Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel,staff great and fantastic views

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Really friendly and helpful staff - just a little more time needed to get the food right but did not distract from our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thanks Tim - our staff members have pledged to make ASTA a great fit for our guests. We have a beautiful property and you can see that joy in each smile. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style, clean, just a few rooms

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: small, not over-crowded, clean, quiet neighborhood
Cons: need to explain 'honor bar' to avoid over-charges (but they did correct for erroneous charges)
staff was very friendly, helped with taxi transfers,
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
The fun side of A Stone's Throw Away (ASTA): Our property is small and after your first day we are all family. Here you can visit our "honor bar" in the reception area of ASTA and grab a cold beer; soda; a glass of wine or mix your favorite drink. Once you know what you would like to cool yourself off, next to the bar is our recording sheet and the drink price list (7.5% VAT will be added to all drinks) - please write down your name; room number; drink and amount. The staff will place the order to your room account. Please note that you will have an opportunity to confirm all charges during the checkout process.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Amazing view! Close to the beach! Wonderful place!

Posted Mar 19, 2016
The staff showed personal interest towards us and did all they could to make our stay pleasant! With great views and comfortable rooms this is truly a gem in Nassau! We would definitely go back and recommend it to our friends and family!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

Great location

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Stone's Throw is in a great location about a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. You can sit on a large coverec veranda and eat breakfast and relax. Our room was small but functional. The shower had a few small sprays of water and no pressure. Hot water was iffy. The breakfast, icluded in our stay, was substantial in size and variety. The staff was outstanding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Generally nice, quiet hotel.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Generally quiet and out of the way. Not very touristy at all.
Cons: The restaurant was only open certain nights.
Location: A block from the water but about a 15 minute walk from love beach.
We had a nice stay except for one night. We had a second floor room and could hear the guests on the floor above walking around. It was nothing terrible at all. But on the second night, a pair of new guests moved in above us and made a lot of noise. They played music loudly and banged around their room so much I had to ask the front desk if a party was going on. She politely apologized and said she would talk to the guests. In the middle of the night the guests upstairs returned to their room and made so much noise that it literally sounded as if workmen were pounding on the floor. No one was at the front desk at such a late hour. In the morning we asked to move rooms (we still had two more nights) and the staff was kind enough to get us a different room. The other nights were very quiet and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of A Stone’s Throw Away (ASTA). Yes – certainly we do have an occasional boisterous guest that like to enjoy music in their rooms. We are sorry that this happened while you were our guest, but appreciate that you advised us of your discomfort so that we could assist you quickly to ensure that you were once again made comfortable. We are glad that you were not deterred by these actions and will visit A Stone’s Throw Away on your next visit to the Bahamas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essonne

Bel Hotel mais trop isole

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Son charme colonial
Cons: Le service et les informations pour se rendre en ville (très loin).WIFI dans les chambres
Location: Très beau mais rien à y faire pas de commerce in de restaurant
Arrivée difficile malgré appel personne n'est venu et nous avons gravi deux grands escaliers avec nos bagages.puis "il est 13h Check in est 14h" et nous avons eu la chambre a 14h! Puis discussion car il nous est dit breakfast 18 USD alors que dans notre réservation il était inclus piscine minuscule froide et sale. Ne pas y aller si personne à mobilité réduite (deux grands escaliers pas d'autre moyen pour arriver dans l'hotel. WIFI uniquement à la réception et terrasse proche d'elle
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by A Stone's Throw Away..., Hotel Management
We strive to provide the very best in service for each of our guests as we are a small property. You will note from our friendly staff members to the charm of our facilities and quiet seclusion near the Ocean - we want our guests to be comfortable and relaxed. We have truly taken each of our guest suggestions and have upgraded our WIFI system and actively work on the maintenance of our beautiful grounds. We do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Good view and pretty room.

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The view from the hotel is perfect and the room is really pretty. The breakfast is also nice. Only one thing which can be improved is the quality of the water. As the same of most of the other hotels, the water maybe purified from sea water and some smell and taste remain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Close to the airport - Quiet & Restful

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Ocean View rooms have access to the large deck & are wonderful; however the back garden is also very green & pool refreshing; Even if you don't have the 'ocean view' rooms; you have complete access to a common large ocean view deck (w/tables, chairs, sofas etc) - some is covered; some in the sun. We didn't rent a vehicle, thinking we were quite able/wanting to walk places & take local transport. However, due to 'safety' - busy roads with at times NO shoulder/sidewalk- we ended up on the bus (only $1.25 - 2.00, depending on distance; it varies, and, you pay at the END, when you get off :) Our first 3 days were on Paradise Island, then the last 4 at "Stone's Throw" (what the locals call it)..being only a 5-6 min. taxi to the Airport ($10-12). On check out day, they were very accommodating to let us store our baggage there, and stay on the premises; use their facilities to change etc, until 5pm, when we left for the airport. There can be some mosquitoes. Eating out is very expensive (esp. if you don't have US currency) - auto added in, is 15% gratuity, and, as of 2015, and added 7.5% (VAT Value Added Tax).. there are Subways and DunkinDonuts that offer good sandwiches at a good value - if you're ok with a break from the 'local' deep fried conch, etc The water and beaches everywhere...beautiful fine sand and amazing turquoise water...I was just somewhat sad at the amount of debris/cans/bottles almost everywhere on the Island (not at the Atlantis Park)...my thots..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Charming hotel with great view close to beach.

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Such a nice place to unwind after hectic vacation with grandkids. Romantic getaway for young and old.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely and comfortable.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
A quiet and grown up place to hide out. Attentive and polite staff. We left very happy and relaxed.