Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Gorgeous

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This boutique experience was special. It was a last minute booking which included our request for a cot for our baby. Nothing was a problem for the friendly team, who made us feel welcome and valued. Our only issue was that the hotel was fully booked the night following so we had to leave after one night. We will book well in advance next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

lovely authentic Art Deco hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Great hotel near to all you need Has a beautiful private roof terrace overlooking the sea Had a first class meal in the restaurant with excellent wine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

was OK

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Cleaning and staff was nice
Cons: what I mentioned above
Location: location is awesome but not having car park is annoying. or at least have a staff member who could park your car and bring it back.
Its annoying how there was renovations going at 4.30pm while we checked in. there is vent in the roof which is above the toilet and renovation guys could see everything. the air con was really loud and there is no SKY or movies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
No gym or pool Expensive No black out drapes meant light coming in at 3 am Strange rushing water noises from the air conditioning Definitely over rated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Great location in a unique setting

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Lcoation and ambience
Cons: Parking is a couple of blocks away and for handicap guests this is problematic. Other than that. No accessibility issues.
Location: Facing the beach and promenade. The hotel also backs onto a pedestrian shopping street and next to the gallery. Easy access to wine country.
Staying at the Masonic Art Deco Hotel was like stepping into the glory years of Gatsby. Great accomodations within walking distance of good shopping and a wide variety of dining. The city is a constant visual festival of art and weekends the beach front come alive with performances and just plain fun entertainment. The bar is one of the most interesting anywhere and the service and food is stellar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lovely art deco hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The staff are fantastic and very helpful. Great location, clean and comfortable. Was a lovely base for our trip and we will definitely return when in Napier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Fantastic hotel, attention to detail is excellent. Decor is lovely and well thought out, meals in both restaurant and bar very good, staff all very helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful art deco hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The staff were great and fun to talk with. The room was on the small side but considering this hotel was built in the 1930's that was to be expected. It was nicely decorating in keeping the the art deco theme of the hotel and city. It is centrally located on the Marine Parade which is a miles long stretch of promenade on the waterfront. There are many shops and eateries in the immediate area within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Authentic hotel,

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The place is quirky, but nice. The rooms are pretty small, and the shared terrace is a really authentic, original touch but does make your room feel a little less secure. (Not that we experienced any problems) the bar area is great, but the food was a little pricey. Don't come here if you want a 'modern' feel, but do come here if you are swayed by the whole Art Deco era.. And who in Napier isn't? I loved the way the carpet has been laid, if you visit you will know exactly what I mean...