Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique vintage hotel. An experience no to miss

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Just besutiful old hotel with a new wing for more comfort. Spectacular grounds. Only Points against is restaurant situation. Very expensive in-house with few wakable places nearby. Take bus to train station area for choices. Impecable staff service at hotel Just a uniqe experience of old Japan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Grand, older style hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
This hotel has classic old style grandeur and class. Well positioned, close to Nara Park. Staff are very helpful and professional. My only complaint is that our non smoking room smelt of cigarettes, despite being marked as non smoking. Breakfast was excellent. Recommended.
5 out of 5
by Garry

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable, beautiful property, gracious staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical building with nice view

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very polite and careful. There is a bus stop nearby to connect to the train station. Todaiji temple and Nara Park are at walking distance. Dinner is too expensive though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Nara Hotel - Great location

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The rooms were beautiful & comfortable, The staff were there to help with anything we may need.
Cons: The heating pipes in the old wing. Being woken at 5:30/6am to banging in the wall is not acceptable.
Location: Very close to restaurants, local bus stop & the airport limousine bus stop. The hotel sits on a beautiful park.
If staying in Nara in the future I would return to this hotel. Our first night was in the Old Wing of this hotel. Although the room was lovely the old pipes bang at 5;30/6am in the morning as they warm up. After complaining to the staff and asking for a room change the staff accommodated us & moved us to the new wing. The room was larger & furnished to suit the style of the rest of the building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
most staffs doesn't speak proper English, makes it difficult to communicate, however, staffs are friendly and tried to help... but a bit frustrated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Old world aesthetic and grace

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Cons: The water temperature while showering fluctuated wildly from cold to hot.
Amazing staff and well appointed rooms complimented by top end dining options. Beautiful grounds and well maintained old era building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Old time Japanese charm

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Definitely stay here if you want to be transported to another era, with understated elegance and excellent hotelier service. This hotel has everything you need to rest and relax. Both Japanese and western rooms are well appointed and have a good size. Service through out the hotel is very good. Breakfast is well served. Don't miss a drink at hotel's bar where the bartender can fix any cocktail with beautiful execution
Cons: Everything was great and in good condition. Would definitely stay here again
Location: Well located steps away from main attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Definitely not the service of a 5* hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
When I checked in I was told that breakfast was not included, but when I checked my receipt it clearly listed a full breakfast included. So when I went back to the front desk to point this out and show them the reciept, they then had to think about this for about 10 minutes before giving me the breakfast coupons. Then the day I was leaving, I requested and was told that I could have until noon to checkout. When I got back to the hotel at 11:45am, I was told that I had already been checked out of my room. I went back to my room to find that they were about to haul my luggage out of my room before I had even finished packing. This is not the service one would expect from a top hotel. I would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

A Hotel with a long tradition of service

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The iconic nature of the hotel. It is not often that one can stay in the same hotel that Japanese Royalty and Hollywood stars alike have spent time.
Cons: The older wing of the hotel needs modernisation, especially the bathrooms and the thick red carpet is a legacy from a bygone era.
Location: All the main sights in beautiful Nara are within walking distance.
This is a hotel where royalty stayed and which carries this legacy well. There is a new section to the hotel which holds the Japanese Restaurant and the older wing that has a splendid bar and tea-room that serve cakes as well as drinks. The pina colada that I had was memorable. Breakfast is served in an immense room, where one can choose between a western or Japanese style of breakfast. The attitude of the management is slightly Prussian as with the western-style breakfast you can only have two pieces of toast. They will bring you an additional slice of toast but one has to ask for it. It's the same with coffee or tea, as the staff do not appear to be trained to offer additional cups of coffee or tea. They also do not seem to be able make proper sunny-side up eggs. It is clear that the hotel has seen better times and the older wing probably needs a bit of additional maintenance to bring it up to par but if you want to stay in a place that has entertained Japanese royalty as well as Hollywood stars then it is worth staying here for a night or two.