Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay at Grand Skylight Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel: clean, up-scale, great breakfast, located next to the river with ample opportunity for excercise. Wi-fi was good, although slow by US standards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need system updating

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Booking system!!!!
The hotel, Breakfast, and personal are all very nice and excellent. The major issue I had with this hotel is that they didn't have my reservation. I wasn't sure if they had double booked or there was a system lag. I was told that they stop taking orders from all online booking sites after they fill 70% of the hotel. However, there is either a delay or non communication with expedia. How are we suppose to know when they exceed 70%? It took me over an hour just to figure out what to do because I paid already through expedia, but they claim the reservation didn't come through and they are fully booked. The only room they can offer me is the presidential suite but I will be charged 40 times my original room rate plus I will be out my expedia booking payment. It took them another half an hour to find me a room. I requested a non-smoking room, but they were all booked so I had to make due with the only room available on the smoking floor. Besides this huge mess, they hotel would have been a great experience. The service was great, breakfast area was nice, and the employees were very helpful such as Nancy. The location of the hotel is more on a secluded block so it's a bit hard to find a taxi. Her and the front desk helped out as much as they can to find me a taxi on peak time. I won't recommend unless the other hotels nearby are booked up. Only because I can't bare the risk of knowing that I paid and not be able to get a room next time.
4 out of 5
by Jamie from Shanghai

Good for now, will move to int'l 4 star once open

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel for Nanjing, as not many options. Non smoking room is them spring air freshener in the room before you check-in as they don't stop people from smoking anywhere in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Pasadena, CA

Good value hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
Exceeded expectation. The service was very good. Foods were delicious. Good value for the money. It is situated in the newer part of the city where there are a lot of new developments going on. It is Nanchang so the infrastructure is not on par with western standards but I suspect your stay is probably other than pleasure if you find yourself in Nanchang. Will go again if they maintain current standard
4 out of 5
by Daniel from USA

Nice hotel, but out in the middle of nowhere

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels
Facility, rooms, and restaurants were nice, but hotel in an inconvenient location. Must take taxi out to get anywhere worthwhile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a 5 star - no bathtub

Posted Jun 6, 2013
It was definitely not a 5 star hotel as it was listed in Expedia, and there was no bathtub even though they went to great lengths to describe it. When asked to be moved to the room that was described in my reservation, they wanted more money. It was ok though, just not the 5 star experience they went through so much trouble to describe.
4 out of 5
by Tiger Wong from Singapore

Nice Hotel

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels
Location is a little off. Not a very good location if you want to walk around. But the room are excellent.
4 out of 5
by BC from Canada

Grand Skylight International Hotel Nanchang

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels
My third trip to Nanchang. Hotel is right next to the river and my room had a great view. Modern and clean room. Friendly staff at check-in. Waiters at the restaurants were not knowledgable at all. Concierge wanted RMB$30 extra for buying a phone card for me. Toilet was clogged up when I checked in and had to ask room service to "fix it" again after one use. Above average for a locally owned hotel... may try another hotel next time.
4 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

grand skylight hotel nanchang

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels
Very clean, modern hotel. Staff were very friendly and spoke English. Hotel is a short taxi ride away from the town centre. The hotel has both western and chinese foods, as an allergy sufferer i am unable to eat certain foods and on the first 2 days the staff made sure to cater for my allergies - however on my last day i think a dish contained something i was allergic to. If you have any food allergies ask someone to write it down in chinese so you can show it to the chef - make sure to keep asking what ingredients are in each dish you order. Apart from the above - very pleasant stay would recommend this hotel.