Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tries hard, doesn't really deliver.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The bed is great and very comfortable. That was the plus. The advertised WiFi is a myth though and flat out doesn't exist. I complained but was told there was nothing they could do. The hotel is right in the middle of a very historic district, which is convenient for the Napoli underground and historic streets but difficult for other things. The hotel itself is very hard to find, there are no signs, and you need to basically know which random door to knock on if you're in any hope of finding it. Dragging a suitcase over cobblestone streets amid crushing crowds was MADDENING! The free breakfast was solid. BEWARE of the shower. It is terribly small and I was constantly knocking the water itself off when I tried to turn around. I'm not that big a guy so I wonder how others cope. You have to stand on wooden slats over the drain, which always felt unsteady. I wonder about mould and things of that nature. Others might find these things charming. And I get that when you stay in a B&B you expect various eccentricities, but the experience was just difficult overall. Nice people who run it, they tried hard, I perhaps expected differently.
5 out of 5
by Michiel

Highly recommended!

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful host, great location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in clean room. Nice breakfast!

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Lucky to have intercepted reception at the late hour with a last minute booking. Recommend you book at least a day in advance so they know to expect you. Otherwise you might have to wait in the rain like I did for a few minutes until they sort it out! But it turned into a great stay with a great clean comfy location and nice breakfast. The location is the heart of the city but closer to restaurants and busy walkways. Not exactly close to any metro stop for those having to lug your luggage around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean B&B

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great base for our stay in Naples. We were close to a lot of fantastic pizzerias and the area was vibrant and a lot of fun. Breakfast was basic but it was nice to eat it on the rooftop overlooking Naples. The only downside was the connecting doors between rooms which didn't offer much of a sound barrier. The staff were lovely and the rooms were large and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Good location

Posted Jun 25, 2016
We liked the location and the B&B. It was secure. It was a bit of calm from the boisterous chaos of the street below which we both loved but also found at times altogether too much. We thought if we go back to Naples we'd definitely try to stay at Zia Maria again. It combined a good location: Via Tribunale seemed one of the better streets to stay in for walking and being close to what the city has to offer. It's close to the Archaeological museum, opposite to the underground Naples entrance, has across the street one of the best pizza shops, and a 35 to 40 minute walk to the Capidomonte art museum or down to the waterfront. The room was modern and spacious. Given that Naples seems to always be in your face a bit we found it good to be able to sit on its balcony for breakfast and to let them arrange our taxi to the airport.... Given our experience catching a cab from the railway station it was a pleasure to have had them take care of it. Zia Maria helped mean that our encounters of the good Naples far outweighed the bad Naples we initially experienced upon our arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flushing, NY

Great B&B in the historic side of Naples

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Stayed one week at Zia Maria to see a soccer game. Rates were in my opinion very reasonable. I had a double occupancy room for myself and single occupancy for my daughter. My room was huge and my daughter's was a perfect size without feeling cramped. All rooms have private baths with plenty of hot water. I never stayed in a B&B before even here in the US, so I don't know if it's the norm, but there were no toiletries supplied other than liquid hand soap. It wasn't a big deal to buy some nearby. Rooms, dining area and terrace are kept spotless and cleaned daily. You can have a decent breakfast inside or on the terrace with nice views of the surrounding area and of Mt Vesuvius. Speaking of views, all rooms have balconies and mine faced Piazza San Gaetano. Another plus is there's an elevator to take you to the fifth floor where the B&B is located. The family operated staff was extremely friendly and helpful with any request even with limited English. I speak Italian so it wasn't a problem communicating. I chose this B&B based on it's location and past reviews even though there are plenty to choose from. Being a native Italian born near Naples, I couldn't help loving the old world charm and character of the area that I was used to. The area is safe day and even late at night. It is loaded with bars, restaurants, shopping and tons of tourists which I didn't expect. Naples has changed a lot in recent years. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. Stayed 4/17-24.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Modern and charming B&B in the old historic centre

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The location and the modern style
Excellent location for those who want to experience the buzz of old Naples. All the main sightseeing spots are within walking distance, including Naples best pizza's location (Sorbillo). The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The property and the rooms have been recently refurbished in a modern and simple style
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from india

Great hotel in historic city

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, location, price.
Cons: They can provide map or sketch of the exact location. My car gps did not locate the house number properly.
Location: Everything to do in Naples is nearby and walking distance. One can walk to the docks and take ferry to Capri Islands.
I read in one past review that the owners did not care about the working of the hotel. I feel it is absolutely wrong. It is just there style if working. They give you the keys and make you independent. They are available at fixes timings. I came in late at 12 midnight. I had called to explain that I was stuck up in traffic near Rome and had no option. The lady Roberta was waiting for us till we came and helped us with car parking at such odd time. One more incidence was worth noting. We had kept a bottle of wine in our room at daytime. When we returned that night, there was a bottle opener kept bear the bottle in our room. Does it not show the care and consideration for service. I think it was one of the best hotel we stayed in Italy. It is right in middle of the historic area. Rates are reasonable. Rooms very clean and well maintained. Considering limited space in heart of city, the layout and facilities are excellent. Very considerate staff.
5 out of 5
by Aaron from London

Amazing hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, modern and clean room, lovely roof terrace for breakfast, helpful hosts, and good neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
by E Ronald from San Diego

Zia Maria Home

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in this B & B 4 nights. It is in the old section of Naples which is not everyone's taste. The place is family owned and operated and they are all very nice. They were also very helpful, but left the premises after breakfast so you were pretty much on your own except that they responded quickly to e-mail communications. The building, being in the area of Naples that it is, is old but the B & B has been modernized and is very comfortable. We were new to Naples so being in the old town was a cultural jolt. But it was well located and there were several good restaurants within easy walking distance. Had the staff been on the premises during the day, I would have given this 5 stars. The owners do not speak English, but we were able to communicate OK.