Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LS

Perfect Bed & Breakfast Spot

Posted Jul 5, 2016
We had 2 rooms. Apt over garage with washer dryer was a treasure. My room in main house was charming quiet & comfy. TV & AC good. Best breakfast out of 8 places we stayed. Great redwood out front.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Conveniently located to St Helena.

Posted May 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Really enjoyed the breakfasts prepared by Meldelena. Nice evening snack to enjoy with a caraf of wine.
Cons: Room a little small.
Location: Easy walking distance to downtown St. Helena, and central location to the Napa valley.
Great people. The staff abnd owner were very personable. They were very friendly and offered helpful suggestions as to our wine tasting outings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great time in St. Helena!

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Friendly staff., Very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and wine and snacks at night. They were very informative .
Cons: I can not think of a thing!
Location: We were very close to excellent restaurants and shopping. Very walkable. Close wineries.
We were made welcome immediately. Extremely friendly staff. Our hostess Meldalina made us the most delicious breakfasts each morning. Very delightful! Restaurants and shops are very walkable. Excellent restaurants. We throughly enjoyed our stay. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: I tried to contact inn before and after I left. I used number on internet and was unable to reach anyone. No one replied to my calls.
Location: Location was good. Central to the area.
A bit run down. Blinds did not work so hard to open window to let air in as the room was stuffy. Limited water to drink. Happy hour only allowed for a small glass of wine. Food was just ok.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jane from Virginia

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
My daughter and I spent two wonderful evenings at the Inn. The Inn keeper Lena, was the very best hostess making our stay so special. Cooked breakfast each morning and at 5pm each evening cheeses, snacks and wine. I would highly recommend the Ambrose Bierce ,now renamed Inn St Helena, to anyone looking for an extraordinary stay in the Napa Valley.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful innkeeper-Meldalina

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The Hostess/Innkeeper-Meldalina
Cons: Probably not at this point, but it does appear "chopped" up just to provide more beds and lost it's charm as a home.
Location: The location was phenomenal. It was within walking distance of downtown St. Helena. Very close to the Culinary Institute of America. Great parking.
The best thing about this place was the innkeeper-Meldalina--excellent cook, kind and very gracious. The actual Bed and Breakfast facility was okay. It appeared to be a little "chopped" up to provide more rooms and lost it's appeal and a "home", but it was still very clean and the accessibility to St. Helena was wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice B&B with friendly staff and great location

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Very close to town with good shopping and restaurants.
Cons: The thermostat for the entire building was in the one room we were in. Guests should be advised of this to avoid heating or cooling the whole house.
Location: A block away from the main drag. Great restaurants (Archetype/Market) and plenty of fun shopping.
The owners and inn keeper were really nice and very accommodating. My husband is gluten free and they went out of their way to make sure he had a breakfast he could eat. Wine & snacks at 5:00 were plenty and the wine was great. Room was very comfortable and well appointed. A surprise bottle of champagne in our room Saturday was a nice touch. Would definitely recommend and return.
5 out of 5
by Rune

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great experience with great hosts in a quiet, Victorian styled house. We received personal recommendations and amazing breakfast every day.