Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kamuela, HI

Great location close to Nara Park and many shrines

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Large tatami rooms, location.
Location: Many of the best sights in Nara are within walking distance, including of course the Nara deer.
We stayed at Asukasou for one night in Nara. The property is very nice and well located near Nara Park, and our room was large by Japan or international standards. The futons were very comfortable. The Japanese style breakfast in the dining room was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Japanese style Ryokan to experience

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Great Japanese style Ryokan to experience the culture. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location. Authentic Japanese style room and onsite Onsen! What else can you ask for? Definitely one of the highlights of my trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

My stay was excellent.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The check in staff was very friendly. She walked me through the property and gave me a through introduction. bed was so comfortable. outdoor hot spring was very clean with a beautiful view. I loved everything except the next morning I had to leave the hotel to catch an early shuttle bus to the airport. I had to carry two big luggage passing the front desk and the staff there didn't help me. He actually portent didn't see me. Other than that, all wonderful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, CA

What a Wonderful Find!

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful find in Nara! I travel on business so much and wanted a change of pace. This was the perfect place. The friendly people, the traditional Japanese style inn with indoor and out door baths, and wonderful food. I will definitely go back again my next visit to Nara. Oh yes, the view of the 5-story pagoda from my room and the outdoor bath were superb
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, modern ryokan with all the right featur

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely ryokan, but updated to have larger rooms, a/c, a great bath and a nice enclosed deck. The people at this ryokan were anxious to please and incredibly gracious. The breakfast was amazing. We would have loved to had dinner, but there was no availability. By the way, it is within a 10 minute or so walk to Nara Park and Todiji Shrine and just across the street from the 5 story Pagoda (we could see it lit at night from our room)!
5 out of 5
by Raulee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent Japanese meal, very good services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Good experience

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Very nice & helpful staff. Location is good, very near to Nara park. Nice view.