Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

best value for my $$ so far in my travels

Posted May 12, 2017
The location so close to the station is ideal for JR pass holders. Breakfast was tasty, with both western and Japanese selections. My only comment in that regard is the chicken in the vegetable salad. It would be nice without meat as more people could eat it then (my daughter is vegetarian). The twin room was spacious with space fotr 2 checked bags and feels quite new. The single beds were a good size, comfortable and had mattress covers (not all hotels seem to use them in Japan). The pillows came with instructions in Japanese on how to use them. I found it flat and uncomfortable but my daughter liked it and wanted to buy one. I needed bandaids for blisters and they happily provided me with some. All in all, an excellent choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near JR Nara Station

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
The double room was a nice size. Convenient location about 5mins from the JR Nara station. Staff were friendly and knew limited English but enough to get by. Vending machines, laundry and ice machine on the third floor. Complimentary breakfast was nice too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel but small room.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Room too small for two people. Wonderful having a laundry room just on the same floor including vending machines. Basic breakfast but complimentary coffee from 3 pm to midnight at the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Close to station and deer park.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Great soft bed, adequate blankets, little expensive for the area. Walking distance to everything in Nara. Ramen restaurant next door is delicious. Breakfast served at hotel was nice. First time to eat a waffle with chopsticks!! Rice balls, soup, eggs, sausages with ketchup. Standard Japanese fare. Staff was really kind to keep our bags for us until check in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Great Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a great budget choice. Although the rooms are small they are well designed and comfortable. The free breakfast is also good and the staff are friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but not so comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient hotel for short-stays if travelling by train. Pillows are very comfortable. The rooms are very small, even by Japanese standard. The breakfast is terrible: no fresh rice, only onigiri, stale long-conservation pastries, badly scrambled (out of a bottle?) eggs. During breakfast, there is no place to sit and wait for other guests in the lobby as the one seating area is reserved for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houma, LA

Interesting Hotel.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The staff did everything possible to make our stay a great one. The location of the hotel could hardly be better.
Cons: We were in the hotel for five nights so it would've been helpful to have a larger room. It's best to realize that the Japanese are walkers.
Location: With our train pass we could visit all the local sites very easily as long as we were willing to do some walking.
The hotel is in a great location near the railway station. Although the room was the smallest we have ever stayed in and there was almost no room for luggage and an incredibly small bathroom with a hip-high bathtub that you had to climb into to take a shower, the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was tasty with many different options. The coffee machine provided good coffee free and it was available in the afternoon and until midnight. Despite the issues of room size we would stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Adam from Oxford

Comfort Hotel Nara

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located just opposite the JR Nara station (which contains a few restaurants and a supermarket if needed) so is very convenient if you're using the JR line to get there. The Kintetsu station is little further away but within walking distance (10-15 minutes or so). Walking distance to Nara park is approx 20 minutes or so. The room itself was compact but very clean and had everything you would need. The Wi-Fi was a little weak in the room we stayed in and it wasn't always possible to pick up the signal at all, but we were on the outer extremity of the building so may have been unlucky in that respect. Staff were friendly and efficient and given the price paid I was very happy with the experience and would stay here again in future.
5 out of 5
by William from melbourne australia

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
One of the best hotels as far as friendly helpful staff that we have been to in Nara at a very reasonably price Handy to the station and the main street We will be back
3 out of 5
by Faith from AZ

Close to public transit

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
We were able to walk or take a quick bus ride to major attractions.