Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Great central location
Cons: No storage for clothes in the room, could do with some drawers or shelves.
Location: Castle is very impressive and Ile de Machines is a must see.
Perfect location for viewing all city attractions and for shopping. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on the standard of catering available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul MN

Gem of a hotel in Nantes

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The room was outstanding and we loved seeing the opera plaza from our window. Staff, amenities, beds, shower and room details were first rate.
Cons: If you will be coming via car, be sure to contact hotel in advance: it is in a pedestrian-only zone, and an access code is needed to enter and park.
Location: The hotel is a gem, and we would certainly return - perhaps on a TGV runout from Paris some day for the opera.
Our stay at Oceania Hotel de France in Nantes marked the first night of a weeklong car trip in Brittany and Normandy – a daunting venture for two of us into unknown territory. Once we made contact with very helpful hotel staff, we were guided into the hotel parking area and began to explore the area on foot. We loved it, and had we had the flexibility to change our plans, we might have stayed another night. Staff were uniformly excellent in responding to our needs and we appreciated their friendly reassurance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel in Nantes

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: everything, but especially the wonderful staff at reception!
Immensely helpful staff who went out of their way to advise on restaurants (including booking some for us!) and sight-seeing. Great location, comfortable rooms and very good breakfast - highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Edith, Director, Hotel Management
Dear Catherine, We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de France. It was really a pleasure to welcome you ! We hope to see you again for a next trip in Nantes ! Best Regards, Edith
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one of the best hotels in small town

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Best comfort. Excellent stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

GREAT HOTEL BUT GET THE ACCESS CODE IF DRIVING!!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Modernised comfortable hotel in an old delightful building. Excellent staff. Clean rooms. Easy walking distance to the sights & centrally located.
Cons: Hotel should contact guests & give information to access the roads to the hotel if travelling by car. If no have email then a text message please!
Location: Lots of history. Plenty to do and see within easy walking distance of the hotel. Nantes is a beautiful city.
Lovely hotel located in the centre of Nantes. Extremely comfortable and very clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel within easy walking distance of many of the sights of Nantes. WARNING: Be careful if you are travelling by car!! An access code to lower bollards is required to access the streets around the hotel. Make sure you contact the hotel and get the necessary information otherwise your GPS (sat nav) will keep trying to take you up streets that you cannot gain access to. We were able to find a public car park nearby(Graslin) and walk to the hotel. My husband did not want to take the car anywhere in Nantes after this experience!! We left our car overnight in the car park (which was not expensive) and then moved it the next day to the hotel car park (but there's only 10 spaces available and access is very tight). The hotel said they usually contact guests to advise them of the access code, but as we booked through Expedia, they said they did not have our email address. All of that said, once we had the access code, it was easy. The hotel staff gave us directions on the best route to take on our departure and this was extremely helpful and accurate. After our arrival, once we settled in to our room, it was very comfortable and spacious. There's some English TV channels & other languages too. Air conditioning was great as the weather was hot. Now we know how to gain access to the streets near the hotel, we would not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent stay in Nantes

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
A great location in the centre of Nantes. We had a very warm welcome from the hotel staff and a good night's sleep every night. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet. There is limited hotel parking, and if you're planning to arrive by car, you'll need a code from the hotel that will let you enter the pedestrianised zone of Nantes city centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great area.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I would certainly use this hotel again. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean. Staff are efficient and helpful. Situation is great, a lovely square with lots of restaurants and bars. Good shopping nearby too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Very good hotel in the centre of the city

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very good staff. Adelaide and Yannick are very kind and helpful. Nice room