Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SK

Old Hotel, In Downtown.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
This is a smaller, old hotel in Downtown Nanaimo. Was not impressed with the lack of available parking. Creepy area of the city. Basically just an old hotel with some Best Western lipstick applied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by General Manager-Best Western Dorchester, Hotel Management
Hello Roy, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not meeting your expectation. The location of our hotel is main reason most of our hotel guests stay with us. All the historic attractions(Bastion, Museum, Art Gallery, Casino), Harbour sea walk trail, and shops and restaurants are within walking distance from our hotel and close to historic Old City Quarter. Hope we could accommodate you better next time and hope you will consider staying with us again so that we could provide you superior service on your next visit to Nanaimo. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tri-Cities, WA

Centrally located

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: TV to digital
Location: See above
Hotel was old but nice Staff was/were very pleasant and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. TV was not digital, so picture wasn't great, There was no on-site parking, so there was a $16/day Valet fee. They had to drive the cars to a local garage. They would bring them to the front door any time day or night. There was a very nice restaurant attached to the hotel where we ate breakfast - food and service were excellent, The location was excellent with the prime tourist locations within 15 walking minutes. There were also lots of shops, banks, and restaurants a short distance from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Adequate comfortable and good value

Posted Jul 14, 2016
This facility has all one needs for a short stay. Location is central, check-in efficient, quiet and all the amenities one would wish for in a short stay, including a fitness facility. The only negative was the room was on the small side.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in sehr guter Lage

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: die Lage
Cons: complimentary breakfast
Das Best Western Dorchester liegt mitten in Nanaimo an der Wasserfront. Es soll englisch-alt wirken, aber vor allem sind die Zimmer mini-klein. Wir wussten nicht, wohin mit unseren Koffern! Das Frühstück ist nicht wie bei den meisten anderen Hotels dieser Kategorie inklusive, haben wir daher nicht ausprobiert.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to promenade, view of island and ocean

Posted Jun 5, 2016
My stay was very enjoyable, I met relatives I did not realize I had and I would recommend the Nanaimo area for a satisfying vacation. You have pretty well balanced resort, mountains, lakes, boating, good restaurants, and a friendly casino.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duncan, BC

Posted Jun 2, 2016
For the price I paid for the wife and I to get away for the weekend, how close to the seawall and shopping. I would've given a 5/5 but it was clear the housekeepers were taking a day off in the cleaning department. The floor under the bed and crevases of the chairs weren't cleaned for quite some time. Other than that, the gym was decent, the front desk worker was polite and the room was affordable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel right downtown

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: This hotel allows dogs.
This place was perfect for a one night business trip. Simple clean room within walking distance of the waterfront and lots of dining options.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Closeness to business, restaurants, walkway by the water, etc.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Close to restaurants and park.
This small hotel has nicely appointed rooms with confortable beds with easy access to all areas of Nanaimo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Citynah und am Hafen gelegen

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Die Lage
Location: Citynah und am Hafen gelegen
Hotel macht erst einen guten Eindruck. Das Zimmer ist klein und muffig. Das Hotel hat einen muffigen Geruch gehabt. Gute Lage und eigener Parkplatz vorhanden. Bin leider vom Hotel enttäuscht.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently downtown hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: It's downtown. Walking distance to restraunts and boutiques. Has a nice outdoor patio on the third floor.
Cons: Restraunt only open for breakfast and supper. Closed at 8:00 pm. Bar only open 5:00 to 8:00 pm. Very small parking area. no place to park most days
Location: Close to harbour, sea planes, and boutique shops. Different and upbeat restraunts.
Short stay, so was good for my needs. Close to where I needed to be. Short distance from airport.