Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect cozy spot

Posted Jul 6, 2016
This was in the middle of everywhere we were traveling in Napa and was such a cozy place that made you feel like you were at home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice Hotel, Warm John Not So Warm

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Staff didn't ask us about our service pet, but after checking out they emailed us a snotty note saying they were going to charge our card $200 for the pet. Subsequent e-mails about the service dog just ended up in accusations of using a false service pet. Basically John accused us of lying and charged our card without prior authorization. Its just a bad situation. That is escalated unnecessary by the first tat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Wonderful experience. Innkeepers were so nice and accommodating. Breakfast superb and happy hour with Johns homemade wine s real treat. We'd go back in a heartbeat!😀
3 out of 5
by Keith from Lake Tahoe, NV

Convenient and affordable wine country room

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
The location of the property is ideal for touring the Napa Valley. The house is old, but well maintained and clean. Rooms are comfortable with a small bathroom. The bed in our room was in need of replacement and not comfortable for two people. An excellent hot breakfast was served along with fresh coffee and mimosas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016
Keith, I am so sorry you did not like the bed in your room. The mattress is a Serta and is only 2 years old. We do put pillow tops on them so maybe it was too soft for you. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. I will go check out that bed . Warmly John
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to wineries

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Our experience at the hotel was very nice great staff the breakfast was very good. The people that were staying there also very nice.
5 out of 5
by Keith from Las Vegas, Nevada

Shady Oaks visit Oct 2015

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was a wonderful stay. We enjoyed meeting the others staying at this B&B and especially the owners, John and Lisa. They were so personable and great hosts. They actually hung out with us drinking wine and having appetizers. The location was absolutely perfect and we would definitely return again and again!
5 out of 5
by EDWIN from New Orleans

Napa's Finest B&B

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Service was impeccable. They went above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Susan from San Francisco, CA

A gem in St. Helena!

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
This inviting B&B-style property suited the needs of my party of 3 wine-tasting girlfriends to a tee! It was cozy and secluded, yet easy to find; the facility and amenities were lovely; the complimentary wine tasting was casual, lively and hospitable with no pressure to buy the local wines which were excellent; the complimentary breakfast was nothing short of outstanding, featuring Eggs Benedict for most folks and a specially-prepared vegan dish of oatmeal and baked apple for me! John & Lisa who run the place are terrific hosts. The very slight "points off" is for low water pressure (but plenty of hot water), and I suspect this is a drought-driven issue as with all of California. I recommend Shady Oaks most highly!
5 out of 5
by Josh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan from Livermore, CA

Lovely Shady Oaks Inn

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Shady Oaks just one night. We were in St. Helena to tour the Culinary Institute of America with my son. We stayed in the two room suite upstairs. Absolutely lovely! Beds so comfy. And breakfast was so good! Croissants, fresh fruit, eggs Benedict and a mimosa.