Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Enter another world and prepare to relax. Temperature of main pool perfect day or night, water like silk, hot tub the best. Ahhhh
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in Calistoga

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Illy coffee. It was quiet, but they also provided ear plugs and blinders. Windows that open for fresh air.
Cons: Replace the bed. Repair the DVD. Elevator.
Location: Several good choices for restaurants. Other spa options within walking distance.
We have been to Calistoga many times . This time we decided to stay at the Mountain View Hotel. One down side of the reservation was check in time at 4 pm. When we attempted to check in early; The reception said the room had been vacated late and the room was not going to available earlier than 4 pm. We returned at 3:30pm and the room was ready. The hotel is older and no elevator. The room was nicely decorated. Flat screen tv, refrigerator, safe, dvd ( which didn't work). There is a hot tub and a pool. They have onsite spa which provides baths and massage, facials. We tried the couple's bath and massage. It was pricey, but I had checked prices everywhere in Calistoga and it was about average. The original reservation came with the a continental breakfast,but the reception said they have recently changed this policy and gave us a $20 voucher for the restaurant, Johnny's. The one complaint I had was the bed looked comfortable, but was horrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Right on the main strip in town. Walking distance to all the downtown area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Great little hotel with lots of charm

Posted May 21, 2016
Nothing to complain about, could use some updating though. It would bw great to keep the history but mondernize the rooms. Breakfast was great, mineral tub was the best feature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic cottage with private spa

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Location: Calistoga is a great small town with a very walkable main street with restaurants, shops, and people watching nearby
Stayed in one of the "artist" cottages with private outdoor spa and a water collar easel that you could paint with if you wished. Very clean and well appointed room with fridge, espresso coffee maker. Very pleased with everything. Very quiet, although ear plugs and eye shades were provided. Very much appreciate the multi-scented shower soaps and gels in large mounted containers and easy to read IDs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable but breakfast isn't the best deal

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: The pool and location
Cons: stated above
It's a nice place with a friendly staff and great location. Their canceling of a reservation isn't very forgiving. And they claim to have a free breakfast when they have a $20 voucher for your whole group. Four people need to share the $20 voucher then you pay yourself. A single breakfast was $20 so a small family will go broke. Please don't advertise that breakfast is included. Alas, it's a nice place and worthy of going!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pretty, quiet, with many comforts

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Loved the bedding and room decor, the spa products and bath, the hotel public areas and pool. Fantastic food and service in the restaurant, great service throughout the hotel.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Gulf Breeze, FL

Ffriendly staff and convenient location

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great because it is a little off-the-beaten-path, but just as convenient to most of the wineries. The old hotel was in good condition and the historic building was an added bonus.
3 out of 5
by Marty from San Francisco

Beautiful hotel, lovely area

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff set the bar high upon arrival, unfortunately unable to maintain that throughout the stay. Some disparity over 'jacuzzi tub hours' between the evening staff and the morning staff at the front desk. Minor issue with the hotel spa, which upon raising an issue was referred to the spa rather than the hotel dealing with the issue, which was upsetting as I set up my services through the hotel. Would have loved them to take care of the issues. Those being minor, everything else was amazing. Sad that it really detracted from the stay.