Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Staff were a little snotty.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Restaurant is a little pricey and mediocre food but the view from the patio is awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Irene Standen Front Desk Supervisor., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Pacific Shores for your time away from home. I am sorry to hear it was not the best stay for you. I will relay your response to the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Room was small and dark with no natural sunlight and no view. It was also very outdated. We actually got room switched to a a slightly better and more modern room. Service was lacking and we got no apology for the inconvenience and we had to pay a cleaning fee for the first room. Beautiful location next to the bay is the only positive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Irene Standen Front Desk Supervisor., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Pacific Shores for your time away from home. I am very sorry to hear that there was no apology for your inconvenience. We do hope you will give us another try in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Awful hotel - do not stay here

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The spa that is a separate company, but attached to this building.
Cons: Everything needs an update - needs a coat of paint, redo the bathrooms, and needs AC, needs to fix leaks in the garage properly (not buckets)
Location: The spa was wonderful.
This hotel was such a mess right from the beginning. The woman show as at the front desk was so rude to us when we asked where the attached spa was - it was like being an inconvience to her. The hotel parking garage was underground, and had 2L pop bottles taped to the ceiling to prevent leaking water from dripping on cars, as well as regular plastic buckets taped up there too. The room was old, and felt dirty. There was spiders on all of the corners in the room. The 'patio' was more of a hallway in-between rooms, with dirty looking chairs. And the bathroom - old, outdated, and a glass frosted wall area that lead to the hallway. When people walked by, we could see their outlines through the glass. I refused to shower there. THERE IS NO AC, so be prepared for a hot stuffy room. We left at 830am, and the room was already unbearable. We had booked two nights here, and left early and forfitted the second night because we just felt uneasy and unclean. Honestly, stay somewhere else. This place is not worth your money. We travelled from Ontario to BC, spent 3 weeks on the road between hotels and camping - and I'd much prefer camping to this. Save your money. Camp if you wanna be near bugs and dirty. OR go somewhere else and have a good hotel stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Irene Standen Front Desk Supervisor., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Pacific Shores for your time away form home. I was the agent that checked you out. I am deeply sorry for your experience here at Pacific Shores. I do understand it was a very long drive coming here and to have this sort of experience is just a let down. We do hope you will give us another try in the future. I have relayed this message to my general manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Incredible views, stifling rooms

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Wonderful location, incredible views, great amenities but no air-con. West facing rooms are crazy hot and almost unbearable when super hot out though ours did have a plug in fan. Bedroom was quite cool as it was shaded and ground floor. Overall highly recommended. Kid friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Pacific Shores, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property. We apologize for no air conditioning and are happy to read that you enjoyed our amenities. Sincerely, Nikii Morrison, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Nice place.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Fun place on the beach, great hot tubs around the resort, nice live bands nightly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Pacific Shores, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review of our property. We are happy to read that you found our location fun. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Nikii Morrison, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, BC

Amazing sunset views!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: I loved the view, the ocean breeze, listening to the waves on the shore, the sunsets, and the privacy.
Cons: The resort is showing its age. The suite was dated. Some maintenance and paint of the building outside, and updating bathrooms, kitchens and floors
Location: Parksville was only 5 minutes away. Coombs (goats on the roof!) was about 15 minutes, Cathedral Grove forest was 30 mins, Butterfly world was 20mins.
I will admit, not what I was expecting when I booked, but was still very pleased with my choice. I based my booking on the reviews it received and was not disappointed. The resort is showing its age, and I hope they are able to fix it up and update it. Overall the suite was clean and tastefully furnished. We stayed 3 nights, but were only supplied with 1 package of coffee...not a big deal since we went and bought groceries for our stay anyway. There are spots all over the resort where you could sit and watch the ocean. We packed a picnic dinner one night and ate over looking the water. It was fabulous! The downside to the suite was there is no a/c...not generally a problem I suppose, but we arrived on the hottest day of the year and the curtains were all open and the windows closed with the sun beaming in. Luckily, my daughter found some fans in the closest, which where a welcomed relief. With all that, I would love to stay here again. I will be saving my pennies for another trip next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot tub hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Nice hotel but when your from the praries it seemed a little of the beaten track, but once we got our bearings it was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Pacific Shores, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review of our property. We are happy you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you in the future. Sincerely, Nikii Morrison, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River BC

The bells are tolling the Death Knell loud & clear

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The location and grounds are beautiful. Thats where the positive experience ends. No A/C in any rooms. If you have a B room like we did it is attached to another suite with paper thin walls and the only window was a patio door to a balcony that is overlooked by many other suites (not private or tranquil). The room was hot and stuffy with the light and airyness of a cave. No views of the ocean either. The bed was very uncomfortable and squeaked everytime that you moved. The tv was not flat screen and was tiny. This resort has passed its prime by more than a decade. Its shabby, run down and is in obvious need of a massive cash investment or a bulldozer. The roofs are all overgrown with moss (causes rot and leakage). One part of the hotel wall was being patched up and black mold and rot was apparent throughout. The structures of the entire complex are run down and in need of paint and maintenance. Dont expect housekeeping either, you get told at 4pm they work until 5. Its a complaint based service only. Dont expect free coffee at the lobby!!..They charge $1 plus taxes for Keurig K-cups. The Smoke on Water restaurant has some beautiful views on the patio. The food was ok but overrated and overpriced. The front desk staff were just there. We werent even asked how our stay was. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to relax on the island. This place is a dinosaur well on its way to extinction. No wonder it has been into recievership several times already,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Pacific Shores, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review of our property. We apologize that the room was hot and stuffy. I would appreciate hearing from you directly regarding your stay and you can contact at the resort. Sincerely, Nikii Morrison, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful location!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Our room had all the essentials needed and the ammentities of the resort were impressive (bbqs, multiple hot tubs, pool, etc). Most important was the location right along the bay with stunning views at sunset! There was also a place to rent paddleboards and kayaks, though we didn't have an opportunity to do this. Cons: terrible service at the onsite restaurant- it took 15 minutes to be seated, an hour to receive our meal, my husband's choice of meal was "out" and the substitute order was incorrect, the compensation was our $4 lemonade being waived!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Irene Standen Front Desk Supervisor., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Pacific Shores for your time away from home. The sunsets are very beautiful here on the Bay. I am sorry to hear that the service at the restaurant wasn't up to standards. We do hope you will be able to visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Retreat after a long day

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Very Quiet, neat and clean.
Friendly staff, cozy room, clean, neat, and very quiet, yes I would return to stay again without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Irene Standen Front Desk Supervisor., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Pacific Shores for your time away from home. Thank you for the kind words and we do hope you can visit us again.