Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Rip off

Posted Dec 2, 2016
I took my wife to this hotel. I was double charged and was unable to get through to the hotel to fix it. Had to call the bank to put a stop payment in. I will never stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel for family gatherings!

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Loved the hotel. It's gorgeous, convenient, and comfortable for gathering families together. The price for wifi keeps me from rating this experience 100% satisfactory. A quick & simple log on to free wifi should be included in the base price of the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great location, clean hotel with great breakfast and bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Old Train Depot

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: I booked this hotel because my husband is a train buff, and I thought he'd enjoy staying here. As far as the trains were concerned, he really did enjoy it. As long as we were in the room, he'd sit and watch the trains come and go. The lobby was gorgeous and had the charm of a bygone era. That's really where the charm ended.
Cons: This hotel is really just a wedding venue with some rooms attached. When we checked in, there was a wedding about to take place. We thought we'd come in the wrong entrance. We were right in the middle of the wedding guests. After check in, we had to walk through the middle of where the wedding seating was set up to get to the elevator. We felt really out of place.The next night, there was another wedding. Their 'restaurant' was not set up well at all. $21 for their 'buffet' breakfast which had hardly any choices. One morning my eggs were cold. The next, my pancakes were cold. It was a tiny area. They had two big, beautiful rooms with stained glass windows in them, (which they would lead you to believe from their website was where the restaurant seating was), but those were only used for the wedding receptions. It was so obvious that weddings were way more important hotel guests. The room décor was hideous. It looked like someone had let their relative, who believed they were an 'aspiring' decorator do the room designs. Not warm or welcoming at all. Our maid who spoke no English, would not wash/replace our water glasses, left us only one towel set, left only one soap bar for the lavatory, which we had to switch back and forth for the shower. There was a dispenser for shower gel, but it was empty and never refilled. We asked for a dinner recommendation and were directed toward 'the Gulch'. We never did find it, but nightlife was about three blocks the other direction
Location: The hotel was within walking distance of nightlife, food, and music, the Country Music Hall of Fame, and the Ryman Auditorium.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: We did a walking tour of the town and a bus tour, Hop on Hop off. Both of our guides were excellent. .
It was a good sized room with a large screen TV neat and clean. I understand that all rooms are different. The structure that the hotel is in is beautiful. Parking of cars seemed to be a hassle even though I didn't have one. It is in walking distance of good restaurant's and also the downtown bars. Once I was aware of the "free" rides, only tips were required, around town it made the location of the hotel perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B Seattle

Could have been better

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Good- great place to eat late in the building next door. Easy to get around from hotel.
We arrived at the hotel at 5pm and had to wait for our room- only to get a basement room that smelled like smoke- another wait and we got a second room. The rooms are nice but amenities don't put it in he $500 club per night. Second day our room was not serviced until we callled around 7 pm when we returned for the day. Last night the cleaning service left dirty towels on the bed and no toilet paper in the bathroom and dirty glasses. Most of the front desk was fairly friendly but not all. Bar staff was the best. This is a beautiful hotel and I hope things get tidy for them. Felt over charged for what is currently available and provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction. Facilities focused on a weddin

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Location was good
For the price and reputation. The hotel did not impress in any way. Hotel was dirty. Room had an inward window.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Like staying at a castle!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Gorgeous hotel and stay...only complaint would be that they are currently renovating and workers began hammering in adjacent/overhead rooms around 7:15 a.m.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Confused Staff & Construction

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Lobby is very pretty
Cons: Relations to guests about renovations, more aware of child-friendly options both in rooms and local restaurants.
Our first stay at Union Station a few years ago was amazing. This time around, we brought our 1-year-old with us and we were unaware the hotel was undergoing major renovations. We paid full price (this hotel is not cheap). We were booked (with a crib request) in a room with no bathtub or fridge (very hard with a small child, though this could be our fault for not requesting ahead of time but at this level of concierge at a pricey hotel, I would have expected this detail would not have been overlooked), and we were unable to move rooms upon check-in until the 3rd evening of our 4 night stay. There were construction zones everywhere, including right outside our second room. Only one available elevator, which was very slow for the entire hotel, and the restaurant (which was amazing when we first stayed) had also been brought down a few notches due to the renovations, yet was still just as pricey. Undergoing major renovations is indeed necessary as the hotel told us to keep an old, monumental figure available to the public, but in this state it should not have been open to guests, and we should not have had to pay full-price for 1/2 of what we were expecting based on our first stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Under construction!!!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: We like the architecture of the hotel, the lobby is beautiful, the location is walking distance from the "District"
Cons: Room cleanliness!!! Finish construction.
Location: The hotel is in a good location. It is walking distance to the touristy "District", where all the bars and souvenir stores are.
We were a little disappointed with the Union Station Hotel. We were unaware that the hotel was under construction when we booked the reservation. There is also no self parking, only a $35 per night valet, which the spots are literally right as you walk out of the hotel. Why not give a parking pass? No one needs a valet to walk 50 feet. We booked the reservation based on ratings and reviews of other people and the fact that the hotel is unique in that it is a historical train station. We thought the uniqueness combined with the fact it is an "Autograph" hotel by Marriott would ensure a truly unforgettable stay in Nashville. The hotel should have been closed during our stay due to the construction. The main entrance was blocked off, the main elevator was inoperable and there were construction workers throughout the entire hotel. We had to navigate through back doors and secondary elevators without any signage or help from the employees. The rooms were definitely not what we expected for an Autograph-Marriott hotel. The rooms were not very clean, there were stains on the carpet, stains on the walls and ceilings, and no bathroom fans. If I travel to Nashville again, I would likely stay at the holiday Inn Express across the street from this hotel. But I would be curious as to how the renovations turned out and would consider the Union Station Hotel after seeing it completed.