Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Remote hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: It needs some life
Location: Remote
Stayed one night and it felt like a night in a museum Very hard to find well away from town centre Almost empty very eerie
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Cédric VANDERVAEREN, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jon, We are grateful for the time you took to post your review concerning your recent stay. We understand that our location doesn't appeal to everyone and we are sorry to hear it wasn't quite to your taste.Situated in a peaceful natural surroundings, Chateau De Namur is the perfect place to relax located on top of the Citadel with beautiful sites to visit around. We would like to remind guests that there is a bus stop nearby that goes to the centre, the railway station and Leopold square. Taxis are also available. We are also planning a complete renovation this autumn so we hope we can welcome you back once these are finished. The whole team hope we will see you again in the future. Best regards, Cédric VANDERVAEREN, General manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite & peaceful

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing environment and quite. It's a good place to relax
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by GILARI, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for this very nice review of your stay at the Château de Namur. Perched on top of the Citadel, our establishment is indeed a pledge of calm and serenity combining the pleasure of the eyes with that of the table. We're delighted that you enjoyed this fairy tale setting. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back and thank you again. Cédric VANDERVAEREN, General manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Dated and hot!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The location is great, surrounded by nature and an amazing view of the city. And that's about it... Our room, 110, had an old carpet and heavy drapes covered with dust. There's no AC in the rooms, and wih summer temperatures reaching +90 degrees, there's no other option but to keep all windows open all the time, which does not help with keeping bugs and more dust out of the room. I understand why this hotel was one of the very few in the City that still had rooms available...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Cédric VANDERVAEREN, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review concerning your experience at the Château de Namur. We are sorry our hotel didn't quite meet your requirements but are very glad you enjoyed this imposing building located on the heights of the Citadel, with a breathtaking panoramic view on the city of Namur in natural and peaceful surroundings. We have taken note about the cleanliness and will be informing housekeeping, we suggest if our guests find a problem they inform reception so that we can find a solution in the spot. As for the air-conditioning we will be installing it during the renovations planned for this fall. We hope we may be able to welcome you back to appreciate the changes we will be making. We all really look forward to welcoming you back again. My best wishes,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful character

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
This was an amazing old Chateau right at the top of the Namur Citadel. The area is wonderful for walking and it was easy to get into the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
good place up on the hill. the exterior looks awesome. good breakfast. the rooms are kinda old
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great views

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Lovely building, great breakfast, comfortable beds and good location. Nothing not to like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Cédric VANDERVAEREN, director., Hotel Management
Dear Vivian, We warmly thank you for redacting that so perfect comment about your time at Château de Namur hotel. This character building is ideally located on top the Citadel with astounding view on Namur and its surroundings. Thanks for your positive feedback about the breakfast and bedding. We will be thrilled to host you anew. Yours sincerely,
5 out of 5
by Eric

Great stay !

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great ! Everything was fine!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is one to stay in if you get the chance...
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manassas, United States of America

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Had a wonderful time exploring Namur and staying at the Chateau. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was especially nice with a double sink. Very large bathroom. While the room was large it could use a bit of updating, like new carpeting. But really it was an enjoyable stay and if I were to visit Namur again I would stay there. If you do not have much luggage you can take a bus right from the train station. We did it with quite a bit of luggage. The bus stops right at the Chateau. When we left we decided to just take a taxi from the hotel to the train. It was only 10 Euros. It would be nice if the hotel had a shuttle service. Especially at night if you are out on the town you have to take a taxi back as the bus does not run very late. We ate one meal at the Chateau. It was a bit dry, but good and it is after all students who are learning. All in all it was a nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Cédric VANDERVAEREN, director., Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thanks for your feedback concerning our hotel. It's a delight to note you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.. We're glad you appreciated your room. Note that we plan big renovations in autumn 2017. Thanks for hinting at our young trainees placed under the supervision and the guidance of experienced professionals. As you noticed it, we're reachable by public transportation with a bus stop (line 3) leading to the centre: railway station and Leopold square. We take good note of your suggestion. We look forward to seeing you again soon.