Ratings based on 1,039 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very personal hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Good facilities, on the beach 3 pools, choice of restaurants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice beach, good hotel, bad food

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Value for money, beach and pools
Cons: Food Add more umbrellas and put a system in place to reserve space
Hotel, overall was good, good value for money. The beach was very nice, however not enough umbrellas. You have to wake up early and put your towels on the chairs to "reserve" the space. Not well organized. Food options at night are ok but for lunch and breakfast food quality was terrible. Make sure you make reservation for dinner at the different restaurants as soon as you arrive to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Nice hotel but..,

Posted Aug 22, 2016
the view is stunning and have good attention but do not have enough chairs on the beach or in the pools also has very good entertainment schedules, the schedule also aquatic yoga was never carried out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

OK Hotel close to Beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Air condition did not work in the hotel and in all rooms no matter who you talk to everybody complained about the air condition in their bedrooms.we had a large group with 9 rooms by the fourth day it got a little cool but not much better.food by the outside pool was disgusting.liquor at the pool bar was the lowest grade that you can think of only one choice of beer entertainment at night was DJ magician no-shows really to speak of.Beach area and pools very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Everyone very nice beach was very clean .... Hotel rooms were small and had ants in the room other than that it was very nice and relaxing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

First time in bahama's

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The staff very friendly, food was good and a good selection. The different daily activities available.
Cons: Add rice or something to the salt shakers to keep from clumping up. Better air conditioning in the rooms. Manners and patience class to arriving guest
Location: Rent jet skis on the beach, get the big 4 stroke for an hour and cruise to other islands. Fish fry short bus ride. Deep sea fishing with Reel Dreams
We stayed at the Melia, rooms not real modern but quite pleasing and intent was not to spend all our time in the room anyway. Only issue had was air conditioning would not keep up and room often hot. Figured out after the first day, keep the curtains closed so the sun doesn't heat up the room and made it tolerable. We are hot blooded and prefer it cool to sleep, once made the adjustment was fine. The hotel staff were overly friendly, always pleasant. Tips are included in the package, but we were always taught to tip for good service. Once they noticed this, practically fighting over to serve us. They provide lots of entertainment that was enjoyable and the food was top notch. Be sure to make reservations for all the different restaurants early when you get there, they fill up fast. The young lady first day told us had to do it day to day and we missed out on a few because of sightseeing, playing on the beach and pool. Later found you can do additional days in advance. The buffet did a good job of changing themes daily. The only issues seen here, humidity is high and salt shakers clumped up, maybe should add some rice to keep salt dry. At the grill to order, many guests thought they were special, cut in line, yelling out orders to the cooks, and just being rude to the staff and other guests, then they get upset when order is wrong. Learn manners and patience, suppose to be relaxing. Would recommend the Melia and the staff, also rent jet skis on the beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Beautiful beach but horrible cafeteria food.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We were super happy about how beautiful the beach was and the workout area was very nice. However don't expect to eat the food. We tried all the hotel restaurants and though they were all bad, Black Angus was a joke. Do not waste your money at this restaurant. We got a shrimp salad which was lettuce and four cocktail shrimp that were limp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: He apologized that the reservation was NEVER MADE and explained that now it would not be possible to dine at any of the four ala carte restaurants
Cons: and would have to eat at the buffet. The buffet has less choices than any buffet I've visited in my life and the service is unreliable.
Location: There is not enough room to go into further detail. Suffice to say, we were extremely disappointed and will not visit a Melia in the future.
We were not at all happy with this hotel. Perhaps our expectations were too high because our previous vacations at other resorts were so wonderful, but we were really disappointed by this one. When we checked in, we decided to upgrade to The Level for a significant increase in cost per night. On our last 3 vacations at Princess resorts, the upgraded experience to Princess' similar "Platinum" were well worth the additional cost. Not so with Melia's "The Level". The only benefit of the upgrade worthy of the extra cost was the amazing view from our 7th floor room. We actually spent quite a bit of our 4 day vacation on the room's balcony as there was little to do, especially at night. One of the benefits of the upgrade that was explained to us was the ability to have The Level concierge book our dinner reservations at one of the hotel's four restaurants. During our check-in process at around noon on Saturday, we booked our reservations for Aqua with the concierge. He said that although he could not yet confirm the 8pm reservation right then, they would either call our room or put the confirmation under the door. My husband and I went to the beach for awhile and then took a nap in our room. When we awoke at 6pm, we had received no call or message under the door, so we went to see the concierge. (to be continued below)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Nice and Clean hotel , staff pleasant and helpful .clean beach but not enough umbrella That was really problem for me . I stayed at this hotel so money times ; same problem Avery time .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Nene, We appreciate your feedback, we have recented added umbrellas to our pool area and will continue with the project on the beaches. Thank you for returning to Melia Nassau Beach. Warm regards, Cecilia Sit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hotel is close to the beach, the staff are so rufe

Posted Aug 17, 2016
I liked it that the hotel was close to the beach, the staff were rude and mean, the food needs some improvement
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept our apologies for the expectations not met. We look forward to improving our service. Sincerely Cecilia