Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

Old World Charm

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Upon arrival, I was promptly greeted by Maria, whose reserved but friendly demeanor suited the hotel perfectly. It was hard not to notice the huge formal dining room with table and chairs to seat twelve. Maria went on to tell me that all the dark wood paneling seen everywhere is original to the house dating back to 1882. Maria and her husband have stayed true to the period during which the house was built. This same charming quality carried over into my room. I was in the “turret.” I do believe the light fixtures are original to the room. However, what is charming can create some inconvenience, especially if you are longer than a day or two. The tub/shower is free standing and elevated on a ceramic tile platform. So, if you are an older person, have some orthopedic problems, you may have an issue getting in/out even though a small grab bar is provided. There is no TV in the room. All in all, charming, old fashioned and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs attention

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Old and historic!
Cons: The condition of the guest rooms
Location: It's in Napa. Need we say more?!
My husband and I were both surprised at the condition of the rooms. This is a wonderful, historic old property. We live in a renovated 100+ yr old home ourselves. the common areas are in fairly good condition, but the exterior is showing some need for attention. The rooms -- and granted this trip (first in 10 years) only showed us the one room -- was in shocking condition. Hasn't been updated it looks like since the 80's; bathroom reeked of a moldy smell and there was mold on the ceiling over the jetted tub. The bathroom sink didn't drain, and a single moderate shower filled the bathroom and whole space with steam! Holes in the ceiling that haven't been patched, mismatched paint, carpets in need of a good cleaning, and tired upholstery rounded out the disappointment. Understand these are NOT complaints -- this is a gorgeous old property, but it's desperately in need of some rigorous TLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Expensive considering no pool and it is located in busy residential area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Trip

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Antique/vintage feel, old house with beautiful detailing and architecture.
Cons: Maybe extend the breakfast hours or gift the guests a choice of times. Have some more contact with the guests staying there.
It was nice that breakfast was included but we were up so early to get going and start our day that 2 out of 3 days we left before they had breakfast started and ended up buying our own on the road, which was unfortunate. Hotel was walking distance into the town of Napa which was great, walking distance to where the Wine Train picks you up, which we really enjoyed. There was a couple times we needed to speak with the Inn caretaker and we could not find them. Other then that all and all it was a great trip, and good hotel stay.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ron

Great "Breakfast" - Not so great "Bed".

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room was VERY small. Obviously, this was the bedroom of a maid or servant back in the day. The room had the smallest bathroom I have ever experienced. Even the host, as she took us to the room, apologized several times on our way to the room about the small size. However, we were only staying one night so it was not that important the accommodations. I would not choose to stay there again if I were to be there for more than one night. The breakfast the next morning was one of the best I have ever had with unusual but outstanding chef selections. So for "Bed and Breakfast", on a scale of 1 to 10 (one being worst - ten being best), I give this place a 4 for "Bed" and 8 for "Breakfast".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice B & B close to downtown

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This was a lovely place, the house has around 125 years old but is in good conditions and maintain some nice details. the room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was really good, the host always provides us good recommendations about places to visit and we had the opportunity to share experiences with the other guests during breakfast time. It was an enrichment experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Good location, nice little room.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My room (en suite) was scrupulously clean and cozy and comfortable, very light and bright. The public spaces of the house are dark German Gothic. The host is very helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by ken

Napa one of our favorite places!

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
After arriving from a day of wine tasting it was like nothing we expected, the property was beautifully furnished with early century décor It was a wonderful experience and the hospitality excellent [ thank you John] . Highly recommend it .No in room tv. YEAH!!!
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Authentic romantic napa getaway

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
This was an amazing place to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary! We can't wait to come back and stay again and will HIGHLY recommend it to our friends/family