Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice Motel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
They have remodeled the rooms and are working on the grounds and updating to have a Spa. I would suggest a better sign at the entrance and some sort of artwork of the sun painted on the front of the reservations office. I saw 3 people checkin and miss the office the first time. I did as well . The staff are very attentive and informative. I have stayed at Carlistoga several times. This will be where I will stay from now on. Very quiet and very enjoyable! Reminds me of Carlistoga 10 rears ago .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Excellent option for the area...

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: One story; 2 pools and spa; terry cloth robes; clean and quiet, close to downtown but far enough away to stay quiet; comfortable bed and pillows.
Cons: This is March 2017. Construction will be done soon; they quit at 5p. Ask for a room on the other side if that's an issue.
Location: Stone's throw from downtown; walkable to and from downtown in warm evening weather if you want to walk off dinner.
This motel is a single story property that has been upgraded through the years. They have 2 pools and jacuzzi spa. Because the pools are heated from the geyser waters, the regular pool is about 85 degrees, the wading pool about 95 degrees and the hot tub is about 105 degrees. The hot tub jets are really strong so for those of us with sore joints, it is fabulous. You are allowed to use the pool area until 11p at night. They supply terry cloth robes to walk to and from the pools. You can bring glass into the area; they supply plastic cups if you want to pour wine and bring it in with you. We originally had reserved a room that was supposed to be on the front of the property which was street side, though by 10p at night traffic has pretty much died off. We arrived early and because of the remodel and construction going on, they gave us a free upgrade to room 106 in the back, away from the workers; a king suite, which was even nicer. Staff couldn't have been friendlier. The bed, linens and mattress were extremely comfortable, and the room quite clean, if not a bit monastic. It is about one half mile from downtown, hence the quiet. For a romantic though more rustic get away, this place can't be beat. We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Martha Solorio, Hotel Management
Dear Wine Tripper, Thank you for the kinds words in regards to your recent visit. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, as well as the pools and location of the property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Confortable place to stay. Easy to find and walking distance from the downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Martha Solorio, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It's great that you found the hotel a comfortable place and good walking distance to the downtown. Have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Renovated rooms, pet friendly, mineral hot tub

Posted Feb 11, 2017
I chose Sunburst Calistoga because of their pet policy and good customer ratings. I was looking forward to receiving their welcome package for dogs (this is advertised on their website) but as other reviewers have mentioned, this was not received- no explanation given. Aside from this, check in staff was nice and efficient. Breakfast is not available, perhaps because they were in the middle of renovating (floors ripped up). The room itself was a cozy size. Clean except for a rather noticeable scuff mark on the wall. Outside noises are not well insulated as you can hear cars driving by outside along the road and other miscellaneous buzzing sounds. There is a clean and soothing indoor hot tub filled with mineral water on site. Over all, I would consider staying here again for the price point but I would definitely explore other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Martha Solorio, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, I would like to thank you for staying at The Sunburst Calistoga in your recent visit. I apologize if the welcome packet for your dog was not given to you at check in, and for the noises. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, the hotel will re-launch in May as "Calistoga Motor Lodge & Spa".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Awesome

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Awesome place to stay will recommend it for sure rooms comfortable and inviting go there for sure
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Martha Solorio, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for staying at The Sunburst Calistoga. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable and inviting. We hope to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Very happy! Free snacks in room. Great pools/hot tub. Clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well done.

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
This motel clearly has humble roadside motel beginnings. They have focused on maintaining and making the most of the decor, the pool, and the grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at The Sunburst Calistoga, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to the exciting renovation as we will soon have a full resort style hotel with a restaurant and spa! Hopefully you are able to join us for another visit then. Martha Solorio