Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Front of house staff were ever-ready to go that extra mile.
Cons: Very hard to criticize.
Location: The airport shuttle also stops at the bottom of the road. A real benefit if you're hauling heavy luggage.
Hotel is deceptively modern. Outside on the street it appears to be a typical French city hotel, thick stone walls, faded grandeur. Inside the lobby and rooms are uncluttered and contemporary. There's a small bar kitted out with soft furnishings and stylish lamps. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant. It has what Mecure call a breakfast cafe. Service is buffet-style, Our room was compact, cleverly laid out to provide the essentials without promoting claustrophobia. Comfortable bed, sufficient wardrobe space, multi-channel TV, tea and coffee-making facilities, making it impossible to fault the overall value-for-money the hotel offers. The Mecure Grand is very conveniently located. All of Nantes' key attractions are within walking distance, not to mention a variety of restaurants and bars. The airport shuttle also stops at the bottom of the road. A real benefit if you're hauling heavy luggage. In an age when service is frequently painted-on smiles and time is money assistance, the front of house staff during our stay were constantly willing to do more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well located near down town and near the tram

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location and quality
Cons: nothing
Location: very well located near down town, castle, rail station, shopping, restaurants, etc
very well located near down town, castle, rail station, shopping, restaurants, etc, From there it's easy to go around and enjoy Nantes. Very close from the old LU factory also, with a splendid building
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

holiday

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The room was great and the hotel had a computer guests can use is a bonus for me as I don't travel with phone or computer. This is my 3rd stay at a Mercure Hotel and I have been pleased with this brand in Europe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alan from Paris

Centrally located, though tricky to reach by car

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Smart, modern hotel very centrally located with most sights in walking distance or a few tram stops away. Access to the hotel by car is complex. Read and follow the instructions carefully, and make sure you have the access code for the retractable bollards. I turned the wrong way when we were leaving and found myself on the wrong side of a set of posts separating pedestrians from cars. It needed a helpful taxi driver (yes, this is a genuine review!) to guide me out to the main road. The check-in staff – we had the same lady checking-in and –out but sadly I did not note her name – was extremely good, a pleasant change from her colleague on the phone when we need help trying to get into the pedestrian zone. There were good supplies of tea and coffee in the room but the cleaning service was a little erratic in minor ways. The bath was a little high but strong enough to sit on and swivel. Bizarrely, there was a plastic sheet between the ordinary sheet and mattress protector. After a relatively sleepless, hot night of squeaking with every turn, we found it could easily be removed. Restaurant tip: l’Entrecôte opposite the hotel has one dish of steak and chips but that description does not remotely do it justice. Try it (it is also open on Sunday but you may queue unless you are early or have booked). Tourism tip – don’t just go to castle and old town, the other direction looked worth a stroll, though we only saw it from our convoluted departure route.
4 out of 5
by Gudmundur from Hafnarfjordur

Great for overnight stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, clean and fresh, the room could be bigger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay. The staff very friendly and helpful. They need to do something about those beds. They were absolutely awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the heart of the city

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Location is great. Convenient to everything, trams, buses and walking distance to downtown locations. Nice breakfast buffet.
Cons: The wifi situation. I need the privacy of working from my room, not the hotel lobby and don't appreciate being forced to pay to work in their bus.ctr.
Location: The castle, the elephant at Les Machines, the cathedral, public gardens, great restaurants
Great hotel but their free wifi isn't really free. We were able to connect with iPhones and iPads in our room but not with our laptops. You can only use your laptop with the lobby wifi or at their business center where you have to pay a fee to sit. If you plan to work in your room this is not the hotel for you. Otherwise we had a great experience and really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by Alon from Modiin Israel

center location

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
nice location