Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great value

Posted Dec 6, 2017
The breakfast is fantastic quality. The staff is friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Hotel provides a well spread of traditional Japanese and Western breakfast buffet. Free public bath nearby hotel but have to bring own towel. Thus, never bother to go and try out the public bath. Nearby Nara Park and shopping streets. However, about 20min walk from JR station if you are using JR pass. Check in and out process were easy and fast. There is a cosy reading corner at lobby level with free coffee n tea dispensers and foot massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Segundo

Hotel is close to everything

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Hotel is nicely situated, and close to all the local shops, restaurants, temples, and transportations (JR and Kintetsu). With Nara being one of my favorite cities in Japan, the Hotel Sunroute is exceeding my expectations. Will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Convenient location and great bargain

Posted Nov 24, 2016
I stayed in a single room, which was reasonably sized for Japan and a definite bargain for the price I paid. The central shopping/restaurant street is a 7 minute walk and the Nara Kintetsu is 17min (with luggage). Walking distance to all the main attractions. Free coffee/hot drink dispenser in the lobby. I received a single free pass to one of any 4 local onsen (hor water bath house).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location next to the Nara Deer Park. We could see the 5-story pagoda of the Kofukuji Temple from our room on the 5th floor. It is the second tallest pagoda in Japan at 50 meters. The front desk staff was very helpful and kind. One very nice woman told us of a special celebration happening the evening we checked in to the hotel. It was a rare event that celebrates the completion of the Kasuga Taisha Shrine that is torn down and rebuilt every 20 years. It was spectacular! The next day, she gave us an oragami deer for our 6 mo. old grandson. She also gave us a postcard of the hotel and some oragami Autumn leaves to take home. There is a coffee/tea/hot cocoa machine in the lobby that is available during set times and is free. The breakfast was very good. Both Japanese and Western foods were on the buffet. The only complaint is that there were bus groups at the hotel both nights and they were at breakfast before the opening time, so these groups got seated for breakfast first and others had to wait for 20-30 minutes to get seated..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small but fine for one cheap night in Nara

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is fine for one night in Nara. The rooms are too small for anything longer!
4 out of 5
by William from Sydney

Central Nara Comfort

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Central to everything so walk and enjoy it all
4 out of 5
by William from Houston

Good for visiting great town

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Reasonably priced. Clean, comfortable. Building is modern and well maintained and managed. Did not notice any noise. About three blocks off the main street. Near the temple area. Within walking distance of train statilons. Sunroute is a chain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
front desk is nice, kind, and friendly, they try hard to fulfil guest's needs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Convenient location

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Convenient location and free parking.
Cons: Lack of coin laundry machine to facilitate back packers.
Convenient location within walking distance to many popular attractions.