Ratings based on 1,597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown Napa but very overpriced.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
I stayed here one rainy weekend and it was $700/night. There was no "river view" as we were placed on the ground floor with a view of a pile of dirt and some orange erosion control fences. This was not a busy weekend so I shudder to think what it would cost to stay here during the busy season. The room was very nice but nothing nicer than you'd get for $200 in Las Vegas. The hotel was located about 2 blocks from where downtown is, as long as you don't mind walking alongside a small highway for those two blocks. Sign in staff was rude. Staff during the free wine at 4:30 was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great location and patio

Posted Oct 15, 2016
This hotel is walking distance to restaurants and shops in downtown napa. The live music and free wine during happy hour was a nice touch. Incredible patio to have breakfast, lunch or dinner or drinks on along the river. The only really disappointing thing was they closed the pool a week before we got there, and we had no notice. We complained when we checked out and the reception said they had a partnership with the hotel next door where we could use their pool!! That almost made me more upset we weren't told that upon check in when I asked where the pool was. For the price, with no pool, it was steep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Snohomish, WA

Great location, wonderful staff, comfortable rooms

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The rooms were comfortable and spacious.
Cons: The construction.
Location: Right on the trail into town to explore Oxbow Market and downtown Napa.
We had four couples with us and we had a great time. James, one of the restaurant staff, was phenomenal and even gave us our own private dining room with a big screen TV to watch the UW Husky's football game. Easy trails to walk into town and amazing restaurants. The Model Bakery was our favorite breakfast spots and within a five minute walk. The back patio is beautiful with all of the lights and the fireplaces.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Christine, General Manager, Hotel Management
Kate, Thank you so much for the review, I am so happy to hear that overall your experience was relaxing and the team made a very personal impression. I hope you come back to revisit us again and check out the new meeting space and suites, which is part of the River Terrace Inn expansion, I am sorry if the work caused any disruption to you during your visit. We look forward to having you back again soon! Sincerely, Christine, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look elsewhere

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: This is not a place I would recommend to anyone.......
Cons: Paid extra for room with a view and a king bed Got a room dirty from the night before and view of my car. Expensive & absolutely not worth it
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by Christine, General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I am so sorry that your experience did not go as anticipated, it is terrible that your room was not up to our cleanliness standards, that is unacceptable and I assure you this will be shared with the staff so that we can learn from your experience. We do have a variety of room types; we have rooms that overlook our village side or river side, I am sorry if there was any confusion on the type of room you booked vs what was assigned to you. Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your experience, we hope you reconsider us in the future. Sincerely, Christine General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: We went to wineries
It was very nice but I would have liked to know before that it was under construction and that the trucks were rolling early in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Christine, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your experience, I am so sorry that our planned expansion caused any disruption during your stay. I hope you come visit us again in the future to take a look at the fantastic new meeting space and suites we're adding. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Christine, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel close to Downtown Napa,

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Situation very easy to walk to Downtown.
Cons: The Hotel requires a remodeling of installations.
Location: Enjoy most of the Downtown places, easily to visit the Napa wineries.
Napa is a beautiful city, the hotel is near the Downtown in a easy accessible street near the River. We could not enjoy the view of the river because they are repairing the back of the hotel. Hotel is fine but expected something more cozy for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH


Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly. Good wine tasting.
Centrally located to downtown Napa and within walking distance. Not too far from the vineyards either.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and value

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Beautiful hotel located within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location. Great staff. Great stay! Highly recommended!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Room for improvement

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: First and foremost, I must say that the luggage and valet parking staff, housekeeping, and restaurant service staff were outstanding.
Cons: We chose a "village view" room--it was a "parking lot-NO view" room. Noisy AC. Some bar staff preferred young females and "party people."
Location: We discovered numerous other options for lodging farther from the traffic. Loved the Oxbow Market and the Ristorante Allegria.
After several years away from The Napa Valley, I was thrilled to be able to return. The River Terrace Inn was recommended by a friend, and I spent four nights there while visiting wineries, enjoying local shops and the Oxbow Public Market, and kayaking on the Napa River.