Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Nantes shorr break

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hotel fine , Nantesl lovely but finding howcto get to the hotel a bit of a problem as it is in a pedestrian area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Not friendly

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, very central. Staff are efficient but not friendly at all. The rooms are a good size but a little tired. There was stains on the carpet, why don't hotels just have hard floors, a lot easier to keep clean. A wall light fitting was quite loose. When you arrive you shouldn't have to swill other people's hair out of the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Front of house staff were ever-ready to go that extra mile.
Cons: Very hard to criticize.
Location: The airport shuttle also stops at the bottom of the road. A real benefit if you're hauling heavy luggage.
Hotel is deceptively modern. Outside on the street it appears to be a typical French city hotel, thick stone walls, faded grandeur. Inside the lobby and rooms are uncluttered and contemporary. There's a small bar kitted out with soft furnishings and stylish lamps. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant. It has what Mecure call a breakfast cafe. Service is buffet-style, Our room was compact, cleverly laid out to provide the essentials without promoting claustrophobia. Comfortable bed, sufficient wardrobe space, multi-channel TV, tea and coffee-making facilities, making it impossible to fault the overall value-for-money the hotel offers. The Mecure Grand is very conveniently located. All of Nantes' key attractions are within walking distance, not to mention a variety of restaurants and bars. The airport shuttle also stops at the bottom of the road. A real benefit if you're hauling heavy luggage. In an age when service is frequently painted-on smiles and time is money assistance, the front of house staff during our stay were constantly willing to do more.
5 out of 5
by Neil

Centrally placed hotel in Nantes

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel looked good, twin room a little small with restricted view, and we were unable to get access to any English channels. But other than that everything else was as it should be, excellent breakfast, and the hotel is centrally located for easy access to city center. Only 15mins walk from station, tram also available
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well located near down town and near the tram

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location and quality
Cons: nothing
Location: very well located near down town, castle, rail station, shopping, restaurants, etc
very well located near down town, castle, rail station, shopping, restaurants, etc, From there it's easy to go around and enjoy Nantes. Very close from the old LU factory also, with a splendid building
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

holiday

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The room was great and the hotel had a computer guests can use is a bonus for me as I don't travel with phone or computer. This is my 3rd stay at a Mercure Hotel and I have been pleased with this brand in Europe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alan from Paris

Centrally located, though tricky to reach by car

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Smart, modern hotel very centrally located with most sights in walking distance or a few tram stops away. Access to the hotel by car is complex. Read and follow the instructions carefully, and make sure you have the access code for the retractable bollards. I turned the wrong way when we were leaving and found myself on the wrong side of a set of posts separating pedestrians from cars. It needed a helpful taxi driver (yes, this is a genuine review!) to guide me out to the main road. The check-in staff – we had the same lady checking-in and –out but sadly I did not note her name – was extremely good, a pleasant change from her colleague on the phone when we need help trying to get into the pedestrian zone. There were good supplies of tea and coffee in the room but the cleaning service was a little erratic in minor ways. The bath was a little high but strong enough to sit on and swivel. Bizarrely, there was a plastic sheet between the ordinary sheet and mattress protector. After a relatively sleepless, hot night of squeaking with every turn, we found it could easily be removed. Restaurant tip: l’Entrecôte opposite the hotel has one dish of steak and chips but that description does not remotely do it justice. Try it (it is also open on Sunday but you may queue unless you are early or have booked). Tourism tip – don’t just go to castle and old town, the other direction looked worth a stroll, though we only saw it from our convoluted departure route.
4 out of 5
by Gudmundur from Hafnarfjordur

Great for overnight stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, clean and fresh, the room could be bigger