Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Not Domus Gemi...but still!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Difficult to find (don't expect a grand entrance or lobby!), so pay attention to the street number to locate the entrance. Lively area, places to eat.
Budget bed & breakfast in a lively part of the centre of Napoli. Unfortunately the Domus Gemi was undergoing maintenance work (we received notification from the owner Alfonso, who is UK based, a few days earlier and his brother Pasquale relocated us to their sister B&B, the Domus Armenio which is approx 5 minutes away. Pasquale was kind enough to help with our bags, which was useful as the room is up 3 flights of stairs, though I think we wore him out! It is a shared apartment rather than a hotel, very new and clean, but basic (but then consider the price being paid). The rooms are separate and secure. The downsides are that, at the time of review, there was building work occurring. This was not attractive but caused us no disturbance however the apartment consists of, I think 2 or 3 rooms, and with no sound insulation we experienced someone talking very loudly late at night which was quite annoying. I would recommend Domus Gemi/ Armenio for budget travel accommodation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in the busy heart of Naples

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
The owner Pasquale really makes the experience special. He is very helpful with suggestions for dining and spots to visit. Also the location is superb as it is in the "heart of the action". The only caution I have is that Domus Gemi is not suitable for the very elderly or those with medical conditions as the room is quite a climb up the stairs. If you love great Neopolitan pizza you will find the best places almost right outside your door. Via Trubunali is very active at all times of the day and night so you never will feel unsafe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value in the historical center of Naples!

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
This is a perfect place to visit the historical center of Naples. It's close to all the main sights and to the best pizzerias. Pasquale is a great host and he gives excellent recommendations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Good value in very central location

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower needed attention
Doesn't look very encouraging from the outside - but once we made contact with the host Pascale - he was very welcoming - and helped us with cases up the 60 steps!! Rooms are in the heart of lively and busy centro storico -on particularly busy road - so if you want to feel in the heart of it - with copious options to eat well and cheaply locally - then great place. It is also good for exploring local sights - virtually next door to one of the underground tour bases and easy walk up to archeological museum, or to the station for Pompeii etc. Breakfast is no frills on cafe opposite - coffee and pastry - but all very easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Wonderful visit

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We had a great experience at Domus Gemi. Pasquale was very helpful and friendly! We were travelling with our 1 yr old and Pasquale had a crib ready for him. The breakfast in the morning is DELICIOUS.
5 out of 5
by Samantha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Neera from Houston

In the heart of Naples, bring Cash

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
You will never find the hotel by the picture on the website. The brown wall on the side of the hotel picture is Domis Gemi. Our taxi driver knew his way, is the only reason we got there. Pasquale is very nice, he took our bags 5 flights up.. No lift. The breakfast was across the street. A pastry and drink.. The breakfast place opens when the owners get there and the pastries are divered, so don't get there too early or too late, when the pastries are all gone. It is smack dab in the centre of town,close to everything. The only complaint I have is that the owner wanted cash at the last minute , so we had to find a bank in the rain. Apart from that, it was an OK experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OR and Italy

Pasquale is helpful, but speaks little english

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Perfect location...older bldg but well maintained...Pasquale is very kind. But he speaks very little English. If you can do 3 flights of stairs, I would recommend the B&B. Breakfast is across the street at the caffe bar. Naples is quite chaotic, but most of the people on the streets are not tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Location: Location is Naples and street looks scary first time, but we got used to it and we could walk to train and port so that's all we were doing in Naples.
So, if I ever have to stay in Naples again, I would stay with Domus Gemi and Pasquale. Pasquale was amazing. Greeted us with cold bottled water as we had just walked from the train station (about 15-20 min) and up the 4 flights of stairs (so if you have lots of luggage, it might be hard for you). But knowing Pasquale, he would probably carry it all up for you! Although we had a language barrier, Google translate and Pasquale's limited English was enough to get us through. Room was large, had two balconies, and we felt like we were in a tiny oasis of home! Pasquale let us use the fridge and dining area so after two days of traveling (1 to Capri; 1 to Vesuvius), we just brought pizza and wine from the street we were on and ate in. quite at home! Wifi was sketchy in the room but we just got caught up in the dining room where it was totally fine. Room was super clean and Pasquale took great care of us. There's a drying rack in the common area (we were backpacking so did wash each place we were at). All in all, great! Breakfast was typical croissant and awesome coffee across the street but great for a jumpstart to the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good budget hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Domis Gemi is a gem of a budget hotel in an excellent location for visiting Naples, you will really feel part of the local scene.
Domis Gemi is a gem of a budget hotel in an excellent location for visiting Naples, you will really feel part of the local scene. Note that there is a stiff 3 floor climb in an old building, the host speaks only a little English, the shower is very small, and breakfast is coffee and pastry at a cafe across the street. It fronts on a small lively street, but was reasonably quiet, the AC will help if there is street noise. Charming Deco fixtures. Very clean. Ask for the corner room if possible.