Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to stay in Napa!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Perfect except for broken thermostat our last night. Even with window open it was hard to sleep. But we loved the inn. Beautiful, spacious, charming B and B. It was for attending a friend's wedding. Our daughter was able to stay with us in the suite and a lovely bedroom with a large comfortable Murphy bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town..But too expensive for what you get

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I wouldn't call this a bed and breakfast at all..as you get only one coupon for a free breakfast at a coffee shop down the street that has pastries and bagel sandwiches. We stayed in the room inthe back house and I thought the furnishings were very dated and cheap looking. The bathroom very small, one sink and ugly white tile shore. However the bed and sheets were very comfortable. The room was overall pretty clean, but the bathroom could have been better. I've stayed at other hotels in the area and they are much nicer for the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We pride ourselves on making each guests stay a special one. We have informed all of our guests that check into the cottage house that we do not serve breakfast in the cottage house. I a so sorry they did not explain that to you. I have taken steps to make sure this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you , Madeline Kidd Inn keeper Inn St.Helena
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but the accommodations are rundown.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The furnishings, amenities, offerings -- place felt dated and not too clean.
Location: St. Helena is incredibly beautiful everywhere - great shops and restaurants
The location in the center of town, walking distance to everything in lovely St. Helena makes it worth the stay. The room had maintenance issues and the furnishings and amenities were just Ok. Id say the place is really overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations. We are in the process of updating the Inn. The problem for us is that some of the items that need updating and replaced can not be done while we have a full house. We can not trouble our guests with this type of work. We were in the process of getting these items handled during the winter months. In the middle of these changes we had flooding issues because of all the rain. So we spent that time having the professionals come and fix everything which involved all new flooring in the downstairs areas of the main house. We installed french drains and had everything cleaned up. This kept us from the other items we have on our list. I appreciate your honesty and I will make sure our owners are aware of this email.. Warmly, Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D Philadelphia, PA

Great place to stay when visiting wineries

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This lovely inn is on Main Street in St. Helena with plenty of nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. The gracious innkeeper makes you feel right at home and our room was perfect with an added bonus of our own patio and private entrance. Perfect location for wine tours/tastings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. They mean so much to me each time I get one. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and please let me know if you would like to come back. I would be delighted to see ya'll again. Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell,GA

Great time with friends!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We completely enjoyed our stay at the Inn St. Helena. Madelyn and her staff are great and the atmosphere is relaxing. The Inn is within walking distance of downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this great review. Each time I get one it just tickles me to death. I want all of my guests comfortable so I keep track of your needs and when possible I try to accommodate my guests. Please come back anytime for another visit. Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY CONVENIENT

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Location: WALKING DISTANCE TO GREAT RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS.
STAYED IN ROOM #6. IT WAS A LITTLE SMALL AND QUAINT, BUT CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. IT WAS IN THE HOUSE NEXT DOOR TO THE MAIN HOUSE WHICH HAD TWO GUEST ROOMS; #5 AND #6. IT WAS NICE TO HAVE THE KITCHEN OFF OUR ROOM TO KEEP LEFTOVERS IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND MAKE SOME TEA AT NIGHT. I ALSO WORKED ON MY COMPUTER IN THE DINING AREA. THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS WAS THE LOCATION. WE WALKED DOWN THE STREET TO RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS. I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Comfortable Bed and Breakfast

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: After shopping, wine tastings, and enjoying the landscape, it was nice to sit on the porch and relax.
Cons: Not all of our electrical outlets worked in our room and it would have been nice to have one small chair to sit on when putting on your shoes/watch tv
Location: Wonderful shops, restaurants, and vineyards to experience.
We really enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and conversations with other guests and our hosts.
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
great quaint bed and breakfast right in downtown st. helena
5 out of 5
by PHILIP

St. Helena Inn

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
The manager of the B&B is excellent. Goes out of her way to provide outstanding service. Only issue was the in-room heater was very noisy.