Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convenient hotel but terrible smell

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from both the JR and Kintetsu train stations, and on a street with many restaurants and shops. The room and facilities seem to be a bit old. I have requested for a non-smoking room, but there was still a terrible stench of smoke in my room. I liked that they provide free take home slippers though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Alvarez

Great stay by Nara Station

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Location was absolutely perfect for making the most of the city in the shortest amount of time. Great restaurants all around too.
Cons: No complaints!
Location: Nara Station and Nara Park 5 minutes away. Great restaurants - try the unadon just down the street.
The Hotel Fujita Nara is located right between Nara Station and Nara Park, about a 5 minute walk from each. This puts you in an absolutely perfect location to enjoy all that Nara Park has to offer and to take one of Nara's local trains to another location in the city (or a JR train to another city entirely). The hotel is located right on the area's main street, so you'll have plenty of restaurants, cafes, convenience stores, and souvenir stores close at hand. Honestly, there was so much to see in the area that I didn't spend much time at the hotel, but my room was clean, cozy, and quiet. The hotel has an older feel, right down to the punch card-style room keys, but for me that added to the charm. The staff were friendly, and there was a very convenient coffee machine located in the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Earlier check-in times
Location is ideal for all the main sights of Nara and the beautiful park area. Hotel was a little slow and a 2pm check-in tiresome and no offer of help with our luggage. However, the room was clean and tidy and lots of good local restaurants within walking distance. I would stay here again if visiting Nara.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Cal (USA)

Great Location to transportation and food.

Posted May 15, 2016
Staff is great. Helped with mapping and explaining how to get to destinations, restaurants and shopping. Nice location. Walk to local shopping and restaurants. Walking around at night is very peaceful. Shops are open late. Close to deer park, temples, and pagodas. Room is normal for Japan. Not a problem for sleeping. Nice experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Convenient location

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Super nice staff. Walking distance to train station and restaurants. Rooms clean but extremely small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location on the main street

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Easy access to sights, restaurants and train station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

high CP ratio

Posted Jan 19, 2016
i chose a non-smoking room, it`s good. The bed is clean and suitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Perfect location for great dining and art.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Coming from Kyoto it was a jewel of a city....walkable and less crowded but authentic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, Denmark

Central hotel in Nara

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More room space
Location: The deer pak is just a few minutes away
nice hotel, staf and place. There was even staf who spoke execellent english.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Clean hotel excellent location

Posted Mar 5, 2015
This hotel is in a very convenient location. It is a good base to start from to walk through the park, surrounding shrines and shops/restaurants. It is a short walk from the train station. The facilities are very clean and well maintained, although a bit dated. The bar downstairs is very nice.