort, I had no choice but to go. Very poor customer relationship, they need a lesson in how to treat their lively hood.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Lovely resort in a stunning place.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The small low key atmosphere. The wonderful staff. The delicious food. The beachfront bure with it's comfortable bed and the outside shower.
Cons: A bit more consistency with the housekeeping.
Location: Fantastic location on the Coral Coast with stunning scenery. Plenty to do - swimming, snorkeling, paddle-boarding, kayaking, walking, boat trip.
We were able to really relax at this resort -it was quiet and peaceful. We didn't leave the resort for the whole week we were there as there was everything we needed and wanted. We rested, reflected, enjoyed the water, the warmth and gazing out at the stunning lagoon and nature around us. We also enjoyed the food and drink. We loved getting to know the staff and learn about their Fijian culture and family life. The beachfront bure was fantastic with a stunning view and proximity to the lagoon.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state usa

Beautiful location. Fabulous staff

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Love the friendly staff and the beautiful location.
4 out of 5
for Students
by A verified traveler from NZ

Wonderful staff needing the support of the owner/s

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: See above re maintenance, room facilities and a more personal approach to guests by owner / manager.
Location: Enjoyed going into the neighboring village - church, school and meeting the locals.
We particularly enjoyed our time here because of the staff who were very friendly, made every effort to cater to their guests and were welcoming. We felt they were let down by the owners who had neglected maintenance and guest comfort and needed to pay more attention to detail. E.g. it is not possible to read in the rooms after dark as there is insufficient lighting and none at all by the bed. They offered a mini bar in the rooms we had to ask for glasses and there was no bottle opener provided. We booked for 12 nights and at no time during that time did the person that was pointed out to us as the owner come and introduce themselves, welcome us or address concerns that we had expressed to the staff. We chose a small resort expecting a more personal approach than in the large ones. This didn't happen. The setting is lovely and quiet with a reasonable range of facilities.Our activities were mainly off site so we didn't use most of the facilities. However they looked in good condition.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice property and staff. Room a bit run down

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I had a short but nice stay at Mango Bay. It's about 2 hours and a half from Nadi and 45 mins from Sigatoka. All the staff and other guests were lovely and they definitely made me feel welcome. The property was very nice and well-maintained--lots of coconut trees and beautiful plants. Clear water. I booked a double room with garden view for three nights but the room condition was not great. The room was dark and the bathroom dirty. I decided to shorten my stay by one night and asked to be upgraded to one of the beachfront bungalows (bure), which was much nicer in comparison. The staff was nice enough to fulfill my request. So the quality of my stay improved after that. If you are an independent traveler looking for a mid-range relaxing place to stay for a few days, Mango Bay would be a good choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Lela, Hotel Management
Thank-you, really Appreciate your response and we will look into this. Thank-you. Kelera Qoro
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We can recommend this resort for a relaxed quiet holiday. Plenty of activities if you want to ramp it up and we recommend the fishing!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort in a fantastic location

Posted May 25, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The staff, pool, location, snorkeling
Cons: Cleanliness in the room, storage, the mosquito screens, the dirt road from the main road to the resort (lighting at least would be nice)
Location: You can take tours, but have to be at least 4 people, unless you take the Namuamua village tour. There is snorkeling, fishing etc that can be booked.
The resort itself was actually very nice, the room however was disappointing. We had booked a Garden Bure, which I have since found out is a budget option. The good about the Bure: Beds were extremely comfortable, the fan was very effective as were the mosquito nets, there was plenty of room as well. The bad: the bathroom, in particular the shower was a gross, it was very moldy. There was a storage area, but this had cobwebs and only three hangers but no shelving, so you really couldn't unpack. The mozzie screen didn't cover the whole area that was open, so thankfully we had the nets over the beds. The actual resort though was amazing, the meals were great, the pool was clean, the staff were genuinely lovely, the location amazing. Snorkeling off the beach was great, and the guided snorkel trips where you are taken out in a boat were fantastic. Kayaking was included in the price and was a lot of fun. Evening entertainment included table tennis tournaments, pool games etc which were fun. I would definitely go again!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome Awesome Awesome

Posted May 23, 2017
Cons: Longer stay next time
Nice place, on the beach away from traffic, lovely staff, super friendly, great facilities from kayaks, paddleboards, fishing, diving, crab races, songs, food was awesome and cost was very reasonable, great beach and pool, excellent service, big mix of customers..........we will be back
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A unique resort

Posted May 13, 2017
Cons: Hooks for towel in open shower area. Mosquito net was too small to be effective
Enjoyed the beachside Bure, with flow through ventilation and open air, hot water showers. The staff made you feel more like a part of the family rather than a guest. Beach is protected and suitable for young families, with fishing, snorkelling and other water sport. Food was western cuisine and above average