Ratings based on 990 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel if you're visiting Napa

Posted Apr 24, 2018
I was very pleased. Hotel was nicely located, easy to get around, great that they have a shuttle that goes to downtown Napa. great fitness room. very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Meritage Resort and sharing your review. It's a delight to know how much you enjoyed our beautiful resort, fitness studio, friendly team members and our shuttle to downtown Napa. We hope to welcome you back to the Napa Valley again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel limited customer service

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Pros: The location
Cons: Customer Servce
Location: Wineries and close to downtown Napa
The check in process was great, the hotel beautiful and situated in the heart of Napa Valley. However there are major issues with staff/services. We asked that our room be cleaned after we left, but when we showed up 7 hours later we found the room had not been cleaned at all. We asked the front desk to get someone to clean it, they said someone would be there right away, but 45 minutes later no one showed up. We asked again and were told the same thing, we waited 15 minutes, so we ended up asking again, but were told the same thing. The cleaning crew did show up the third time about 10 minutes after she called. The problem is that we were planning to go to a dinner that night, but were waiting for the room to be cleaned before we went to get dressed. We ended up waiting for nothing and it didn't seem like the staff understood or even acknowledged why this was an issue. For the price, I am not sure this place is worth it, if the service is not going to be as good as your typical luxury chain hotel. There are other hotels out there. What makes this one unique is the winery, but to be honest we didn't do tastings there, we just walked around as we did other wineries in the area, so I am not sure the winery makes a difference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our goal every day to provide top-notch service and hospitality in all aspects of our property. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to provide service to your guest room in a timely manner as is our goal every day, and I do appreciate your constructive feedback. Please know that your review has been shared with our management team and I hope to welcome you back again soon so that we can better demonstrate our true Meritage and Napa Valley hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

One Night Excursion

Posted Apr 23, 2018
This is the 2nd time we've stayed at The Meritage and came back because our first stay was so good (that and the fact it was the only high end hotel we could find that allowed a one night stay on Saturday versus the traditional 2-night minimum on busy weekends). Our stay was just as pleasant as the first time we stayed there. Great check in experience, bell hop, valet, restaurants, etc. Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. If only the showers had more water pressure :). Great hotel. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Meritage Resort and sharing your review. It's a delight to know how much you enjoyed our beautiful resort, guest rooms, amenities and the service provided by our team members. We truly appreciate your as a return guest and hope to welcome you back to the Napa Valley again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa

Front desk and exterior

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Tough times with the front desk. Inability to listen and strong sense of unknown unknowns - like the customer is supposed to know the room type contracted for (their are 8 room types). Additionally, warning at the pool of fecal matter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing your honest feedback regarding your recent visit. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Rest assured, we take the satisfaction and happiness of all our guests very seriously and are disappointed that we did not deliver our services in the way we try to for every guest. We hope you will return so we can show you the attention to detail and commitment to customer service we are known for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous locale with very friendly staff

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Set at the base of a vineyard, The Meritage has the perfect Napa setting. We all loved walking through the vineyards, enjoying the beautiful scenery. Their restaurant food was really great - the kids especially loved the breakfasts!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at The Meritage Resort! We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and couldn’t be happier that you had such a positive experience while staying with your family. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainfield, IL

Decent hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2018
I made reservations well in advance for my husband and I. We celebrated his 50th birthday in Napa. Never being to California, I contacted the gotel by email and by phone to ask questions and enshre a good experience. I thought it would be customary to get a little something special for such an occasion. And, when speaking with Meritage concierge etc. I was hopeful for at least a “Happy birthday “ note or something complimentary. It was March so it wasn’t busy at all. The tasting fees at the hotel are not cheap. We ended up splitting a tasting at full price ($40) when I had been offered a buy one get one only to he told when we arrived that they had no idea who told me that. They offered an upgraded room IF I PAID FOR IT. Since the room we apparently reserved didn’t have a view ( and it was a special birthday) I did pay for the upgrade...and never got a single acknowledgement for my husbands birthday despite repeated requests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Meritage Resort and Spa for such a special birthday celebration. While we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, we do apologize that our we did not recognize your birthday as we often try to do for our guests. We have shared your feedback with our management team and do hope to welcome you back to the Napa Valley again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Switched us to a different room for more money. The room had water damage on the ceiling and a lovely view it a storage area. We had to pick a smaller room for the same money. The staff , not all, were more concerned with talking to each other than their guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our goal every day to provide top-notch service and hospitality in all aspects of our property. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet you expectations or our service standards, but I do appreciate your constructive feedback. Please know that your review has been shared with our management team. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to better demonstrate our true Meritage and Napa Valley hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Exceeded my expectations regarding facilities and room comfort, but I was particularly impressed with the attitude of the staff (who can make or break your stay). Ideally located south of Napa. Went for the "duet massage" with the other half - a little extravagant but a memorable and classy experience, and one I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Meritage Resort and sharing your review. It's a delight to know how much you enjoyed our beautiful resort, Spa Terra and our impressive team members. We truly appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us and hope to welcome you back to the Napa Valley again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Classy hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2018
The place is just breathtaking and the staff was more than accommodating and friendly. The room was comfortable, elegant and warm. ONLY con was it felt like the bed was caving in towards the middle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Meritage Resort and sharing your review. It's a delight to know how much you enjoyed our breathtaking resort, friendly team members and elegant guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Napa Valley soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant experience overall

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Room was spacious and clean. Nice and cozy lobby. Friendly staff. Only gripe was the bed was hard and the pillows were uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2018 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Meritage Resort and sharing your review. It's a delight to know how much you enjoyed our spacious resort and appreciate your feedback. We truly appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us and hope to welcome you back to the Napa Valley again soon.