Ratings based on 1,243 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Good location.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Central location was great for walking. Very nice garden area to sit outside. Aqua Restaurant had excellent food. Rooms need upgrades. Missed having a balcony. Public areas were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Handy to downtown everything within walking distance. Everything was great, shower stall tile could have been cleaned better. Will return in future, this was our fourth stay at hotel and was longest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring Md

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms are so spacious! The staff is so wonderful and friendly. The hotel is so close to the beach, straw market and to the tourist locations.
Cons: N/ N/A
Location: Straw market, beach, post office, hotels, restaurants. I just love Nassau Bahamas! The British Colonial Hilton, is one of my favorite hotels in Nassau
I just love this hotel! It's not only beautiful on the outside and inside. The rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Return Visit

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Location, beach club, staff
Location: Downtown, but with it's own private beach club. Near shopping, restaurants and excursions.
Our 6th time staying here and it just keeps getting better and better. Highly recommended. I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Absolutely loved this historic and charming hotel!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! Mostly the fact that it was historic and had ambience and charm and great staff.
Cons: Possibly more appetizers at Buillon Bar! Plus, a coffee bar in the hotel would've been great. (Coffee in room or available by room service.)
Location: Historic location in the heart of the downtown. Authentic Bahamian restaurants, Courthouse and Government house, shopping including Straw Market.
We loved that this hotel has history and charm and ambience! I should say that I stayed here 24 years ago when I was young and on a budget. Loved it then, but it's completely updated since. The renovated lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are lovely. Very clean and well kept with plenty of charm and enough plenty of room. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. Lovely!! Beds are extremely comfortable. Front desk staff were awesome and everyone we met in the hotel was very kind and attentive. The beach is beautiful and on the smaller size which is what we liked. It feels very private, but there is plenty of room. Lots of beach chairs and cabanas on the beach as well as hammocks and various resting pods in the gardens and pool area. Wonderful pool bar which delivered drinks and food to your lounger! Buillon Bar is beautiful with dark wood and a cool, British vibe. We LOVED our server Stephen. He was kind and playful and attentive. He is going to Aviation school soon, so meet him while you can! : ) We had lots of food and drinks at Buillon and were very pleased. Excellent Pina Colada's and Mojito's! We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Close to everything downtown- lots of history, authentic Bahamian restaurants and shopping including the Straw Market (which is quite different from 24 years ago). We would highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and friendly staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Downtown location and friendly staff.
Cons: Housekeeping. Water was left in tub on two occasions which diminishes faith in cleaning efforts. Also, microwave oven would be nice and convenient.
Location: Great location, lots of historical places, museums and close to art District and central shopping. Also, close to water taxi to Paradise Island.
The view(s) from the room were spectacular despite construction project next door which obstructs view somewhat. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Beach activities (kayaks) were restricted and the air quality on beach is poor (cruise ship exhaust fumes). Very good location within walking distance to most historical sites, including Fish Fry at Arawak Cay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CHI

Average hotel. Nice private beach.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Mediocare hotel in a good location. Facilities were ok but not very well kept. Room service was awful. Most days one or no towels were replaced after cleaning. Very noisy first night but the staff did move us to a better room. Asked for tea one night and it took over an hour to arrive. Water was tepid by then. Pool bar is great but way overpriced ($14 for a mojito!).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: It's location.
Cons: To much to fit into 150 characters.
This hotel has a city hotel location that is convenient. Unfortunately the hotel is in need of some major work, especially for the price they charge. We arrived late and were advised we did not have the room we requested, as another guest was using it for a late checkout, the alternative was a noisy city room. The front staff were trying to find an alternative then the front office manager involved herself. This is went everything went reallyawful. When we finally got a room the air conditioner rattled, the Internet was non existent, the amenities in the bathroom had been used previously as they were half full. I will be looking for an alternative to this hotel and I will not be recommending it to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Everything was very expensive and the service was not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Locatiob

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Gourgous hotel right in down town Nassau. Own beach which makes it even more accessible, less than a 5min walk from all the attractions and restaurants downtown has to offer. Touristy but it still feels like you're in another country. There is a Dunkin' Doughnuts right across the street!