Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port McNeill, BC

Nice hotel...beautiful view of harbour

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable and staff was nice.
Cons: Offer continental breakfast
Location: right downtown and close to the Nanaimo pier
Hotel staff was very nice and helpful especially the night staff. Enjoyed our stay and will stay at again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox BC

close to the Queens where Morgan Davis blue played

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: close to harbour and old downtown.
Cons: carpteing looked like it could use more attention
nice dining room. parking a little inconvenient and not secure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chestermere,Alberta

Great Location but not much else.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Great location.
The location of the hotel is great. It is right near the beach, pathways, restaurants and casino. The standard one bed room is a closet. There is no room between the end of the bed and the dresser, the bathroom is tiny, the walls are paper thin and the door to our room was obviously not on the hinges correctly because I could see right through to the hallway. I called the desk to ask if all the standard one bed rooms were the same size of if we were given the smallest of them. He told me they were all the same size. It is old and not really an accommodating hotel. The only staff I saw was the one man at the desk and one cleaning lady. The room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Julie, Hotel Management
Dear Adrianna, Thank you for your feedback. Our standard room with 1 Queen bed with City view is the compact size room and therefore most economical rate. For your future reference, you could try our Standard Room with Harbour view which comes as bigger size rooms. Sorry for the inconvenience and hope we could meet your expectation on your next visit. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel and very convenient

Posted Jan 25, 2016
stay away from the restaurant, that's the only thing i recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Just passing through. Glad we stopped.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Spent the night in Nanaimo to shorten an otherwise long travel day. Picked this hotel because it was nice and central. Great choice! Staff was amazing, bed was super, even for my wife, who doesn't have the easiest time falling asleep. Will be back for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room comfort

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Staff were pleasant.
Cons: Cleaner rooms, vacuum and clean walls and ceilings.
The room was dirty, needed vacuuming. The bathroom was dirty, steam lines on the walls, and hair on the ceiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Historical hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly, and it's right downtown by the docks.
Cons: Lounge and restaurant closed early (8 p.m.) except Saturday.
Location: Located downtown, in the historical section. Has some nice restraunts, coffee shops, and quaint shops. Docks are right there, good to walk around them
Hotel is older, and therefore has some flaws. Room and hallways had a smell about them. Beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of room in the family suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stay at the Dorchester

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel was very nice. Beds very comfortable. Front desk staff very friendly. Only negative was the restaurant, we left for lack of service. We sat ourself and no one came to our table. Location was great