Ratings based on 825 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Close proximity to downtown.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Private Beach
Cons: More amenities. TV channels were limited. Cost of food and alcohol should be lowered so guests can partake more
Location: The main Bay Street blocks away. Close to shops and restaurants.
Nice Hotel. Amenities could be a bit better. Hotel food was extremely costly. Would have eaten in more often otherwise. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel at a Great location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Friendliest Staff. There good vibes are contagious :).
Cons: The mattresses not too comfy.
Location: In the heart of downtown.
Great location close to all. ALL the staff were Wonderful !!! A special thanks to Deannya who from day one at check in was so welcoming. Thank You So Much Deannya :) ... The private beach at the Hilton was perfect - clean, quiet and never overcrowded. The Straw Market and downtown shopping area, the John Watling's Distillery and Graycliff Chocolatierare just minutes away (very walkable). And also near by is the famous Fish Fry and Junkanoo Beach. Best alternative to the overcrowded Atlantis but you should visit at least once by taking the ferry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Excellent staff and view

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff, the view and the location.
Cons: The third elevator could use some work and they could bring the nachos back to the pool bar.
Location: Downtown is right around the corner, so the shops, restaurants and straw market are right there.
We like watching the cruise ships come and go and the harbor view. The staff is terrific and friendly and the downtown location is very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel if you get the right room.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Staff are very friendly, especially the doormen and the lobby air conditioning is a relief after the heat and humidity outside. Location is perfect.
Location: Everything is expensive. Getting a meal for a family of 4 at a restaurant was a minimum of $120 Canadian and stay away from Hard Rock Cafe, rip off!
Great location with walking to restaurants, shops and the harbour. Very nice private beach which was surprisingly quiet most days. Really friendly helpful staff. Definitely request a room on a higher floor or pay the extra for a harbour view. I requested a view but I guess booking through Expedia I was not considered "worthy" even though I booked the room 5 months in advance. Had to wait nearly 3 hours for our room to be ready even after the receptionist said she would get onto housekeeping to do it straight away. When we did finally get our keys housekeeping was still in there doing the floors so we had to wait in the hall until she was done. The view was probably among the worst the hotel has to offer, floor 3, level with the roof of the second floor projection and a glimpse of the golden arches of MacDonalds from across the street. Having said that the room was clean and spacious, we just kept the curtains closed. Not at all value for money, didn't bother with ordering food as the pool side drinks were costly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beamsville ,On Canada

Close to all activities in Nassau

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Very friendly, clean and central for our needs.
Cons: Like all hotels, general upkeep like painting in rooms and tile repairs.
Location: Very easy access to everything in Nassau
Felt like home. Restaurants are excellent. Ocean is right there. Pool is beautiful. Plenty of sitting areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A little bit of history remaining in Nassau.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Cons: Reception, room service, concierge never and I mean never answer their phones. If you need them you have to go down to speak with them.
I picked the hotel for its Bond connections and wanted somewhere with a great location. Downtown is walkable distance and the hotel has its own private beach. Although a bit dated compared to most modern hotels this still offers a vintage feel to it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island NYC

Ok Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Cons: You need to not be cheap with towels. Need free Wifi stop the hidden fees. Clean your beach have beach umbrellas.
Location: Near restaurants and the ferry . Lots to do in the area.
I don't think I would stay here again. The room was clean. They are very cheap with towels . We had to ask for more. The shower door was not closing so the water was all over the floor. We needed more towels just for the floor. Hidden fees no free wifi so look out for that. The staff was nice the beach had cigarette buds all over. Very small beach area no beach umbrellas. Enjoyed going to Paradise Island just a ferry away. Went to cabbage beach beautiful. The only thing is the Islanders are all over you trying to sell you something. The cabs make up there prices you need to be careful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainview Arkansas

hotel close to beach, straw market, ect.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Food, drinks a bit pricy
Location: beach awesome, close to everything, walking distance. shopping, dinning, adventures.
hotel good location, clean, good beach and pool. standard room ok, bit small, but nice bathroom . enjoyed our stay. restaurant pricy, 2 drinks at the pool..29.00 USD exspect to pay 18.oo usd per person per day, extra, at check out. McDonalds across street. local resturants awesome, Twisted Lime, Hard Rock Café, Frogs, and more in district. Hotel staff very nice, helpful. Hilton good choice , Atlantis and others on Paradise Island is very exsp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas/New Mexico

Great Location

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Take advantage of the grocery store near the straw market. Meals were $60-$80 everywhere and sunscreen is $20+ for small bottles. A few nights we ate at McDonald's, Burger King, and the grocery store to help savery money. The hotel is within walking distance to everything. We even walked to the Queens staircase. People will constantly bug you to buy things but it wasn't horrible. We just said no thank you and moved on. We enjoyed our snorkel tour at the dock in the back (Blue Whole) and even saw some cool fish on the beach with a lot along the end of the dock. We bought snorkels from the hotel and they worked great. Rooms were aged but clean, looks like they may be renovating but that wasnt an issue. The rooms were also noisy. We were near an elevator and constantly heard the employees radios and car horns honking but we were so tired from having fun that we just passed out.Employees were the nicest. They always found a way to accomadate and offer advice on where to go. Taxis are on standby on every corner (look for the yellow license plates) and catch one at a popular spot. You can walk by the straw market and cat a ferry to Paradise Island for $4 which helps, but the last one at 6pm never returned. They did give us a refund and a guy offered us a ride in his jeep but it seemed shady so we split a taxi with another couple. Taxi to to airport is around $27. Paradise Island is around $17... Have a blast, we did!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

No air conditioning and relocation choices-no good

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything about this experience was disappointing-
Location: The Fish Fry, as always, was very good-- we visited Andros and Curlys. The Greek restaurant, Athena's in town, was awesome.
Upon arrival at the British Colonial Hilton Hotel, we were informed that the air conditioning wasn’t working and that we would be relocated. Before leaving to the Bahamas, I had read online about the air conditioning problem, but since I hadn’t been contacted by the hotel, I figured the lack of air conditioning was no longer a problem. I had read the above mentioned review a week before leaving. Why didn’t anyone from the Hilton call us prior to our trip to inform us that this was a problem? Even if you were under the impression that the problem would be fixed before we arrived, why didn’t anyone contact us to tell us about the possibility that this had been a concern at your hotel? Once in the Bahamas, what were we supposed to do? Finally, once in the Bahamas, we were committed to the time we had taken off of work. There was no turning back once we arrived at the island. Our choices for relocation were not good- The Breezes is a place that caters to teenagers and the Comfort Suites was ill equipped and since it was going under construction, the adult only pool was frequented by the construction crew's children and the fitness room had construction materials all about the room. After discussing this with the British Colonial manager, Ms. Armbrister, she assured us she would call us to let us know of how they could make this better for us, but she never called. An altogether very expensive and disappointing experience.