Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: restaurant
Cons: resort fee in bad weather and valet parking only option.
Location: great location on the beach.
Nice hotel location. Unfortunately the weather was cooler so we were not able to make use of the $30/day resort fee. This price seemed excessive to me, especially when you are also paying over $700/night for the room itself. Also, they only had valet parking and it was $25/day. It also seemed excessive. I prefer to park my own car as well, but that was not an option. Restaurant Baleen's was very good. And a great view outside on the one day that the weather was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful and the bay view room was gorgeous.
Cons: Did not like having to pay $27 per day mandatory valet parking fee and $30 fee daily for use of the facilities. Even the coffee was not complimentary.
Wonderful experience. The staff was extremely friendly and nice. The setting was beautiful. The only thing we did not like was the additional charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
I had a wonder stay at La Playa. Everyone I met on the Hotel Staff were friendly, polite & helpful! The room was floridian comfortable, clean, bright & relaxing. Loved morning working outs in their gym and attending fitness classes. Loved the fire pits & watching the sun set. Only thing I wish was better... took a while for the bathroom hot water to become very warm... never got hot... which I guess normally wouldn't be bad but I was there when temps were in the 50's and 60's and windy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful space, great experience

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was spectacular. The lobster risotto was so delicious that I returned a few days later and ordered it again.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby. I noticed lots of shopping areas, and I would have gone if I had more space in the suitcase.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The best news on check-in was the complimentary upgrade to a room overlooking the beach. I had a beautiful room with a spectacular view of the Gulf. Completely private. I was alone for the week, and I had booked spa appointments every day, and that experience was also fabulous. I decided to treat myself to a week of pampering and had treatments that I never even considered before. But it was a week of adventure. The weather was not as cooperative as I had hoped, but it was not in the sub-zero Chicago weather where I came from, so it's all good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not a luxury hotel, but good location.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent. Staff nice. Nicely maintained pool and grounds. Fairly quiet by the pool.
Cons: More high end touches, free coffee and papers in lobby, chocolates on turn down service...discounted golf rates for guests since they have to wait.
Location: Right on beach, close to Ritz Carlton where you should stay!
For the price and the number of stars, I expected a higher level of amenities. This hotel classifies itself as a resort so they can charge $30 per night for things most hotels include for free. Even coffee in the morning was charged, not mention $27 to park! I stay at high end hotels often and this is not it! Our bathroom mat was moldy and the patio had cigarette ash all over. I will say the staff was nice, they even upgraded us, thank god, because if I paid $400 for a room attached to a parking garage across the street, I would have been livid! In general, they lack attention to detail for what they charge i.e. non working shower fixture. I think they survive on the fact that they are one of a few hotels on the beach in that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by Chris Grossman, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your recent visit to Naples! We're glad that our location directly on Vanderbilt Beach was a highlight of your stay, as was our friendly, attentive staff who really do strive to make your time with us truly memorable. It's nice to read that they were able to arrange for an upgrade, as it appears that this was clearly welcome. Our Bay Tower guestrooms across the street are beautiful, yet it's hard to beat the view from our beachfront guestrooms. Understandably value is important to our guests, thus our desire to offer a wide variety of amenities and services. Many of these are covered by our resort fee, such as beach chair and umbrella rentals, high speed wireless internet, fitness center, fitness classes, In Room Keurig coffee, and access to 4000 newspapers and publications on your laptop/mobile device via our partnership with Press Reader. While we do not offer complimentary coffee in the lobby, we do have a new coffee bar in our Baleen restaurant that offers several premium beverage options to start off your day right. A consistent experience when it comes to quality is also important, and I have shared your attention to detail comments with both our housekeeping and maintenance teams. They normally provide for a clean, comfortable experience, and we'll work to ensure improved results on a future visit. Thank you again for your visit and for sharing your experience. As much as our location is indeed one of the best, we want the other aspects of your visit to be just as enjoyable. We hope to have the opportunity to show you an improved experience on a future return trip to our resort. Kind Regards, Chris Grossman Rooms Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, great location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Laplaya. The staff were universally friendly even in casual conversations. Our check in and check out people at the front desk including Haley were great. We had a bay room across the street which was large and well appointed. The room and the deck were great and we loved it. We will come back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Chris Grossman , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review! We're glad that all aspects of your visit were enjoyable, including the wonderful service from our staff. I look forward to sharing your comments with them personally, including Haley at the front desk. It will truly make her day! Thank you again for your visit and support. We hope to see you again on a future trip to Naples. Kind Regards, Chris Grossman Rooms Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel overpriced too many charges

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Overpriced for average services too many charges parking resort fee refrigerator only saving grace on beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2016 by Chris Grossman , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of LaPlaya, as it was our pleasure hosting you! Unfortunately, it does appear that your overall satisfaction was affected by some of our nightly charges. We do indeed have an overnight parking fee of $27 per night, and our valet team works to make this service as efficient and convenient as possible. Additionally, we also have a resort fee of $30 per night which covers your beach chair and umbrella rentals, high speed wireless internet, fitness center, fitness classes, In Room Keurig coffee, and access to thousands of online newspapers and magazines through our partnership with Press Reader -- the perfect compliment for a long day on the beach or poolside. We do hope that you found some enjoyment while visiting, such as time at the beach or a wonderful waterfront dining experience in our Baleen restaurant. If you do return to Naples in the future, we do hope to once again be of service. Kind Regards, Chris Grossman Rooms Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: the beach and staff were great.
Cons: should have been told of construction and offered options.
Location: Naples was great!
Great location and staff was attentive. Renovations being done to hotel so no hot water and a lot of noise and construction. Restaurant was excellent but overall disappointed with stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2016 by Chris Grossman , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our resort! We're glad that our beachfront location and friendly, attentive staff helped contribute to an enjoyable resort experience. We did have to replace one of our restaurant glass doors during your visit, yet we worked to make this happen with as little disruption as possible to our dining guests. Additionally, a required repair to our hot water line did result in an outage for about an hour on one afternoon, which we understand was inconvenient. We're pleased that you enjoyed Naples and our resort, yet unfortunately the above items did take away from your overall satisfaction. We regret that these upgrades proved bothersome, yet we appreciate you sharing your feedback so we can improve the options we have in place in the future. We do hope to have the opportunity to once again be of service. Kind Regards, Chris Grossman Rooms Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phila

great place to stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Counter service or snack area
Location: Need to drive to most places
Great service. Wonderful views. Very relaxing. Need a take out place for coffee & snacks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Chris Grossman, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! We're glad that you had a great time, and you'll be pleased to know that we now have a new coffee bar in our Baleen restaurant. Open from 7am-11am each day, this new outlet offers premium coffee and to-go items to help get your day off to a great start. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Chris Grossman Rooms Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels