Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was not good at all. There was a very strong smell of marijuana in the lobby when I checked in, the receptionist stated that someone from the day shift smokes in the back a lot. When I opened the door to my room, the bed was unmade and the room was filthy. Garbage was lined up in bags under the steps. I could tell that someone had tried to pry windows open. This is an excellent suburb in Nashville. I noticed their score on the inspection was a 99/100. I honestly don't see how that was possible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel EVER!!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: in decent neighborhood.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Cons: The room was filthy. Stains of ??? everywhere. Black mold on the ceiling. After the first night, I went to check out and was told that the person at the front desk had NO authority to cancel my reservation for the next night. I asked her to call someone who could and she told me that no one could be contacted. Real bad attitude!!!
Location: brentwood
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am so disappointed that we were unable to meet your needs and expectations in the accommodations provided. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have addressed your concerns with the staff and have taken the appropriate steps to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
perfect for a quick overnight. def the cheapest this close go nashville and in a safe neighborhood. however there r no vending machines so I'd consider bringing your own. in the room we had there was a full size fridge, stove, and microwave
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for not making you aware that we do provide vending on site. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that we provided you with a comfortable stay. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4-day stay

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: The slow drain in bathroom sink was reported the first night of our stay. It was never corrected while we were there. Internet was very slow.
Giving us a "deal" on price for room without checking on health of guest is lacking. This is a 3-story motel with NO elevators. We had a 4-day stay with no ability to change the room to a lower floor. Thus, two 2 we are 70+ seniors who had to carry our luggage and food for our stay by ourselves. Not an easy task. Also, "Grab and Go" breakfast choices poor. No fruit. Muffins, granola bars and instant oatmeal were selections. How the oatmeal was to be eaten without spoons and bowls boggles the mind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was disheartened to read that we were unable to accommodate you with a room on a lower floor and that your drain problem was not addressed in a timely manner. Please accept our apologies. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are taking necessary steps to honor requests and needs based on availability. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not A Fun Experience

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Room was old and not very comfortable. Furniture was falling apart. No hairdryer, wi-fi was at about dialup speed. I prepaid a room with double bed and got a king so I had to share with my cousin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was disheartened to read that you were disappointed with your stay and did not have an enjoyable experience. We truly apologize for the condition of the furniture you described and that we were unable to accommodate you with the two beds you requested. Again, please accept our apologies for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are taking necessary steps to resolve issues to proactively try and accommodate our guests requests and ensure rooms do not have defects prior to our guests arriving. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Smelling Room

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
When I walked into the room, I absolutely smelled terrible. The heater was running, so I thought maybe that was the problem. I ran the air conditioner for several hours and the smell never subsided. I stay in the area at least once a week, and I will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was disheartened to read that we were unable to resolve the odor issue you experienced. Please accept our apologies. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are taking necessary steps to resolve issues such as this in a timely manner and if necessary find alternate accommodations to ensure your comfort. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was disappointed all around.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
This hotel is for construction workers that stay there for a long period of time. Definately for men. There was nothing appealing for a woman.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok but the other guests were noisy and inconsiderate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for one night

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
The furniture is pretty worn, but the bed was comfortable and bed linens were very clean. It was a smaller room than I thought it would be and the refrigerator was very loud. I will look for another option when I'm in that area again.