Ratings based on 1,364 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

great

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: Air conditional was not working the best.
My son and I had a great time. Everyone was very helpful with anything that we needed.The food was really good. The pools and beaches were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Nice Hotel, right on the beach, excellent value

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Free food and drink in the all-inclusive. Friendly and helpful staff. The ocean beach on the back. Multiple pools, towel service on the beach.
Cons: Nothin worth mentioning. Maybe stress to guests to remove their towels from beach chairs until and after they actually use them.
Location: Backs up to the beach. Free activities, like board paddling, snorkeling, water cycle, kayaks. Short bus hop to downtown shopping, fort, diving.
Excellent value with all-inclusive. Back side is the beach. Nice amenities and free activities. All-inclusive makes the Melia an excellent value. Every one was super nice! I have read some complaints about the staff, this was not my experience. The staff went out of its way to accommodate one or two small issues, and some staff walked us to the location we were looking for. As good or better as I've had with major four star or five star hotels. A special shoutout to -Ken Cox-, head of the Melia restaurants, who gave us personal service including having the chef at Nikki Asian restaurant come out and meet us. He is the star of the dining experience. Great guy, smart and wonderful accent!! Reserve your dinner spots early. I really enjoyed the Nikki. I didn't get a chance to try any others except the bottom floor restaurant, the breakfast and the lobby spots. No complaints, some are better then others. Good service. Quickly learn the local bus system as they only cost $1.25 per person, per trip. Some of the cosmetics of the hotel are a little dinged up, no biggie especially considering things like thebar fridge in the room is free and restocked daily, etc. I don't work there and I am not paid to make this. Stayed from July 17 thru the 22nd. - Okie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location and our beach view from our room were excellent!!
Cons: They do not have enough chairs or umbrellas on the beach. The food is not very good and system for restaurants is awful.
Location: Location great.
We had a great time on vacation. However, there are some improvements that need to be made.There are not enough chairs or umbrellas on the beach. We had paid extra for the Level and still could not get seats unless one of us went out at 7:30 in the morning. The food is not very good and you need reservations for all the restaurants. We did not know this so the first night on check-in we were told everything was booked. We made all reservations on check-in, but never got told if we got in. One night we did not and the Level person never send us the message so again we had to go to the buffet or to an outside restaurant. The staff at the Level did nothing to help us when it was their mistake.Also, men need pants for the steak house and this was not communicated to us prior to leaving home. We watched as people who had reservations were told they couldn't go in and then had to go to the buffet that night>
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, New York

The Perfect Vacation

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A little paint here and there. More chairs on the Level beach.
Location: Went to the fish fry and had an awesome time!
To be honest, I was concerned when I read some of the reviews. My daughter had booked the vacation and I didn't read the reviews until we were booked. The only negative thing I can say, is that the Wi-Fi isn't great at night. Big deal. Contrary to many of the reviews, I found the staff to be not only friendly, but highly efficient and incredibly helpful. The food was great and varied... It was easy to get reservations. We upgraded to the Level and it was well worth it. Our room was lovely with a spectacular view! I had an incredible time. My husband, who came reluctantly, enjoyed himself so much that he told me to book another all inclusive vacation immediately. Thank you Melia for a wonderful and unforgettable trip!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst vacation experience ever

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Terrible service Had hair in my burger Ac in one room did t work Rooms weren't fully ready for stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all inclusive for the money

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Just got back and had a wonderful time. Beach was amazing. Rooms were clean. Hotel staff was pretty nice. Make your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there. Best part of stay was the all inclusive part and the O'grill restaurant outside. We would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful beach

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Beautiful beach and hotel grounds. Rooms need serious updating. Very uncomfortable beds. Gorgeous pools and the food is good!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

So Disappointing

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The beaches are unbelievably nice...white sand...clear, warm waters.
Broken shower, broken phone, burnt carpet, clogged drain, no hot water, no a/c in the hallways, half empty mini bar, mixed up restaurant reservations with unapologetic hostess...these are just a few of the problems that we experienced during our week long stay at the Melia. It was so bad that we paid extra to stay one night at the brand new hotel next door, the Baha Mar. That's where we should have stayed from the beginning. Other than that, we had a wonderful time on the island, visited Atlantis, chartered a boat, ate the local foods, and enjoyed the beautiful beaches.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Just okay, would not stay again

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The location, being right on the beach. The pools were nice. The restaurants Nikkei and Cilantro were very good.
Cons: Dinner reservation process, more beach chairs and umbrellas, more staff members, the lack of AC and hot water in the rooms, musty smell in hallways.
Location: The hotel is located right on the beach. There are water activities to do for a charge. Tours are also available for a charge.
The hotel outside grounds were nice. The hotel is located right on the beach, which was perfect. The buffet at the Marketplace was okay, not great. The restaurants were good but extremely frustrating to make reservations for. We arrived on a Fri. morning. When we called for reservations, we were told they had nothing for the entire weekend. We decided to just show up at Aqua, and were seated, as the restaurant was practically empty. Sat. we went to Cilantro and they refused to seat us. The girl told me to see her tomorrow at the reservations desk and she'd help. Went there, she told me there was nothing for Sun. night. After arguing with her, I was magically given reservations for Sun. and Mon. night. We had dinner at the tapas lounge (didn't require reservations) and it took a half hour for the waiter to come greet us and take our order. The beach was beautiful and clean and located right outside the hotel lobby. Unfortunately, it was impossible to get a beach chair underneath an umbrella or hut (really disappointing since we were traveling with a 2 year old). We would get to the beach at about 8-8:30am and all of the chairs with umbrellas or huts were already taken (not by people, by towels). If you arrived at the beach at 9am or later, there were absolutely no beach chairs for guests.Many chairs were ripped. The room was okay. The AC and hot water was basically nonexistent. To shower with hot water, you must run the hot water from the sink. It was ridiculous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice beach

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This is a good resort location, not far from airport. We stayed 7 nights, family of 4. The hotel needs renovation and upgrade. The room was clean and comfortable. Nice restaurants on premise, I especially liked Aqua and Cilantro Mexican. The food in the buffet so so, need to have more variety and please eliminate the flies all over the food!! Beach is amazing!