Good location, terrible beds
Posted May 31, 2016
Location was great which is why we chose the place to begin with, right next to the metro and a short walk from the Trevi and Spanish Steps. However, the first day we got there after giving a whole speech on the area and amenities the front desk guy informed us that there was no room for us, since they'd had other travelers unexpectedly extend their stays. His excuse sounded fishy, but exhausted from travel there was nothing we could do and were shuttled to his back up hotel, a good 15-20 min walk up hill away from everything. We got our room the next day, which was fine, except for the fact that the shower didn't work, and we used the hand attachment to shower the next three days. Plus there was a leak in the bathroom, where water from the shower would leak and render the whole floor soaking wet, even when we hadn't actually used the shower. Beds were rock hard, as were the pillows, but this seems to be standard for Italy so I guess not that big of a deal- but given the FOUR STARS everywhere on the hotel branding, you'd think they could do better. The breakfast here was the worst that we'd encountered on our 10 day trip through Italy- they literally charged for water and orange juice, which were standard at every other place we went. Overall, the reason we chose the hotel was the location, and it worked out for us. The hassle with not having a room the first night was beyond stressful, and really put us off the hotel from the get go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Flavia, Hotel Management
we thank you for taking time to write a review, but THE HOTEL YOU'RE WRITING ABOUT IS NOT US:I suppose it's in Rome as you wrote it's near to Trevi fountain, piazza navona and pantheon... but we're in Naples.
We are a 3 stars hotel (not 4 like you wrote), we don't have any back up hotel and our breakfst is always complimentary, whatever you decide to eat or drink.
So, we're sorry if you didn't like your stay in Rome...but we underline your review was not for us.
Hotel Il Convento