Ratings based on 1,065 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a 4 Star Hotel, Average 3 Star.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Hi, I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of several other destinations, and if it's a short stay I would probably recommend this hotel, but if your longer then 3 nights would not recommend it, but depends on what level of overall experience you want. Positives are that its : - On beach, Cable beach, - All Inclusive - not a large hotel like Atlantis so easier to get around - Staff friendly and warm hospitality. - Entertainment DJ was good Negatives and things that need to be improved : - Breakfast variety not brilliant - Rooms very dated but reception and other parts being refurbed - beach was not private as you would get many randoms trying to sell you things while your trying to enjoy beach, outdoor staff should be making sure more exclusive to guests - I would not personally class it a 4 Star, more 3-3.5 Star. - Room upgrades were quite extortionate for an average hotel But overall not a bad stay but if your looking for a good 4 star I think you will be disappointed but any less will be fine. Hope this helps
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pennsylvania

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 27, 2016
- Room smelled like mold -1 of the 3 dinner restaurants was closed with no warning on the website - 1 of the pools were closed... again no warning on the website -hotel front desk staff...not so friendly -used a jackhammer in the loby...staff had in ear plugs. NEED I SAY MORE
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brasil

HOTEL PÉ NA AREIA , PRAIA LINDÍSSIMA

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: LOCALIZAÇÃO , COMIDA , COMODIDADE .
Cons: A PARTE DE BEBIDAS DO SISTEMA ALL INCLUSIVE , PRINCIPALMENTE OS DRINKS
Location: PRAIA LINDA , PROXIMO AO AEROPORTO E PROXIMO AO CENTRO
COMIDA BOA , RESTAURANTES EXCELENTES , PRAIA MARAVILHOSA , NAS BEBIDAS DEIXARAM A DESEJAR , PRINCIPALMENTE OS DRINKS DO SISTEMA ALL INCLUSIVE COM BEBIDAS BEM INFERIORES , O RESTANTE TUDO PERFEITO, CAFÉ DA MANHÃ TOP , ALMOÇO E JANTAR MAGNÍFICOS , RECEPTIVO DO HOTEL FOI MUITO SOLICITO , 2 FUNCIONÁRIOS FALAM ESPANHOL E PORTUGUÊS .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Disappointing from start to finish!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The Beach was Excellent.
Cons: Everything except the beach
Too many bad experiences to even remember, i just wouldnt recommend nor would i stay here again. I paid extra for LEVEL and it was not worth it at all. No one cares if ur comfy or happy. Our room was on the 8th floor and the whole 9th floor was under construction so from about 8am to about 7pm constant drilling and hammering was going on. I complained about the noise and they said the would move me to another room on the same floor.. HELLO?? same thing still going to hear the noise from the floor above. The Level side of the beach was ok but you could still hear the construction noise since the building is really close to this area. Vendors on the beach are soo annoying and one of them stole a towel with food plates and bamboo covers that other guests had been using. So they can just take ur bag or ur stuff if ur not watching. No security on the actual beach, ive been to other resorts where a security is always walking around. The hotel employees renting out the paddle boards and the water bikes kept harassing us about getting them drinks from the bar telling us that if we could just do them the favor since we are getting everything for free. The majority of staff is not courteous and some are even rude like u are bothering them when u ask for something. One of the 3 inclusive dinner restaurants was closed Aqua, one of the pools was also closed, the Marketplace was closed for a few days, the food was not good. The food at Nikkei and Cilantro were better. Stay somewhere else!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billings Mt.

Nice Hotel on beautiful beach.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Good quality for the money! Beautiful beach!
Cons: Hotel needs more entertainment at night, live music, or a theater. After dinner it was kind of boring. They had a DJ but the hotel could improve this.
Location: Good location! You jump on the #10 bus and it took you downtown.
We really enjoyed our stay. We almost didn't go to the Melia because there was a lot of bad reviews. We're glad we went and overall had a great time. The food was good. We ate at the Auqua, the Cilantro, the Nikkei. The Grill restaurant was good but we didn't like the flies getting on our food. We went in September and we were glad we did. It was less busy and we always found a spot on the beach with an umbrella to give us shade. The staff were friendly with a few not so friendly but we didn't let that bother us. Marco at the Cilantro was super nice and friendly!! The hotel needs some paint and some updating but they were doing some painting and repairs while we were there. I wish there was more entertainment in the evenings,live music and maybe a theater would go a long way. After dinner there wasn't a lot to do. Overall we had a nice relaxing stay. We layed by the beach daily and enjoyed the slow pace!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Definitely recommend this hotel! Friendly staff, the rooms were clean, food options were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we appreciate you choosing Melia Nassau Beach. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely yours, Cecilia
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meliá beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Had an awesome time at melia hotel. Great hotel, great food, great customer service. Paradise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will continue to provide the experience that you deserve. Warm regards, Cecilia
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Overall it was a very nice place to stay. Two of the restaurants (Nikkei and Cilantro) were above average, particularly Nikkei. Devonte was an exceptional waiter. The pool bar staff and the O'Grille staff were always friendly and we didn't have to wait long for anything. The rooms were the worst part of the stay. They are definitely outdated but the ocean view makes up for it. There always seemed to be a taxi and or bellman available any time of day. It is obvious the staff throughout the hotel strive to make their guests as comfortable as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager , Hotel Management
Dear San Fran Couple, thank you for giving Melia Nassau Beach an opportunity to host you. We are glad that our service provided you with a great experience. However, we do apologize for the room condition and is looking forward to some upgrades in the very near future. Warm regards, Cecilia
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Very nice hotel with delicious food

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Very happy with stay at Melia. Hotel close to the beach.very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you dearly for sharing your experience. We are delighted to have you. Sincerely, Cecilia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Select Another Resort

Posted Sep 16, 2016
My friends and I travel to Punta Cana very often and the Melia Reaprt there is amazing. So it was only right that I choose the Melia when I decided to vacation to the Bahamas. However, this was not a Punta Cana experience. The check in process was crazy long. I stood in line over 40 minutes to check in. There was only one staff member available while the other was in the back (you could see her from the side, maybe she was on her break). While waiting in line they did offer you a drink. Hey, why not get buzzed while you wait almost a hour. The room I select on Expedia was not ready when I checked in, so they called their selves "upgrading" my room to a walk out room. If the room they gave me was a upgrade I would hate to see what a normal room would have been. When I arrived to the room the curtains did not close properly, the mini bar was not stocked (as listed on the website), and the phone did not work so I couldn't call my concerns in. Now after walking up to the Conceirge desk I was able to speak with the nicest Concierge I have ever met. I really wish I remembered her name because her service was worth mentioning. The pros of the hotel were that the dinner dinning options were amazing. I can say the food was much better then I expected and the entertainment was five stars. The cons of the hote are that they seem to be doing renovations so there was a lot of work going on that was very disturbing to my vacation. The room was not clean. The towels were dirty and stained
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Caj, We appreciate your loyalty to the Melia brand and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We at Melia Nasasu Beach is dedicated to improving our product and services, and though our guest feedback we will learn and grow in a positive way. We hope to provide you with a memorable and enjoyable stay, if given a second chance . Sincerely, Cecilia Sit