Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Absolutely loved this historic and charming hotel!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! Mostly the fact that it was historic and had ambience and charm and great staff.
Cons: Possibly more appetizers at Buillon Bar! Plus, a coffee bar in the hotel would've been great. (Coffee in room or available by room service.)
Location: Historic location in the heart of the downtown. Authentic Bahamian restaurants, Courthouse and Government house, shopping including Straw Market.
We loved that this hotel has history and charm and ambience! I should say that I stayed here 24 years ago when I was young and on a budget. Loved it then, but it's completely updated since. The renovated lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are lovely. Very clean and well kept with plenty of charm and enough plenty of room. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. Lovely!! Beds are extremely comfortable. Front desk staff were awesome and everyone we met in the hotel was very kind and attentive. The beach is beautiful and on the smaller size which is what we liked. It feels very private, but there is plenty of room. Lots of beach chairs and cabanas on the beach as well as hammocks and various resting pods in the gardens and pool area. Wonderful pool bar which delivered drinks and food to your lounger! Buillon Bar is beautiful with dark wood and a cool, British vibe. We LOVED our server Stephen. He was kind and playful and attentive. He is going to Aviation school soon, so meet him while you can! : ) We had lots of food and drinks at Buillon and were very pleased. Excellent Pina Colada's and Mojito's! We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Close to everything downtown- lots of history, authentic Bahamian restaurants and shopping including the Straw Market (which is quite different from 24 years ago). We would highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and friendly staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Downtown location and friendly staff.
Cons: Housekeeping. Water was left in tub on two occasions which diminishes faith in cleaning efforts. Also, microwave oven would be nice and convenient.
Location: Great location, lots of historical places, museums and close to art District and central shopping. Also, close to water taxi to Paradise Island.
The view(s) from the room were spectacular despite construction project next door which obstructs view somewhat. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Beach activities (kayaks) were restricted and the air quality on beach is poor (cruise ship exhaust fumes). Very good location within walking distance to most historical sites, including Fish Fry at Arawak Cay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CHI

Average hotel. Nice private beach.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Mediocare hotel in a good location. Facilities were ok but not very well kept. Room service was awful. Most days one or no towels were replaced after cleaning. Very noisy first night but the staff did move us to a better room. Asked for tea one night and it took over an hour to arrive. Water was tepid by then. Pool bar is great but way overpriced ($14 for a mojito!).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Everything was very expensive and the service was not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Locatiob

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Gourgous hotel right in down town Nassau. Own beach which makes it even more accessible, less than a 5min walk from all the attractions and restaurants downtown has to offer. Touristy but it still feels like you're in another country. There is a Dunkin' Doughnuts right across the street!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great hotel...disappointing stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Clean...updated close to every thing
Cons: Staff needs a lot of help
Location: all great
Great hotel...looks like they have done a upgrade in the last couple of years..... THE BISSGEST ISSUE WAS THE STAFF...ABOUT 90-10%...NOT TRAINED...90 THIS HOTEL NEEDS SOMONE FROM THE MAINLAND TO COME STAY THERE FOR ABOUT A MONTH... FIX THE ISSUES...I DO HAVE A CHOICE IN MY STAY... I WAS NOT THE ONLY ONE COMPLAINING....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The stay was great. Though the main lobby had an aged scent and the bathroom door panel in the room had some rusting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

too loud. Bad desk service

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We've stayed here before. Sad to see that for $500 we got a view of roof and McDonald's sign. Desk clerk on arrival was busy with a (personal?) call had to be promoted to check us in. Which he did, while carrying on his phone conversation. Wanted to have some good in lounge but the LOUD music, that was ** blaring **through the lobby on arrival, kept us and all but three patrons away. It was empty. Take a hint DJ , it's not a club. The restaurant was busy enough presumably because it was far enough out of earshot of the DJ. in checkout desk clerk was blase. No eye contact. Is this actually a Hilton? Poor showing for once nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylania

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful private beach and pool, enjoyed watching ships arrive/depart.
Cons: More "snacks" available at pool bar and grill, like chips or fries. Food and drinks were pricey at the hotel and surrounding restaurants.
Location: Straw market nearby, lots of restaurants and bars, hotel beach, short drive to Atlantis and other beaches. Dunkin Donuts across street.
We really enjoyed our experience. The private beach and pool were perfect. Drink and food prices were a little high at the hotel and surrounding bars and restaurants. If you are able to find more "local" establishments not so close the the cruise ship docks, prices are better. Great Dunkin Donuts just across the street from the hotel - good for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AS

I was ok

Posted Dec 14, 2016
It was clean helpful staff great views the food was very expensive and they charge 40$ per day on resort fee also the wifi is slow and very expensive I did not like the bed was bit too soft and the room was not as big that they says just 17 ft by 17 ft no patio or windows that can be open