Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Walter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Seow Fen

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and near to the busy district... easily accessible to restaurants and shopping areas...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you very much for choosing Yamatoya Honten and for your review. We are happy to learn that you had a great time and we appreciate your kind recommendation. We are very happy and look forward to seeing you when you come to OSAKA next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Yamatoya Honten Ryokan

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Convenient location to major shopping areas. Overlooking the river. Free large hot bath in the basement. Staff spoke english. Futons were clean and made daily for free. Free yukatas to wear around in different sizes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad toilet smell

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The toilet of the room number 521 I stayed was stink!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Finding the hotel was easy. There wasn't much room to walk around in and it was hard to keep control of the room temparure. The bed is hard but you can get comfortable when you fully lie down. My room smelt a bit funny when I first entered, I used to the room fragrance to cover the smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Very near to dotombori shopping belt. Yukata photo taking services is free and onsen is available too. Japanese breakfast was very delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: This hotel is steps away from all the action. It's located directly on the river so the views were breathtaking especially at night. The room itself was clean and accommodating. The only concern would be that it is showing some wear and tear. A little updating and I would have given it all 5's.
Cons: Shows some wear and tear. Could use a good coat of paint.
Location: Within 2 walking blocks of all the action.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

It was ok

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The onsen and location
Cons: No kettle and the curtains let way too much light in
Location: There's a lot of night life and restaurants very close
The hotel was ok but no kettle and curtains let way too much light in. A mission to get clean towels and the room service standard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay. Close to food and shopping

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Nice traditional feel. Good experience for 1st timer visiting Japan. Location close to food and shopping.