Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good...but

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cons: Pool deck was ridiculously hot during the afternoon...very bad paver stain choice!
Quite annoyed by the surprise $50 'cleaning' charge at checkout
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

A hidden gem on Marco island

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Arrived in June during the not-so-busy season which was perfect. Beautiful condo style hotel with nice staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Alex Cass-General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thanks so much for the kind words. I am so happy that you loved the extra space of the condo suite. September and October are also relatively quiet and peaceful times of year here on Marco Island. Give us a call the next time you would like to come back. Sincerely, Alex Cass-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Was here for business & the guaranteed Wifi did not work. Since the front desk is closed at night & I had a late-check in, I couldn't contact anyone to fix it until the morning. One set of blinds was broken & the rod was snapped off so I couldn't close it without standing on a chair. No HD channels available. Housekeeping banged on the door the afternoon of the first day & I told them I didn't need cleaning (there was no "Do not Disturb" sign available). The day I checked out, housekeeping literally barged into the suite while I was in the bathroom at 10:20am (check out isn't until 11am), then banged on the door again right at 11am. When I say, banged, I mean, BANGED. There was no polite knocking or introducing themselves as housekeeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Alex Cass-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about these issues! i am so sorry that your stay was less than perfect, and this feedback will certainly help us improve. The wifi issue is tricky. I am so sorry that you had this issue; I know how important wifi is these days. Please know that in the future, the pool has free wifi as well. The next time you come, we can give you a master sheet that has the login/passwords for some of the other units' wifi, so that if yours is an issue that you have a backup plan. We do indeed have HD channels, your channel guide inside the book on the coffee table should have showed you which channels broadcast in HD. I am so sorry that you werent able to access them! All rooms should have a Do Not Disturb sign; I will immediately address this today, and ensure that I get these signs into every unit, if some are missing. As for your refresh service, I am not sure if maybe you didnt hear the knocking, and that is why it felt like they barged in. They always knock at least twice before entering, so I am terribly sorry that you felt barged in on. I would be very upset too, and I will speak to the housekeeping team today about a better way to handle it. If the guests dont answer after knocking twice, they are supposed to quietly enter and announce themselves again. They may have thought you were gone for the day if you didnt answer after the second knock. On checkout day, we changed our start time for departure cleanings from 9am to 10am. Many guests leave without checking out, the only way to check if the guests are gone is to knock quietly and see. It sounds like it was handled wrong, and I can promise that the disturbance was not intentional. I have never gotten this feedback before, but I absolutely empathize with you and I will absolutely speak to them about a better way to handle this. Thanks so much for your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roberts annual fishing

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: All was god 4th floor no good
Cons: Do not book 4th floor
Location: Snunk inn for dinner and fish Keith Thompson
Everything was great but 4th floor was horrible. The pent house walk could hear all the time and there noise. Not sure I will come again to the place I have booked for many many years unless I can be put on lower floors
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Alex Cass, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, I am so sorry that you were disturbed by noise on the penthouse level! I have never heard that complaint before. I will certainly investigate and see if there may have been something in particular that was amplifying the footsteps from above. The 4th floor is home to our nicest suites, and the most amazing views. This is the most in-demand room location, so I m very surprised to hear this. We can certainly put you on a lower floor next time; we had given you a complimentary upgrade to the 4th floor Deluxe Water View unit because you were a return guest, and those rooms are considered the best ones we have. The next time you stay with us, just call us and ask us to avoid the 4th floor and we will be happy to arrange a room on a different floor. Thanks so much for staying with us; please come back and see us soon! Best Regards, Alex Cass-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for adults. Not a lot for kids on premises.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: These are two bedroom, two bath suites with kitchenette and dining area.
Location: The desk clerk can book you on all kinds of local cruises and activities.
Friendly staff, spacious accommodations and convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Alex Cass-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for letting us know that you loved your stay! We work so hard to make sure out rooms are immaculately clean and well appointed. So glad you loved the extra space and were able to take on some of the great activities that are here on the island. Please come back and visit with us again soon! Sincerely, Alex Cass-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crosse Wi

Quiet, very clean and extremely friendly staff!!

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Orbitz
we loved it! Our suite was amazing! Cleanest accommodations we have ever stayed at!! Not on the beach but only a short 5-10 minute drive. The staff were amazing as well. Told us where the best places to go and tips for getting around the island. It's in Old Marco Island so more vintage but so beautiful, quaint, and quiet! Loved every minute of it! If your looking for quiet and some fun this is the place to go!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Alex Cass, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, This is such a nice review! Thank you so much! Sounds like you had a great time here. We love taking care of our guests, and I will be sure to pass your kind words about housekeeping on to that team. Come see us again soon. Sincerely, Alex Cass-General Manager
5 out of 5
by john

Great hotel at a great location

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk staff was outstanding
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017
Dear John, Thanks so much for the kind words and the feedback! We strive to be the friendliest team on the island, so its nice to hear that you appreciated our hospitality. Please come back and see us soon! Best Regards, Alex Cass-General Manager
3 out of 5
by patrick

Time to change the bed. The view and room were gre

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
My only issue was the bed in the master bedroom it's gotta go my back was killing me everyday when we woke up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017
Dear Patrick, Thanks so much for coming to stay with us! I am so terribly sorry that the bed was not comfortable for you. We rarely receive that feedback, as our beds are all less than 2 years old. However, you raise a valid point, and of course not all beds are comfortable for all people, and there very well may have been some recent damage that we didnt catch when doing your room inspection. This is definitely worthy of a follow-up to see if there is possibly something faulty with the bed frame or mattress. Please let me know which room you stayed in, so that we can do a full check up. I know how important a good sleep is, especially when you are away from home and on vacation. I appreciate you letting us know about this, and I want to apologize on behalf of the Olde Marco team. We would love to have you back in the future. Please let us know when you will be back on the island; we will ensure that this never happens again. Sincerely, Alex Cass-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and friendly staff. If u can't get a beach property..olde Marco inn is next best thing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Alex Cass-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for coming to stay with us! The beach resorts at this time of year are so overcrowded. We get so many guests here that have checked out early to come stay with us, and they go to Tiger Tail Beach instead. We have a small team of the most friendly associates on the island, and we love taking care of our guests. We are also so fortunate to have full 2 bed/2 bath suites with full kitchens, living room, and dining rooms and large screened lanais. So much more space for families, and away from all of the chaos, yet still so close to the action. Come see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marco inn and Suites

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Wonderful place. Only complaint is the 6 am trash pickup. French restaurant in hotel was great ! Especially the piano player. Lot of fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Alex Cass-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for writing to us! I am so sorry that the trash pick up was disturbing. Usually they are very quiet, but I will certainly let them know that they were too loud to try and alleviate that for the future. So happy that you enjoyed the piano player; I will certainly let Bistro Soleil know. Come back and see us soon! Thanks again for reaching out to us!