Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ilkley

Must have some of the best views in Naples.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We were on our honeymoon in May. This hotel offers guests the very best of views overlooking a patchwork of rooftops decending down to the harbour and on to Vesuveus and bay of Naples. Our room, 61, sits on 6th floor offering views front and side and has recently been refurbished. The rooftop gardens are a delight to take in the panoramic views whilst sipping a drink in one of the many chairs or loungers provided. The rooftop pool is modest, and in our stay not over used making a delightful spot to while away a lazy day. We had one evening meal here during our stay and were not overly impressed. Being a vegetarian my choice was considerably restricted. Neither I or my wife felt it offered good value. Breakfasts however were adequately serviced with a good variety of pastries and savoury items and you were always assured of a warm welcome. The staff were lovely, very obliging and extremely friendly. Being a converted monastry, the hotel has retained a number of interesting features and a trip to the 3rd floor delights in numerous finds. Would we go back, most definately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,wonderful view

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Rooms,breakfast,view
Cons: Wine and food menü
Location: Location is good,10-15 minutes to walk to the city center
Clean and comfortable room Staff was helpful,smiling Breakfast with the vezuv and sea view is wonderful Wine presentation is poor.(Wrong glass paring with the wine,etc)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Historic hotel with dramaticviews

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The views, the historic building and the staff
Cons: A choice of restaurants open during off season
Location: Not a good location. A rather run down N area and not one for walking in the dark. Centre of Naples is close also the sea
Unfortunately fiinicular is closed till August which left a very steep walk down to town and a taxi back. No restaurants near by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Elegant hotel with wonderful views

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Historical interest, Views of Mount Vesuvius & Bay of Naples, elegant spacious rooms, excellent dinning,friendly helpful welcoming staff
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: The hotel is on a hill overlooking Naples .Main attractions nearby within walking distance . Recommend guided tour to Pompeii , visit to Capri
The San Francesco Al Monte hotel is full of historic interest as it was previously a monastery and many of the original features have been kept.It is elegant with a luxurious feel with very helpful welcoming staff ,excellent dining and spacious well equipped rooms.The view across the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius is wonderful and worth looking at different times of day from the hotel terrace. The hotel is quite centrally place to see the sights of Naples and the staff at reception are always on hand to help with booking excursions and offer advice on local transport .Our stay in San Francesco was really enjoyable and exceeded expectations making our trip to Naples all the more memorable . Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake district England

Fantsstic views

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Lovely clean hotel brilliant views over Naples Food was excellent The rooms have the most comfortable beds Thoroughly reccommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely views, atmospheric building

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: This hotel has a unique "boutique" feel, a historic building which is well looked after. Much nicer than a large franchise hotel.
Location: The hotel is a bit away from restaurants and bars since it's on the top of the hill, but taxis are not particularly expensive.
We had a long-weekend break based at this hotel. We were very well looked after and the staff were fabulous in helping us organise tours of Pompeii, Herculaneum and the Royal Palace di Caserta. They also organised a wonderful birthday celebratory dinner at a great restaurant overlooking the bay. Excellent attention to detail and highly responsive. The building is beautiful with some unusual rooms built into the side of the mountain. We ate in the hotel one evening and had breakfast there each day and the food was always good.
5 out of 5
by Judith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay. UK

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Nice hotel. Comfortable beds in well kept rooms. Efficient and polite staff. The owners have managed to convert this former monastery into a hotel whilst keeping it's historical aspects. Beautiful roof garden with fine views of the bay and Vesuvius.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view, great staff.

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Naples is not always the best looking city, but viewed from the rooftop terrace, you'd never know. The room was very nice, the staff was friendly, the wifi in the room was strong, but all of these were eclipsed by the rooftop. It stunning. The hotel is located on a hill, so walking to/from there will include hills and stairs, if that is an issue. It's close to a Metro station and an inexpensive (and exciting) cab ride from anywhere in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Breathtaking view

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Wotif
It was worth being a short cab ride away from the action just to stay in that room with such an amazing view. Stunning! Most of the staff were warm, friendly and helpful to someone who could only speak basic Italian. Only one staff member was cold and rude but that is humans for you.