Ratings based on 1,328 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Old hotel bit well maintained and great staff

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Although it shows some wear, the hotel is clean and my room was comfortable and clean. The Staff was very attentive. The location is great though it looks out to the harbor where cruise ships (up to 4) dock. While quiet in the off season, it may be too during peak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Hotel !

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The staff , the private beach , the food , the cleanliness .... everything here was great . Nicest staff ever
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ale

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Nice Hotel with best location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very nice hotel. Walking distance to the beach. You can take the ferry to Paradise Island of you choose. Great restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A little piece of history with your stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This is a beautiful old hotel that has been completely renovated, giving you the best of both worlds. Facade is a throwback to the early 1900's while the rooms and amenities are modern and comfortable. The staff are also very helpful and friendly. It's the nicest place to stay if you're in downtown Nassau and don't want to be out on Paradise Island with the mega resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal,QC

Nice Hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: We had a great continental Breakfast, snacks and cocktails (5-7) everything was great especially the hostess gratings us each time we visited. Cool!
Cons: Having water coffee/tea available in the lobby. Rooms need upgrading, walls thin & bathrooms too small.
Location: Great location Iimperial takeout across the street, many restaurants to choose close by, shopping excusions,cross to Paradise island $8 taxi both way.
Nice hotel, but could hear the noise outside, and room next door. Cruise ships docked at port daily, passing by the hotels private beach, but we didn't really mind them. Concierge service was excellent, very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Do some research on Nassau before deciding where to stay. But definitely don't stay here. It is the slowest service I've ever experienced. You rarely find a person who is willing to give good service and front desk is the worst. The lady who checked us in didn't look at us once. Who ever says the beach is nice must live in the desert because it's like swimming in a swamp - all the cruise ships are in this water. Rooms are 100 years old. The only good thing here was the piña coladas at the outdoor bar. Stay on paradise island or another island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from allentown Pa

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a nice trip. The stores were right around the corner and all the good food places were nearby as well. Hotel workers were nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire UK

Well placed hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
If you are not going to Nassau to use the water park at Atlantis have a serious look at British Colonial as a base for a family holiday. Ideally placed at the start of Bay Street you will be well positioned for all of the amenities of Down Town Nassau. The taxi fare from the airport is cheaper too. The pool is well kept as is the beach area for a well earned dip after the shopping/ dining. The staff were without doubt first rate, not one of them was without a smile and a cheery word. The rooms were well proportioned with good sized beds and bathrooms, the rooms were clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Walls were not sound proof

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: private beach
Cons: install sound proof walls and doors
It was very difficult to fall asleep and stay asleep while hearing what was going on in the other rooms. One night, I was awaken to very private and inappropriate sounds coming from the room next to me including bed shaking very loudly. Even after the act finished, I could not go back to sleep. I also could hear the television sounds of the rooms next to me. In addition room service is very loud and I heard everything going on. I could not have any sound sleep at any of the nights I stayed there. I will never recommend or stay there anymore.