Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay. The hotel is a work of art
4 out of 5
by Martha

Nara Hotel -- blast back in time

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Our second stay at the Nara Hotel, one of our favorites in Japan -- so old world and lost in time. Due to renovations, though, it was a little less than 5 stars. The lobby is being renovated and much of it is closed off. Sounds of construction, etc. We were all very happy, regardless. But it wasn't quite 100%
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scarred glory

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
As soon as I had walked up the curved lane leading up to the grandiose building on top of the hill a kind smartly suited employee came rushing out to help me with my backpack and guide me inside. Not before asking me if I wanted him to take my picture in front of the hotel, though (I had already whipped out my phone to capture the beginning of this single night of luxury I had regaled myself on my month long trek through Japan). Inside, you are welcomed by a small army of friendly staff and the somewhat dusty smell of aged wood. The hotel's rich history oozes from the classic interior (the timeline featuring visits from Kings, Emperors and movie stars helps..). The Nara Hotel is an example of tragically fading glory though. The years have not been kind to the building and it seems the decision to renovate the place had been delayed too long. That said, I loved the experience. I loved imagining the history, knowing much of what I was seeing was exactly the same 30, 50 and even a 100 years ago. This is a classic luxury hotel. Step back in time but be prepared to enjoy the scars age has left on this beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Old fashioned Elegance

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Location: A short walk to the Deer Park and a lovely Temple.
You truly get a feel for what it was like in the early part of the 1900,s when style and elegance reigned The gracious service coupled with my comfortable, high ceilinged room with a modern bathroom made for a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The building is beautiful and comfortable. It can be enjoyed even on a single trip. There were lots of deer in the garden, the view from the cafe was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Bath room was full of mold.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Cons: Change the bath tub and change air all the time to avoid getting mold.
I stayed this hotel with my family. It was Japanese style room with Tatami mat. The bath room smell was awful. The bath tab was full of black mold and we couldn't take it that night. I will never stay this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

For those who love history

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Wotif
Our room was in the modern wing, and while modern only in the eighties sense, it was spacious and had a balcony overlooking a garden with mature trees. The towels were thinner than in the chain hotels but the cleanliness was of a high standard. We chose this hotel for its history and were not disappointed. The old part was a step into the early 20th century. While restoration would refresh the public rooms, if you can overlook that, you will find the hotel charming. Eating in is overpriced. Courtesy of the front desk staff is exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Unbeatable historic atmosphere in this romantic and perfectly located hotel. Very enjoyable stay indeed, we were a party of four (two big children), in Japanese style room that was rather more luxurious than expected. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Superlative service, outstanding location, beautiful old building. This hotel would be hard to beat.