Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by craig from bay area, ca

Unique vacation spot

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a few days in the pool cottage. The cottage was very aristocratic with palm tree inlays in the wall and Victorian style furniture. The bathroom had lots of marble with a full vanity, shower and bath. The hotels staff is very attentive. We enjoyed the uniquely tiled pool and the salt water pool. One con is the hotel is located downtown and is not on a beach. The good news is you do not have many people from cruise ships using the hotel. The bad new is there is no beach on the property. We also were woken up early by the staff sweeping the paths outside the cottage every morning. Overall it was a unique property to stay at. We were happy to stay here rather than stay at a mega hotel on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic without modern conveniences

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: First and foremost the STAFF is what made my stay bearable. They couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: It's a very old building dating back to Winston Churchhill days. Updating, without losing the charm.
Location: It is in downtown Nassau, so you have the shops and restaurants nearby. Taxi too expensive, most likely due to price of gas.
I arrived on Friday afternoon, and after checking in I notice the AC is extremely loud. Tried adjusting the thermostat but it didn't appear to work properly. The hotel is old charm which is what I was looking for older period furniture etc., but in that room the TV was in an armoire which could not be viewed while in bed or anywhere else in the room. The next day I am moved to another room, and although the AC unit was a little quieter, it was too noisy for comfort. The AC units in both rooms ran constantly even though I tried setting it at a certain temperature. I left that morning at 9:30 to explore and told the front desk my TV wasn't working (Room 2). They said they would get someone to look at it. I returned to the hotel at around 4:30 in the afternoon and the TV still not working. Someone comes up, it turns out to be dead batteries in the remote. So no one during the course of the day even bothered to check it out.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Ann from Sonoma CA

Graycliff Experience

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
The Graycliff has wonderful service, good food, discreet security, and a friendly and efficient staff. The hotel feels outdated, but it was obvious that it had been beautiful and elegant 20-30 years ago. With maintenance, refreshing, and updating, the experience will once again be five star.
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Lorene from Palm City, Florida

Unable to get the clicks to work quickly.

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a nice hotel....very pretty and charming. Great food and service and pool. A bit dated but that adds to the charm and ambience. Better than a standard Americanized hotel.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Restaurant was excellent, very expensive but excellent
Cons: Bed very uncomfortable
Very nice grounds, could use a little attention in areas
3 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse

Almost a great hotel...

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The grounds and the pool area were very beautiful. Lovely outside eating areas that appeared closed, chairs up against tables.
Cons: The rooms need updating. The Pool Suite I could see was renovated and lovely, follow that line! Lower your prices in the meantime.
Location: The hotel is in downtown Nassau - the most interesting things were right at the hotel - the chocolate factory and cigar shop. I would skip Nassau.
Our initial impression was not great, all the furniture in the lobby was piled up... it looked like hotel was closed for renovation... I wanted to love this hotel - I love old character buildings and this one did have lots of great charm in many areas. The grounds were lovely and well kept, but the buildings are in need of renovation in some parts, particularly the room that we stayed in (Windsor). In hindsight I should have asked to see another room, but we were only staying one night.... the room was a bit musty, the only window to the outside was in the bathroom, and it didn't open. The room was large and the bed was comfortable, but it was decorated not in the style of - but actually decorated in - the last century. At the price, I was surprised at the room - it was much more shabby that chic. It was also unfortunate that almost no one else was staying at the hotel while we were there, which made for a continued ambiance of 'closed'. The restaurant however was definitely open, but I'm afraid we didn't have a very positive experience there either. There are three restaurants on the property, we thought we would go down to the lobby for a drink before going to the smaller more casual pizzeria. Well, we were quite quickly and rudely asked to leave since we were not eating at the fancy restaurant which is adjacent to the lobby - so much for feeling welcome. The pizza was good, low marks for ambience compared to the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointing downtown hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The staff - they really went above and beyond.
Cons: Hire another housekeeper (there are only 20 rooms, so one more would probably be enough) and offer "proper" turn down service. Offer 1 wi-fi code
Location: The spa was closed - supposedly for renovations, so they suggested we use the Hollistic Spa around the corner. It wasn't too bad
Our stay at Graycliff was quite disappointing. The hotel staff were terrific, but the rooms were very tired. The television was so far away from the bed that we couldn't even see it. The shower was very small. The housekeepers, although they kept the room clean, were stingy on replenishing soap, shampoo, toilet paper, and Kleenex tissues. We had to call twice to ask to replenish the bottled water. We found our at checkout that only the first bottle of water was complimentary, and we had to pay for subsequent bottles of water. At 6:00 PM on the first night, the housekeeper arrived and asked if we wanted turn down service. We responded that yes, we did, but at 7:30 PM, because we were just about to shower and change for dinner. She responded that she quit work at 6:30. What that means is that they really don't offer turn down service. The other complaint we had was that although there was supposed to be free wi-fi, we had to enter a different code every day, and when we ran out of codes, we had to go to the office and request new codes. How ridiculous is that?? Because our room faced the road (even though the hotel wasn't full - I don't know why they gave us that room), we had too much street noise and noise from staff members who spoke too loudly too early in the morning.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Pricey as you'd expect, but a real experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
A beautiful historic building close to museums and galleries, and a fantastic experience - like stepping into the pages of "The Great Gatsby". VERY different to the standard Hilton or Hyatt experience; this is like being a guest in someone's home. (If, of course, the home belonged to someone you owed a great deal of money to.) That's the only sore point - like so many places in paradise, value for money is nonexistent. This is the Bahamas, and it's stupidly expensive; you have to accept it. The Graycliff's wine cellar (we saw it) is brilliant, with £40K bottles just lying on shelves, but the markups in the restaurant are enormous for standard wines. The restaurant (we had the seafood) serves excellent food, but $300 for two courses with one bottle of wine takes the edge off. And 18% service added to the bill as standard didn't sit well. So - go to the Graycliff, enjoy its old-world charm, but top up your bank account first - you'll need it.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Classic old Bahamas mansion

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Some of the maintenance of the landscape and some of the public spaces need a touch up
Location: Centrally located so all of Nassau is at your doorstep. The hotel is not on the beach but it has one of the loveliest pools we have ever seen
The hotel is charming and the staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. it feels like visiting the home of a very wealthy friend. And the restaurant is excellent in every war: cadre, food, service