Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
I really like this hotel. Fantastic location and very friendly front desk. The rooms could use a little sprucing up with paint and touch up . Overall, we will certainly return !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Centrally located hotel for wine tasting

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Cons: The bathrooms!
Location: shopping, wine tasting, hiking and restaurants
great location in St. Helena. A little dated, especially the bathroom. hard to control the temperature in the room. Very nice staff and light breakfast provided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Beautiful hotel with classy staff

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Every aspect exceeded our expectations which were high after reading the other great reviews. Staff was wonderful and room was clean and big with very high, vaulted ceilings. We were on the parking lot side but still had a great view - tons of trees and vines everywhere. Great shower pressure. Nice mini fridge and expresso machine in room. Honor bar was priced well - Chandon bottle was actually more expensive at the Chandon gift shop! We looked forward to breakfast each day, fresh fruit, bagels, english muffins, croissants, yogurt options, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, and meat and cheese tray to make a breakfast sandwich. Coffee was great, OJ, and yummy mango/coconut juice. The spa was top notch - popular with locals to workout, swim, etc. We had a couples massage and it was worth every penny! Gotts roadside grill was across the street and very good. The italian restaurant built-in to the hotel was also great! St. Helena was wonderful; small town feel with uptown shops. Hotel was walking distance from town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deer Park, IL

Overpriced

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The continental breakfast was nice.
Cons: Needs a major updating in decor. Provide better access to the sidewalk that goes into town.
Location: If you don't mind trekking through the bushes, in the mud, up a steep trail; you can walk to town.
Rooms lacked charm, the espresso machine made room temperature coffee, we asked for only regular coffee and no decaf, they only left decaf. The carpet was lumpy and needed to be re-stretched. The bathroom counter was cracked all over and the walls had condensation drips from the lack of exhaust fan. The worst part of our stay was being over a restaurant, where they banged and slammed pots, pans and doors for several hours, preventing us from getting a good night sleep. The room also smelled of smoke since guests are given logs to burn in the fireplace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CA

Great location and accommodations!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Spacious room, exceptionally clean and comfortable, great location. Fireplace was a plus too!
Cons: Some parts of the room looked a little dated, such as the faucets in the bathroom. A bigger tub would've been nice, weird coffee maker.
Location: Located on Main St in St Helena, less than a block south of downtown. Lots of shops, wineries, restaurants, all within walking distance.
The hotel staff was very friendly and well-informed. Parking was nearby and well-lit, and free. The lobby was clean and comfortable and, most importantly, the room was spacious, clean, and beautiful with amazing vaulted ceilings. The hotel is located just south of downtown St. Helena, within easy walking distance of all the best that downtown has to offer. In addition, it is right next to Merryvale Winery and other restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 26, 2015
This hotel is way overpriced for the condition the hotel is in. The carpet needs to be replaced in the worst way and the bathrooms are old and dingy. I was very disappointed upon arrival at this hotel as the online photos of this hotel were quite deceiving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos

Nice hotel in great location closed to everything.

Posted Aug 6, 2015
This is our 2nd time staying in this hotel. We love the location and it is walking distance to shops and nice restaurants in town, but yet the hotel is nice and peaceful with great workout facility. That is the beauty!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
very enjoyable stay and convenient to downtown and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good for Napa Valley stay

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: It was quiet and well-located.
Cons: Address that cooking exhaust fumes which came through the AC/ventilation system
Location: Close to restaurants, wineries and shopping.
The space in our room was more than adequate. There was no way to shut off the fan in the bathroom...noisy. We were getting cooking exhaust fumes from the nearby pizzeria/restaurant...unpleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Loretto, Minnesota

Great stay close to town

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The large room and continental breakfast
Cons: The shower and stairway carpet
Location: The multitude of wineries and restaurants.
We stayed at Southbridge as a last resort due to the fact all other places were full. It's expensive, but typical for the area. It was hard to find initially from the highway. We were pleasantly surprised with the room. It was large with a vaulted ceiling, fireplace and even an espresso machine. The bed and pillows were comfortable. They had the best continental breakfast we have ever had at a hotel stay. The only drawbacks were the shower which I found difficult to operate with the faucets going the wrong way and the stairway carpet could have been cleaner.