Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to where I needed to be

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: everythihg
Location: good
The hotel is not manned past 7:00 or 8:00, room was small, the door basically did not work, they were not there when I left at 6:45, it seemed like a favor to have someone meet me with the key. I would never stay there again at any price, especially $125
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good but not great.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff was very nice and accommodating. Cool looking hotel. Comfy bed. Cool location.
Cons: Well I had booked for a queen bed and it was a double. The first room they gave me had no television and definitely not the view of the "garden" which was just a courtyard with some tables. But when I complained it was taken care of immediately. When they gave me my new room the bed was still just a twin and the tv was smaller than a computer monitor. Walls and doors are thin and you can here everything going on it the rooms around you and I mean everything if you get my drift. I went on business and did cover my room expenses but if I did, I would probably be upset. It over $900 for 2 night. I would expect near perfection at this price point. The bathroom is small and cramped and the pipes make noises when used.
Location: Tons of stuff to do if you like wine, food and art.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Typical of Napa??? Not sure.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Good location with lots of shops and food nearby as well as wineries.
Woman at desk was very flustered. First, couldn't tell me if they had any vacancies or not. So I stood there and booked my room from my phone on hotels.com. I got a confirmation number, but she still was nervous about it. First room I got was dirty behind the bed (yuck) and did not have a working T.V. They gave me another room which was also dirty behind the bed. Shower was almost worthless as it didn't have any water pressure at all. Best thing I can say is that the bed was comfortable, the rest of the hotel was charming, and it was quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
My room was very small, the sheets were scratchy and I think having a communal bathroom is not ideal especially when paying close to $400 a night. Also, hotel shuts down at 6PM. Also, I tried to cancel my reservation for a very legitimate reason (family emergency) and they refused and I was forced to pay for a second night. One positive, location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom water was not adjusted correctly
Location: Wonderful Italian food across street
The hotel is old historic hotel. Not much room in bathroom to set toiletries, shower did not work well but staff was great. We stayed here before. It is a great location for checking out wineries in Napa area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a old hotel with very small rooms.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
This is a little place that has very small rooms. Its ok for a the price since you cant find anything cheaper in the area.. The pillows are not the best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, CA

Old & dated

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The location is great. On the same where shops and restaurants are.
We have a wedding to attend in the same weekend as the harvest festival. Most of the hotels are booked, we didn't have many choices & decided to stay at Hotel St. Helena because of the proximity to the wedding venue. The sad part was we paid for a 5 stairs hotel rate & get a 2 stairs hotel. The hotel is very old and dated. The room is very small, dirty & smelly. However, the elderly receptionist was very pleasant & allow us to check in 2 hours early so we can get ready for the wedding. The location is great, at the same street where shops & restaurants are. Unfortunately will not stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Charming but needs an update

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Great location to shops and restaurants, and short driving distance to many vineyards. And its in the heart of the Valley, which is very convenient.
Very charming hotel that makes you feel like you are in old Napa Valley. However, the facility overall and the rooms need a lot of updating (chipped paint, wallpaper coming off the walls, bugs in the lights, very old showers).. But it is a great location, and the staff was very friendly. It served its purpose - a place to sleep, a nice continental breakfast, a good location, and at a decent price. Just don't expect much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way overpriced!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Yes this hotel is a historical landmark. With that being said, the rooms are tiny, there's no elevator and definitely no "extras" or frills. The foundation of the building is leaning in various spots so much so that you can see the unevenness with your bare eyes! The TV wasn't working, the lightbulb was out in the bathroom and the icemaker was broken. I sat down on a bench in the main lobby and it was filthy in between the cushions. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and it's definitely not a good choice for families because literally only 1 person can fit into the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

150 year old hotel that acts like it.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Service.
Location: Napa Valley wine tasting.
Bathroom light didn't work, TV didn't work, only 1 light in main room on bedside table the only table in the room. No closet, just coat hooks on the wall. Very high priced.