Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great location - a true Naples experience

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Felt very local and was in a great location.
Cons: Larger bathrooms (maybe remove the bidet?)
Location: Very close to a lot of restaurants, gelato shops, and close to the Metro. It was not a far walk to the harbor or the old city centre.
Though a taxi has to drop you off 100 meters from the hotel, it was nice being on a pedestrian-only street just a few steps from the Metro. Note that the bathrooms are very small but clean; the rooms are spacious and the ceilings are very tall. The elevator is very tiny so you might plan to haul your suitcases up the many, many stairs to your room rather than using it (otherwise, you'll be making several trips). The staff was friendly and spoke English fairly well. We'd stay here again if we get to Naples - and by the way, Naples is a great city for walking, eating and having coffee!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: the location to shopping and that's about it.
Cons: don't know where to begin....the room was clean, but it lacked the luster that most hotels have.
It is in a good location, but the hotel is old and it needs some sprucing up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dean from London

Nice place, but with shortcomings

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Room bright and airy
Cons: Awful breakfast, avoid the lift
Location: Conveniently placed in Plaza Spagnole
Delightful, friendly people, who don't speak a word of English. The room was clean and pleasant, and the lift is coin-operated and idiosyncratic. Make sure you have a spare coin on you when using it, just in case. The breakfast is pre-packaged and processed. Barely adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by june from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK

great hotel

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: large spacious rooms
Cons: entrance to the hotel
Location: in the centre of Naples near to restaurants trains ,about 30 mins from airport
i had made a note of all the previous comments , and realized it was difficult to find ,so it wasn't a problem for me , i was able to give the taxi driver some information. as to its whereabouts .it was exactly as described , go through big green door and across a court yard up two flights of stairs , stone stairs !! and in to the hotel , i found the court yard daunting and stone stairs ..and wondered what the rest would be like , but there was no need to worry , i loved the hotel with its high ceilings , quite palatial..large breakfast room with nice round tables , to eat your very good continental breakfast , quite a choice of food . our rooms were good also , ..they were cleaned and beds made as soon as we left the room nice towels a..nd a powerful hairdryer . nice shelf and mirror in the bathroom , Staff were always helpful ..i would use this hotel again and would recommend it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by luci from California, USA

good location hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2013
Location: perfect location
the shower did not work good no much pressure and no hot water just a little warm! the internet did not work inside the room only outside in the hall no happy for that!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb & Ray from Chicago, IL

Naples

Posted Nov 8, 2012
Cons: Hard to recognize that this is a hotel, a small sign posted. Fortunatly, our taxi driver walked us over and called ahead to have them meet us
Some areas of the hotel are a bit run down but our room was huge. We were overlooking Via Toledo (wear earplugs if you're a light sleeper), a road where no cars or buses are allowed, and police on almost every corner. It really was not a bad deal for the price.
1 out of 5
by Marwan from Bahrain

Below expectation

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Classic building .
Cons: Upkeep of the hotel.
Location: Good.
Hotel is not well maintained. No AC at breakfast hall. No safe deposit at the room. Food is not good. The photos on the web are misleading.Room door is in very bad condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2012
Pros: Its a lovely old hotel hidden away at the back of a secure courtyard.
All the staff were very friendly, helpful and approachable. The room was as described and was cleaned daily. The location of the hotel was perfect and within easy access of major bus routes and the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Napoli at it's best... and safe + quiet

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: everything
Location: the best
Loved this place! not just because it was so reasonable, but because it was so NAPOLI! our train was late so we got in after midnight, and the concierge still let us in. The best: Henrik + Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, United Kingdom

Lovely hotel, exactly what we needed!

Posted Oct 20, 2011
Location: Don't limit yourself to Pompeii; make sure you visit Herculaneum as well! It's much smaller and parts of it are much better preserved than Pompeii. It's a much more manageable site and it's just as fascinating to walk around and absorb the history and culture.
This hotel was a lovely little haven away from the hustle and bustle of the busy Neapolitan streets. The room was cosy, and even though the wallpaper had seen better days it was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was perfectly adequate; two cereals, two types of croissant and some slices of sourdough bread alongside a small spread of cheese, ham and salami (there were also yoghurts and jams available). There are lots of cafes in the neighbourhood so if you fancy a lie-in then you don't have to worry about missing out on breakfast. The only downsides were a broken television (which didn't matter much as we came prepared with books and magazines for downtime), as well as quite hard mattresses and pillows (which is fine if that's what you're used to, but we have quite soft pillows at home!). The water pressure in the showers tended to drop in the mornings leaving nothing but a dribble of water after about three minutes (presumably because everyone was having showers at the same time); however, after tramping round Pompeii and Sorrento it turned out to be much easier to have showers in the evening when the water pressure was absolutely fine. The hotel staff were very friendly; they spoke perfect English but were more than happy to reply to our stilted Italian in their native tongue too. All in all, a perfect little stopoff for travelling in and around Naples.