Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farmimgton Hills, MI

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Older hotel. Pool wasn't too bad. Although something in the air stunk. The hotel room was hot. Even after running the AC for 4.5 hrs, it hadn't cooled down. We did have their big suite on the third floor, so perhaps other rooms were better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richland, WA

Couldn't handle it.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The convenience of being next to a Denny's was great and the location was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: All of the above. And the toilet did not flush the first push.
At first this looked ok, not updated but ok. Then we noticed going into the building there was no lock on the outside door. I also found the dead bolt for the room would not work. The smell of old cigarettes was so strong my wife was coughing. The beds seemed comfortable but there was some mystery substance on the walls, the carpets were dirty and frankly we just didn't feel safe. So I made reservations at the Sleep Inn and we just left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioner didn't work, blood stains on linen

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Horrible! Was afraid to turn lights off Dirty pool No TV remote
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Sketchy people, dirty lobby, dirty room. Not impresse, couldn't stay one night due to these conditions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Poor customer service, AC was broken, dirty towels, bed wasn't attached to headboard or wall, loud guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nampa Inn, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

would not return

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: the man who checked us in was nice, he also brought extra pillow's (after we went to desk and asked him twice)
Cons: too
Location: much to list
The minute we walked into the hall way there way a smell. An old dirty smell, The door to our room looked like it had been kicked in and then repaired. Stains were still present on the washed comforter, bottom of box spring was falling off. ketchup on wall. 2 old tooth brushes were on top of light fixture by sink. an old property. needs a lot of work. the "secure" door was propped open in the morning..so much for secure. board of health should check this place out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nampa Inn, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belen NM

it was a dump

Posted Jun 22, 2017
This hotel was a dump. First night stay the toilet did not work would not flush management offered me a plunger to plunge then they switched us rooms cuz even after plunging still would not work they switched rooms and the TV did not work in this place. The doors that the security doors are in and out of the hotel itself did not work they stayed unlock 24/7 and the room doors didn't lock properly it was a dump. Expedia I would take them definitely off your hotel list I rate this hotel a minus 10 a total dump.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nampa Inn, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Room trashed

Posted May 24, 2017
Room had been trashed by previous guest. Keep pad didn't work, room not ready when we checked in at midnight. Door frame behind the lock had been broken out, curtains torn, locks loose, wall paper torn, shower walls broken and peaces missing. 2 x 4 under the bed to make it level.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jerome, ID

Everything around the area was already booked!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Maintenance and housekeeping for starters.
Location: Close to I-84
Sheets were clean- is the only positive I can think of. Floors had not clean very well. Frig & microwave would not work. TV would not work. Blow dryer bracket had been broken off & instead of mtnce. fixing, they just put whole dryer & bracket in the closet. Toilet paper was there, but no dowels to hold them in holders. Paper-thin walls & noisy neighbors all night. Only one person at the desk, & couldn't leave to help with non working items. Only upgrade to motel was their key locks (which they were real proud of}. Too bad they don't upgrade the important things.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
No king bed as reserved. Dirty and smelled of cigarettes.!