Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Might be better in the summer

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Again, not a hotel and not much to like about it.
Cons: Be honest with the description of the place and services (or lack thereof).
Location: Definitely book the cave tour at Schramsberg Vineyards but stay somewhere that offers some service and some amenities.
This is not a hotel. It is a private home in a residential neighborhood that has been converted into 3 separate one bedroom units called Chein Blanc (I assume it's part of the Chelsea Garden Inn but we never saw an "Inn"). To call them bungalows is a misconception. First impression, once we finally got the door open (for the price they certainly could replace the doorknob with one that works) was the musty smell. Unit was cold, the only heat was in the living room. They did provide a plug-in heater for the bedroom but no heat in the kitchen or bathroom. The bed was hard with no box springs. No maid service. The drains in every sink and bathtub were rusty. The shower head hit me in the chest. Washing my hair was a trick. Furniture was pretty uncomfortable. No instructions regarding how to use the TV. Had to use 2 remotes even though the cable box remote could have been programmed to also control the TV itself. Yes, a minor complaint but goes to the lack of detail by the rental company. We just wanted a romantic place to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary but were sorely disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Walking distance to everything

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: It's closeness to everything
Location: Wineries, mud spas, restaurants all within in walking distance
A pleasant setting within walking distance to everything in Calistoga. We enjoyed our stay here. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming Bungalow

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The rooms were charming and cozy. Special touches like good local coffee and luxury bathrobes were in the room. An easy walk to downtown.
Cons: My only complaint is that the bed was not very comfortable. It was a bit hard and the pillows were also hard. Everything else was great.
Location: The location is great for wine tasting and the charming restaurants in downtown Calistoga.
This is a charming bungalow with an excellent breakfast and great location to walk to downtown Calistoga.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Loved it here!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, accommodations
Location: Centrally located and a walk to town with many restaurant options
This place is charming. We were in a cottage with gas fire place which was adorably decorated. Very quaint and quiet place. Our breakfast of apple/pecan french toast was delicious. We were given many suggestions for wineries and restaurants. Thanks for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wareham,ma

The best yet!! Love the staff !

Posted Sep 29, 2016
It was a great stay Jennifer is wonderful and we are going back it was that good!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Great location and hospitality.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely apartment style room and fantastic breakfast.
Lovely room suite with separate lounge area. Fantastic homecooked breakfast and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, CA.

Lovely B & B close to downtown Calistoga

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: I really liked the staff, interior and exterior decor, gardens, and breakfast.
Cons: I would have liked for the hot breakfast to be served earlier, perhaps at 7:30 or 8:00 a.m. I missed out because I had an early morning bike tour.
Location: The Chelsea Garden Inn is close to shops, spas, galleries, and restaurants. It's just a five minute walk to downtown Calistoga.
I enjoyed my stay at the Chelsea Garden Inn so much that I will definitely return in the future. The friendly staff was very accommodating and helpful. The inn is so close to town that you can easily walk to shops, spas, and restaurants. I stayed in the charming two bedroom Lavender Suite, which was nicely decorated and quite comfortable. It had everything I needed - TV, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, toiletries, iron and ironing board, comfortable chairs and beds. Breakfast is usually served at 8:30 a.m., but Jennifer, my wonderful hostess, provided me with an early continental breakfast, so that I could literally get on the road in time for my bike tour. This place has beautiful accommodations, great food, and outstanding service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming B&B within walking distance to Calistoga

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Location and comfort.
Location: Wine tasting, restaurants, all of Napa Valley.
The Inn Keepers, Chelsea and Jennifer are awesome. Chelsea provided a ton of great information upon check-in and Jennifer cooked a delicious custom breakfast each of the two mornings we stayed. The Inn is adorable and a two block walk to all of Calistoga's restaurants and shops. Our suite was super compfortable - a really good value in Calistoga!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great place to base you trip for wine country

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: The common spaces are excellent
Cons: Bed could have been located better.
Location: Great places to eat and shop nearby.
We really enjoyed the relaxing, quaint atmosphere at the Chelsea Inn. Convenient location as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples FL

Perfect location

Posted May 1, 2016
Charming perfect cottages and rooms . Staff was friendly and helpful. It was better than expected .