Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A Hotel with Character and Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: It is quiet, located in a pedestrianized area, within easy walking distance of loads of places to eat. But it is the staff who make this hotel unique!
Cons: Lots of things, but they would remove a lot of the charm
Location: Just off the Piazza San Carlo with Via Toledo, the Oxford Street of Naples, Piazza del Plebiscito and Palazzo Reale di Napoli within two minutes walk
This is not a hotel for people who want a sterile huge International chain. It is like Naples itself, quirky and full of character. It is located on the first floor of an old building on one of the main shopping streets, Via Chiaia. Well located, you can walk to the old town, the Duomo and Archaeological Museum and very close to the Spagnoli district where there are a host of little Pizzarias and Trattoria. The rooms are high ceiling-ed and comfortable. If, like us, you like to have a bath after a days walking around, you will need to book one of their superior rooms as the standard room only has a shower. But what makes this hotel extraordinary is the staff. They really go that extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, with advice on the best way to get anywhere and when there is a problem, to make sure that it is resolved to your complete satisfaction. I have traveled a lot, but have never seen personal service like this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Wonderful staff, noisy room

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Location: If you want to shop chain stores, it's the best location. You are about a ten-minute walk to the metro.
This hotel is perched directly above a noisy, bustling, never-sleeping pedestrian street, and unless you're willing to keep your windows closed all the time (which leaves the room stuffy when you're between seasons, as we were--no option for AC and too warm for heat), it's very hard to have a conversation, let alone sleep. We are longtime residents of New York City, and even we were astonished by how noisy it was. That said, the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly, helpful, and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent value for money.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Good location clean rooms very friendly and helpful staff, overall excellent value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel de Charme ? (Charmless)

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Not so charming ! Bit tired inside . Our rooms were next door to each other ,when toilets were flushed the noise was horrendous . We were supposed to have someone pick our car up from the garage and have it at the hotel so we could leave for the airport ,however my husband had to rush through the busy streets not quite sure where he was going find the garage himself as nobody turned up to get the car . Very disorganised and very stressful for us . This service is offered by the hotel however why offer if they cannot come up with the goods .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value and Safety

Posted Sep 9, 2016
We spent one night in Napoli and flew out early the next day. We wanted something in a safe neighborhood and didn't really need anything fancy. The neighborhood is awesome. Great location, safe, lots of shopping and restaurants. Right next door to famous Pizzeria Brandi - (highly recommended). A safe 5 min walk from the sea side and other sights. Hotel itself is nothing special. The rooms are old and tired. We had an early flight so I can't comment on the breakfast. Staff was decent. Very helpful. We were on the far end of hotel and wifi was really strong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenyan, visiting Italy with wife and daughter

Pleasant Hotel in good location for short stay

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Firstly the Hotel is in a pedestrianised road, so the taxi will drop you a short walking distance from the Hotel but which can feel a lot if you have a lot of luggage to cart along! Then I was not warned that the Hotel is on the first floor of a very old building hidden behind a formidable door - like you are entering a medieval castle! The steps leading to the lift are terrible, and no signs to guide you to the Reception! However, once you are in, the staff are friendly and helpful. Our triple room was adequate. But most important, the Hotel is strategically located for trains and the ferry to Sorrento! Also, there are many restaurants in the vicinity. And I would like to mention a special one - Ali's Donner Kebab, which is just a short walk on the right and serves delicious Donner Kebabs and other delicacies at very reasonable prices. Now that I know where the Hotel is situated I would definitely return if I am ever back in Naples!
5 out of 5
by Lyl from Mount Kisco, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very easy to find and close to all. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I originally booked the hotel for 2 nights but our plans changed and we wanted to check out a day early. The hotel was kind enough to return our money for the second day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel nicely situated in typical Naples streets

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: The breakfasts. They don't really have the facilities to do anything cooked
Location: Typical Napoli streets. Shops rather upmarket
The staff are what makes this hotel. Fantastically helpful
3 out of 5
by Joel from Los Angeles

Hidden away but comfortable

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult to find, harder still to enter, the hotel itself is in a good area of Naples. Double room was small even for this single person, but a/c worked well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels