Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern, convenient, great staff!

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Despite of all the positive reviews I read upfront, Hotel Cimarosa turned out to be even better than what I expected. Everything as all other reviewers commented: great location, convenient neighborhood (with Carrefour nearby), many restaurant options, and one can easily walk up to Castle Sant'Elmo to appreciate a great city view in the evening. Above all these, I'd like to thank a superb hotel staff, Manuele. Whenever I see him, he's always in high spirit and was passionate in assisting us by giving us helpful information (great restaurant and pizza recommendations) and patiently answering our questions (this is Naples!). If being nitpicking, the only thing we didn't like was the noise from outside on Friday night. There's a bar nearby so quite a lot of people hang out there. Other nights were quiet.
4 out of 5
by Stephan from Glendale, CA

A comfortable place to stay

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a 20-30 minute Metro ride from the train station because the Metro, unlike other Italian cities, runs in a circle around the city. Although a taxi ride may be faster, the hotel itself is at the top of the Metro station exit IF you know which exit to take when you get off (head to the right and go down a very LONG hallway). We unknowingly took the wrong exit and had a long walk with luggage to get to the hotel. As other reviews have noted, the hotel is on the upper floors of an apartment building so its location is not immediately apparent. But once inside, it's quite pleasant. The room and amenities are quite modern, comfortable and inviting. The breakfast buffet was more Continental style but adequate and tasty. The hotel is located in the Vomero area on a hill overlooking Naples itself. If you go up the escalator right next to the property, it puts you into some picturesque but sketchy neighborhoods because of all the graffiti (it's everywhere!) so stick to the nearby main walking district. The central plaza nearby has wonderful happy hour offerings - seek out La Dolce Vita.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgrade

OK hotel, but not sure I'd go back

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Access to public transportation and the shower.
Cons: Friendlier customer service and better beds.
Location: The Castel Sant'Elmo is within walking distance and there are many restaurants and gelaterie nearby.
This hotel was ok. It was located near a metro stop as well as the funicolare, so it's easy to get around, but it's a few stops away from the historic center. I came from the train station and would recommend the metro over a taxi because the traffic in Naples was horrible and it's literally closer to the metro than the street. It's in an apartment building and the sign is very small, so if you get to the escalator you missed it. The hotel staff was pleasant, but did not offer any information about Naples or things to do in the area and seemed surprised that I was interested in a map of the area. I had my own plans, so it wasn't a big deal, and I could have asked, but I was just surprised that the information wasn't offered. The breakfast was the normal fare and the coffee was from a machine, so I would suggest going to get a real cappuccino or espresso and Neapolitan pastry instead. The shower was quite nice and probably the best part of the room. The bed was merely two twins shoved together rather than a king and not even the extra long twins, so if you are much taller than 5'5" your feet would probably hang off. The room was ok, but right next to the elevator, which made a weird chime every time someone used it that could be heard in the room. The carpet on the stairs was kind of fraying, so despite the cleanliness there was a little bit of an air of neglect to the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Cimarosa "just OK"

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was just OK. The location was good. The room was adequate. The breakfast was less than inspiring. The staff were nice. My biggest complaint is that in order to get to the hotel one had to take a rickety elevator that had barely room for two people let alone their luggage up 5 flights, then another rickety elevator to get to our room on the second floor of the hotel. In order to get access to the building one had to push a buzzer and then speak to a disembodied voice over an intercom. All in all, not a very welcoming experience.
4 out of 5
by Volker from Stuttgart

Great location in upscale neighbourhood

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
It is a little bit hard to find the hotel as it is within a multi-story building on the top two floors. The hotel itself is modern, the rooms are very clean and well equipped. Breakfast is - for Italian standard - very good with fresh pastries and some fruit selection. Location is great as it is only a few steps away from the hill station of the funicular in an upscale neighbourhood with plenty of restaurant choices nearby. Would certainly stay again at this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Renata from sydney

great hotel in Naples

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel in terrific location. Love 8 and modern with very helpful and happy staff. Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Helpfulness of reception staff
We stayed one night at Hotel Cimarosa on our way home from Italy. It epotomises how we felt about Italy in general- it has some fantstic assets and has the potential to be sensational, but it suffers from neglect, and this is reflected in both the premises and the attitude of the staff, which I felt was a bit off-hand at times. The decor is interesting with lots of modern art, but has not been well maintained; it is shabby in places and there were a few minor irritating faults in the room itself (shower head leaked out the side, drainage in shower poor, a light in the vestibule that was temperamental). On the plus side, the location was ideal, in an interesting, safe part of Naples, with a train and the 3 funicolare within minutes walk, and lots of restaurants and great shopping close by. It's such a shame that there has not been more attention to detail here, because it could be really great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Yazid from Paris

Agréable séjour

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Agréable séjour , personnel très accueillant , chambre correct , quartier très agréable à 2 minutes du métro et au pied du funiculaire (en travaux actuellement) . A 15 minutes du centre historique en transport . Bon Petit déjeuner (sucré). Nous retiendrons le quartier où on se sent en sécurité et la sympathie du personnel .
5 out of 5
by Agnieszka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels