Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raymond, AB

Nice view of the Nanaimo harbourfront.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location and view.
Cons: Updated plumbing in the showers.
Location: Downtown Nanaimo. Easy access to restaurants, the conference center, shopping.
The location is excellent, sitting in downtown Nanaimo. The facility is aging a little, and needs some upgrading, but overall was quite good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Close to town Clean Good staff Parking good Good experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tri-Cities, WA

Centrally located

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: See above
Location: See above
Hotel was old but nice Staff was/were very pleasant and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. TV was not digital, so picture wasn't great, There was a very nice restaurant attached to the hotel where we ate breakfast - food and service were excellent, The location was excellent with the prime tourist locations within 15 walking minutes. There were also lots of shops, banks, and restaurants a short distance from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Pleasing Stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location to the harbour front.
Great check-in. Complementary cookies and coffee at check-out was a nice touch. Large room with view of the harbour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

IT was excellent, I loved it.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: It was clean, comfortable, great room, right by harbor.
Cons: nothing, it was great.
Location: Perfect location for everything.
Hotel was great, staff was great, great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

bon hotel bien placé

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: la situation
Cons: avoir un parking interne au batiment et une piscine
Location: très agréable
serenité et calme pour un hotel bien placé sur le port
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
My stay was pleasant. The view from my room was great. The mattress had a very noticeable indentation on one side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Long Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location and proximity to restaurants, the harbour, the old quarter and downtown.
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the August long weekend and were very satisfied with our stay. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and had everything we needed, and the location of the hotel couldn't be beat! We were grateful for the availability of free parking, and although we were able to get a parking spot, were told that if the lot was full that they would reimburse any parking fees from other lots! We only had one breakfast at the hotel, but found it to be enjoyable and appreciated the 20% off coupon that we were given at check-in. Overall, a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Mand M, Thank you very much for sharing your great feedback. We appreciate your business and will look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager Best Western Dorchester Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel with good central location.
Cons: Have air on in room.
Arrived after midnight. Check-in was quick. Wished the air conditioner was already on when arrived but not a huge deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SK

Old Hotel, In Downtown.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
This is a smaller, old hotel in Downtown Nanaimo. Was not impressed with the lack of available parking. Creepy area of the city. Basically just an old hotel with some Best Western lipstick applied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by General Manager-Best Western Dorchester, Hotel Management
Hello Roy, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not meeting your expectation. The location of our hotel is main reason most of our hotel guests stay with us. All the historic attractions(Bastion, Museum, Art Gallery, Casino), Harbour sea walk trail, and shops and restaurants are within walking distance from our hotel and close to historic Old City Quarter. Hope we could accommodate you better next time and hope you will consider staying with us again so that we could provide you superior service on your next visit to Nanaimo. Sincerely,