Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlantic city nj

Most unique and relaxing vacation I have ever had!

Posted Mar 25, 2016
The hotel and staff is amazing .. Not only is the place historic and beautiful but the staff make it 10 times better . Very acomodating and professional .. Food, wine is incredible ..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A grand old mansion that's seen better days

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Rich history. Beautiful 'bones' of a once-grand mansion. The swimming pool is a work of art! Pizza was amazing! Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Décor. Bathroom tub/shower is circa 1970's. Restaurant is overpriced.
Location: Busy, bustling Nassau. Art gallery is steps away and always a treat.
A lovely old mansion rich in history but sadly lacking in modern upgrades. Décor hasn't been touched in decades. And the '5-star' restaurant was nothing special and certainly not worth the price. Obviously caters to those with expense accounts. (Our meal - for 2 with wine and one appetizer - was over $300 US. There were many items on the menu just under $100 US. seriously?)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Owensboro,Ky

Great hotel that never fails to impress

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Close to shopping with great staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: All the shopping you would ever want within walking distance
Impeccable service with the best restaurant in the hemisphere within walking distance of great shopping
5 out of 5
by Eberhard from Baden

Unerwartet anders...

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Aufgrund der Geschichte des Hauses, sowie der Lage mitten in Nassau hab ich mich für dieses Hotel entschieden und es nicht bereut. Man spürt die Geschichte und den Charme schon beim Betreten. Nach einem etwas kühlen (aber professionellen) Empfang an der Rezeption betrat ich mein Zimmer und war sofort begeistert. Obwohl ich die niedrigsten Kategorie gebucht habe, war das Zimmer riesig. Voller alter (und auf alt gemachter) Möbel und Deko, grosses Bett, tolles Bad, Veranda vor der Türe... herrlich. Und nicht zu vergessen, der wunderschöne Pool im Garten, ruhig und völlig im Grünen. Würde wieder dort übernachten...
4 out of 5
by craig from bay area, ca

Unique vacation spot

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a few days in the pool cottage. The cottage was very aristocratic with palm tree inlays in the wall and Victorian style furniture. The bathroom had lots of marble with a full vanity, shower and bath. The hotels staff is very attentive. We enjoyed the uniquely tiled pool and the salt water pool. One con is the hotel is located downtown and is not on a beach. The good news is you do not have many people from cruise ships using the hotel. The bad new is there is no beach on the property. We also were woken up early by the staff sweeping the paths outside the cottage every morning. Overall it was a unique property to stay at. We were happy to stay here rather than stay at a mega hotel on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic without modern conveniences

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: First and foremost the STAFF is what made my stay bearable. They couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: It's a very old building dating back to Winston Churchhill days. Updating, without losing the charm.
Location: It is in downtown Nassau, so you have the shops and restaurants nearby. Taxi too expensive, most likely due to price of gas.
I arrived on Friday afternoon, and after checking in I notice the AC is extremely loud. Tried adjusting the thermostat but it didn't appear to work properly. The hotel is old charm which is what I was looking for older period furniture etc., but in that room the TV was in an armoire which could not be viewed while in bed or anywhere else in the room. The next day I am moved to another room, and although the AC unit was a little quieter, it was too noisy for comfort. The AC units in both rooms ran constantly even though I tried setting it at a certain temperature. I left that morning at 9:30 to explore and told the front desk my TV wasn't working (Room 2). They said they would get someone to look at it. I returned to the hotel at around 4:30 in the afternoon and the TV still not working. Someone comes up, it turns out to be dead batteries in the remote. So no one during the course of the day even bothered to check it out.
4 out of 5
by Ann from Sonoma CA

Graycliff Experience

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
The Graycliff has wonderful service, good food, discreet security, and a friendly and efficient staff. The hotel feels outdated, but it was obvious that it had been beautiful and elegant 20-30 years ago. With maintenance, refreshing, and updating, the experience will once again be five star.
5 out of 5
by Lorene from Palm City, Florida

Unable to get the clicks to work quickly.

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a nice hotel....very pretty and charming. Great food and service and pool. A bit dated but that adds to the charm and ambience. Better than a standard Americanized hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Restaurant was excellent, very expensive but excellent
Cons: Bed very uncomfortable
Very nice grounds, could use a little attention in areas