Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel but if old fashion...

Posted Dec 30, 2016
This hotel is very historic to the Bahamas. A lot of history but the service is very slow if you are planing on 5 stars you expect great service but the service is quite opposite. Staff is not friendly very hard to find someone to help you. I would not say it's one of my best vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providenciales, Turks and Caicos

Incredible Restaurant Hotel is a bit worn

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The hotel is a bit worn and in need of maintenance. The staff are incredible and the restaurant is second to none.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Old style
Cons: Responsiveness of the personel. Pricing is off the chart for room and food. With chocolateand cigars the former nice hotel becomes a ticky tacky plac
Hotel was very loud due to some music festival across the street. Water was occasionally not running. Safety box was locked and not unlocked for a day by personal. Dinner was completely overprized! Not again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing!!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
It truly is amazing in every sense of the word. I am still stunned at how beautiful this location and I have been home for nearly two weeks. I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in the Bahamas because of its location right near downtown and it's amenities. We stayed in the Baillou room and when we first stepped in we were blown away. It felt like a Caribbean palace. To be fair I've never stayed in a suite before but it exceeded everything that we had expected for our stay. If you are thinking about getting married in Nassau check out this place! My wedding here was magnificent thanks to Cecile and I will be forever grateful to her for helping create such a beautiful evening for our big day. We will absolutely return for our anniversary one of these years. Now the reason for the 4.5 star rating for the staff is because the woman at the front desk Friday morning rolled her eyes at me before I could ask her to call a taxi. I had been in a couple times that day so I'm guessing it annoyed her seeing me come back but I still don't think that's acceptable. With that said, I was so amazed by everything else the Graycliff had to offer I forgot about it almost immediately. Everyone else was incredibly helpful and that really help make this trip that much more enjoyable. Don't forget to try the Graycliff Chocolate and hand rolled cigars! So good!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa clarita

Great hotel with a cigar factory

Posted Oct 3, 2016
A classic hotel in the heart of nassau. Excellent meals anytime of the day. Cigar factory is excellent and they even have a cigar happy hour
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlantic city nj

Most unique and relaxing vacation I have ever had!

Posted Mar 25, 2016
The hotel and staff is amazing .. Not only is the place historic and beautiful but the staff make it 10 times better . Very acomodating and professional .. Food, wine is incredible ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at Graycliff Hotel and Restaurant. We are glad you had a relaxing vacation and were able to enjoy our restaurants, wine cellar and our history. We will share your feedback with our Staff and Management and thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Owensboro,Ky

Great hotel that never fails to impress

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Close to shopping with great staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: All the shopping you would ever want within walking distance
Impeccable service with the best restaurant in the hemisphere within walking distance of great shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Graycliff Hotel and Restaurant. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our customers are very important to us and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will share this with our Staff and Management and hope to see you again the next time you are in Nassau.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic without modern conveniences

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: First and foremost the STAFF is what made my stay bearable. They couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: It's a very old building dating back to Winston Churchhill days. Updating, without losing the charm.
Location: It is in downtown Nassau, so you have the shops and restaurants nearby. Taxi too expensive, most likely due to price of gas.
I arrived on Friday afternoon, and after checking in I notice the AC is extremely loud. Tried adjusting the thermostat but it didn't appear to work properly. The hotel is old charm which is what I was looking for older period furniture etc., but in that room the TV was in an armoire which could not be viewed while in bed or anywhere else in the room. The next day I am moved to another room, and although the AC unit was a little quieter, it was too noisy for comfort. The AC units in both rooms ran constantly even though I tried setting it at a certain temperature. I left that morning at 9:30 to explore and told the front desk my TV wasn't working (Room 2). They said they would get someone to look at it. I returned to the hotel at around 4:30 in the afternoon and the TV still not working. Someone comes up, it turns out to be dead batteries in the remote. So no one during the course of the day even bothered to check it out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we take these comments very seriously and apologize for not responding sooner. We apologize that the TV was not fixed as quickly as it should have been and take note that you felt the AC was loud. Thank you for your feedback on our staff and glad they were able to assist you with your concerns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Restaurant was excellent, very expensive but excellent
Cons: Bed very uncomfortable
Very nice grounds, could use a little attention in areas
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we take these comments very seriously and apologize for not responding earlier. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our five star Restaurant and hopefully you were able to also enjoy our other restaurant options on property that are less expensive. Our grounds have been recently upgraded and thank you for your feedback on this area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse

Almost a great hotel...

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The grounds and the pool area were very beautiful. Lovely outside eating areas that appeared closed, chairs up against tables.
Cons: The rooms need updating. The Pool Suite I could see was renovated and lovely, follow that line! Lower your prices in the meantime.
Location: The hotel is in downtown Nassau - the most interesting things were right at the hotel - the chocolate factory and cigar shop. I would skip Nassau.
Our initial impression was not great, all the furniture in the lobby was piled up... it looked like hotel was closed for renovation... I wanted to love this hotel - I love old character buildings and this one did have lots of great charm in many areas. The grounds were lovely and well kept, but the buildings are in need of renovation in some parts, particularly the room that we stayed in (Windsor). In hindsight I should have asked to see another room, but we were only staying one night.... the room was a bit musty, the only window to the outside was in the bathroom, and it didn't open. The room was large and the bed was comfortable, but it was decorated not in the style of - but actually decorated in - the last century. At the price, I was surprised at the room - it was much more shabby that chic. It was also unfortunate that almost no one else was staying at the hotel while we were there, which made for a continued ambiance of 'closed'. The restaurant however was definitely open, but I'm afraid we didn't have a very positive experience there either. There are three restaurants on the property, we thought we would go down to the lobby for a drink before going to the smaller more casual pizzeria. Well, we were quite quickly and rudely asked to leave since we were not eating at the fancy restaurant which is adjacent to the lobby - so much for feeling welcome. The pizza was good, low marks for ambience compared to the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for not responding sooner. We have been renovating and upgrading our rooms over the past year including bathrooms. While you were staying in the Windsor room, we hope you took the time to enjoy the balcony in front of your room which is a great place to enjoy coffee in the morning. We apologize for the incident in our piano bar area outside the Graycliff Restaurant, we welcome guests to enjoy a cocktail in our lounge whether you are having dinner in the Restaurant or not and a lot of guests will enjoy the lounge prior to heading out for dinner or even at the end of their evening for a nightcap. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds. Our décor was designed in lush fabrics and rich antiques to allow guests the feel of staying in a stately Manor instead of more cookie cutter modern décor that would take away from the experience. Again, thank you for your feedback.