Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted May 21, 2018
Very charming property in a good location in Napier
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2018
good restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth, Texas

A Must-Stay in Napier!

Posted May 6, 2018
This is the just a hotel, it’s an experience! They nailed everything, down to the minutest detail. Superior checkin, assistance with and suggestions for experiencing the area, description and tour of hotel so we were sure not to miss anything. Great bar atmosphere, wonderful restaurant, library with complimentary port, and every nook in the hotel is decorated with items that illustrate history and inspire conversation. Best hotel experience ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

1930’s hotel full of charm

Posted Apr 26, 2018
Well looked after. Nothing too much trouble. Nice touches, cakes in room on arrival, letter of welcome and a cutting from a local paper of 100 years ago. Car park charge but very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hastings

Amazing features great old building

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Beautiful character, great hostess! Everything was perfect, just down from the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely character hotel, ideal location in town.

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: Character, style & staff.
Cons: Nothing in my opinion. We didn't even mind paying for the overnight parking as the location is perfect.
Location: In town with only a short walk to beach front, I-site, shopping, restaurant & bars.
Couldn't fault this hotel. Had a wonderful stay. Great location, staff all very helpful. Restaurant & bar onsite. Well maintained in period style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

A great hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 1, 2018
My stay was absolutely wonderful. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel very welcome and valued. I received welcome home made cupcakes up on arrival in my room which was a very pleasant surprise. The room was beautiful and clean. The location is also perfect because it is central to everything in town. It was my first visit to Napier and I believe the experience at the hotel made the whole trip even better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel 1block from Ocean Great location

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Enjoyed the walkability of the are. Near National Aquarium. Easy walking with beautiful scenery
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great attention to detail and really helpful staff

Posted Mar 19, 2018
The retro feel of the hotel is very endearing reflecting an age when the customers’ needs are put first. A superb hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Enjoyed the old world style and comfort

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Great customer service , comfortable and had everything you want and need .The free port and fruit was a delight . I didn’t mind that much the car parking was charged but in truth had assumed it was part of the deal until I got the itemised bill . I would have expected parking would be proved fed for this class of Hotel .