Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel très bien situé, récemment rénové.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: L'état neuf.
Cons: La chèreté du petit déjeuner (15 euros). Nous l'avons systématiquement pris dehors (50% moins cher)!
L'Hôtel de France est un hôtel rénové, propre et très bien situé. Vous pouvez vous ballader dans le centre de Nantes ayant à l'esprit que l'hôtel est à quelques minutes à pied ce qui est un avantage certain. Le personnel est très aimable. La chambre très propre et silencieuse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本、兵庫県

ロケーションは抜群

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: ロケーション
Cons: 部屋の備品不足およびトイレの場所が浴室から離れている点
Location: ホテルの目の前に有名なチョコレート店があったので、お土産を購入するには最適。またすぐ横に非常に有名なレストランや劇場もあるので観光には最高のロケーション。
ベッドやシャワー、洗面所周り等、室内に清潔感があったが、洗面所やテーブルのスペースが狭く、室内で仕事や作業をするのは向かないかもしれない。また、お湯を沸かすための沸騰器やペットボトル、粉末コーヒー等が備えられていたものの、それを飲むコップ/食器がなかったのが残念。 なお、チェックイン時に朝食が含まれている予約かどうか確認するのを忘れたので、翌日に受付にいた別人に朝食代について確認したところ、ホテル代に含まれているとの説明を受けたので、翌朝朝食を取ったところ、チェックアウトの精算時に、食事代が請求された経験をした。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

GREAT HOTEL BUT GET THE ACCESS CODE IF DRIVING!!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Modernised comfortable hotel in an old delightful building. Excellent staff. Clean rooms. Easy walking distance to the sights & centrally located.
Cons: Hotel should contact guests & give information to access the roads to the hotel if travelling by car. If no have email then a text message please!
Location: Lots of history. Plenty to do and see within easy walking distance of the hotel. Nantes is a beautiful city.
Lovely hotel located in the centre of Nantes. Extremely comfortable and very clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel within easy walking distance of many of the sights of Nantes. WARNING: Be careful if you are travelling by car!! An access code to lower bollards is required to access the streets around the hotel. Make sure you contact the hotel and get the necessary information otherwise your GPS (sat nav) will keep trying to take you up streets that you cannot gain access to. We were able to find a public car park nearby(Graslin) and walk to the hotel. My husband did not want to take the car anywhere in Nantes after this experience!! We left our car overnight in the car park (which was not expensive) and then moved it the next day to the hotel car park (but there's only 10 spaces available and access is very tight). The hotel said they usually contact guests to advise them of the access code, but as we booked through Expedia, they said they did not have our email address. All of that said, once we had the access code, it was easy. The hotel staff gave us directions on the best route to take on our departure and this was extremely helpful and accurate. After our arrival, once we settled in to our room, it was very comfortable and spacious. There's some English TV channels & other languages too. Air conditioning was great as the weather was hot. Now we know how to gain access to the streets near the hotel, we would not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent stay in Nantes

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
A great location in the centre of Nantes. We had a very warm welcome from the hotel staff and a good night's sleep every night. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet. There is limited hotel parking, and if you're planning to arrive by car, you'll need a code from the hotel that will let you enter the pedestrianised zone of Nantes city centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great area.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I would certainly use this hotel again. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean. Staff are efficient and helpful. Situation is great, a lovely square with lots of restaurants and bars. Good shopping nearby too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Very good hotel in the centre of the city

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very good staff. Adelaide and Yannick are very kind and helpful. Nice room
4 out of 5
by pedro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from issy

HOTEL de référence.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Un lieu très accueillant et agréable. Reposant, moderne, un havre de paix à recommander.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

***WARNING***

Posted Aug 23, 2016
First; the hotel is very nice, and centrally located in a beautiful part of Nantes. Now, for what you need to be aware of-- you NEED to contact the hotel before you go to get the pass code. The hotel is located in a traffic restricted part of the city, which means your GPS will tell you to take streets which are barred and require a key code to access. We were not made aware of this, and the hotel made no mention of it. So, we drove around 90 minutes looking for a road that would allow us to get to the hotel. Add to this construction going on, and it was a nightmare. Eventually, we found on street parking about five blocks away, and walked to the hotel where they told us we needed a code to get pass the barriers... How on earth we were supposed to know this in advance is a mystery to us. Anyway, once we finally got passed the barriers we got to quite possibly the smallest parking lot on earth. It must have had less than 10 spaces for the entire hotel. Again, once we got parked and got to our room, it was very nice, and easy to walk to the points of interest in Nantes. However, we were so agitated by the passcode debacle, and the utterly preposterous parking situation that we dared not get in our car again until it was time to check-out, for fear of losing our parking space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love it, love it, love it.

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
The room was exceptional and was the most relaxing we have had during our month-long vacation in France. The hotel was "arty" and super inviting. It is the only hotel we would ever stay in in Nantes.