Ratings based on 1,231 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Nice all inclusive hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: 1. Nice location close to the airport and easy transportation. 2. Has its own beach, all inclusive and private, plus some included water activities. 3. Very friendly housekeepers come everyday to clean up the room, had a comfortable and nice experience in the room. Cons: 1. Mostly horrible food except the buffet and the fine dining restaurant-Black Angus. 2. Some rude servers at the restaurants. Overall: The staffs at front desk, concierge, bell desk, and pool were all great and super friendly, mostly every department of the hotel had great staffs and customer service. However, I had a horrible experience with their restaurant servers. That ruined one of my nights there. I'm not gonna go into details but overall some servers didn't have a professional manner/not well trained since they work in an all inclusive resort and don't receive tips. The tips are included in the hotel fee. In the end they did apologize to me after I reported everything to the manager on duty and the department director. I appreciate the effort from the managers and directors. The food in the hotel was mainly bad, if you're a food lover, I highly recommend you to stay at another hotel. The only decent food they had (all included) was in their buffet but I bet you don't want to dine at a buffet for every meal. They also have a fine dining restaurant with great food and AMAZING servers (I appreciate their service) but that is not included in the hotel fee so you gotta pay extra for the food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I love the buffet & everybody were excellent, I had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverton, IL

The hotel grounds are beautiful, great beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Beach Access, Food Choices, Pool,
Cons: Bathrooms could use updating.
Location: We took taxi to downtown enjoyed shopping and dinner, also took snorkeling trip easy pick up and drop off at hotel.
The beach and pools are just as pictured, hotel staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the all inclusive benefits, plenty of food choices and drink options. Room could use a little updating it was clean and comfortable, I would pay more for ocean view on next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Amazing resort!!!!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I will recommend this resort to everyone I know. The resort is well organized. They have activities and events scheduled 7 days a week. They have something that would interest everyone. The all inclusive deal is th best. The food is amazing and non motorized water sports are included. The rooms are basic but very clean and if you don't pay extra for a room with a view you are likely to get a view of a parking lot or the side of the resort. None of that mattered because we didn't want to be in the room. I love this place and I will be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

A great Long Weekend

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Hotel was great, spread out, clean, friendly staff, awesome food, even the buffet was good.
Cons: the only thing i would have to find is i wish you could get food to go from the pool side Grill and eat on the beach or by the pool.
Location: Staff told us how to use the public bus system and we used that to get downtown for the day.
We have never stayed at a Melia resort and absolutely loved this one. Staff was super friendly, felt very safe, the beach vendors were very nice and left you alone if you said no the first time. Food was awesome.. We didn't have our daughter but a great place for kids as well. We enjoyed it so much we are now staying at a Melia in Mexico for Spring Break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Great view!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
My mom and I had a wonderful time. All the staff were kind, and very professional. The food was excellent. The place was kept clean and neat. It's a beautiful resort and I love the fact that we had our own balcony and we were close to the beach and the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey City

Inconsistent service.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Dead roach in hall. Inconsistent housekeeping service. Missing towels and toiletries without replenishment of tissues. Room service trays left in hall longer than expected. Missing mini-bar and coffee machine was missing filter basket. First day snacks not received and never got to use coffeemaker for coffee. Food is average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Less than what we expected. Not too much to do on resort but we nice beach and in all a good time. Not enough chairs/umbrellas for the pools and beach area and towel card was annoying especially when people take your towels when you are in the pool not watching.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not provide you with sufficient activities and for the pool and beach experience. Warm regards, Cecilia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Nice beach, rooms need updating and staff was nice

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: Rooms and resort orientation
After reviewing and reviewing where to stay, we chose Melia because a friend of mine stayed there a week prior. We were excited to upgrade to the Level, which was worth it. Only that, our room doesn't quite feel upgraded. There was noticable rust on the drain and shower head. The towels felt rough. The minibar was never replenished when we were there. I do have to say that the beach is nice, especially in the Level area where there are padded chairs and they serve you food and drinks. Service IS slow, but that was also because there were 1 (at very seldom times 2) server/s in the Level area, catering to 20-30 cabanas/chairs/guests at a time. Food at the hotel was meh, I had higher expectations for Bahamas but my boyfriend and I decided to go out of the resort for authentic Bahamian food (at Fish Fry) which was terrific! Bahamian people are generally nice and overall we had a good relaxing time. Hope they upgrade some of their rooms soon and train front desk on how to direct people and tell them where amenities/facilities are (needless to say, we had to find some place on our own some days).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany NY

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This resort is worn and out dated. Service is slow and staff was not always friendly. The buffet was sparse. You have to pay a $10 delivery charge to have food brought to your room and that's after waiting an hour and a half for your food. Skip this place and go to the Riu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mandy, Your feedback is appreciated and apologizes for your expectations not met. We will work hard to improve. Sincerely yours, Cecilia