Ratings based on 3,417 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

Good place for the money

Posted Feb 20, 2017
It was a nice 7 nights stay. Most of the staff is nice and helpful. Food is ok. Could be better but still not bad. Hotel is old but it didn't bother us that much. Room was clean and bed was nice (that is the most important) We came here for the beach and beach was perfect. Water is so clean and beautiful. They have a free Wifi in the hotel but after 2 days of using it they started to kicking us out and we wasn't able to use it for the rest of the vacation and no body was able to fix it. Like i said good for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester, MA

It was nothing I expected

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: hotel activities.sport staff, bartending and waitressing were great
Cons: needs full upgrade ASAP, water needs to be tested, front desk staff needs to be trained how to greet, check in and out customers
Location: EXUMA was the highlight of our trip
Hotel front desk staff was not welcoming or pleasant to talk to, room smell like mold, shower water and sink smell bad, I had to brush my teeth with mineral water. Shower area had mold. Trying to sleep with the balcony doors open was impossible, the machinery outside the room was lauder than the ocean. The room AC was noisy. Buffet area smell like grease there was no proper ventilation, I had to wait in line for a ticket to have dinner at a stake house, which smell even worse then the buffet area, there was smoke through the whole dinner to the point my eyes were burning. The buffet area smells so strong that just by standing in the lobby you would get the smell on your clothe and hair. The package included wi-fi which did not work most of the time. I have been to RIU in Aruba, and it was one of the best places I have ever been to. That was the reason why I picked the same hotel in Nassau. It was a great disappointment all along.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester, MA

It was nothing I expected.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The hotel activities/sport staff, bartending and waitressing were great!
Cons: Hotel needs an upgrade ASAP, have the water tested, and staff needs to be trained how to greet and how to check out customers.
Location: The trip to EXUMA was the highlight of our vacation.
Hotel front desk staff was not welcoming or pleasant to talk to, room smell like mold, shower water and sink smell bad, I had to brush my teeth with mineral water. Shower area had mold. Trying to sleep with the balcony doors open was impossible, the machinery outside the room was lauder than the ocean. The room AC was noisy. Buffet area smell like grease there was no proper ventilation, I had to wait in line for a ticket to have dinner at a stake house, which smell even worse then the buffet area, there was smoke through the whole dinner to the point my eyes were burning. The buffet area smells so strong that just by standing in the lobby you would get the smell on your clothe and hair. The internet package included wi-fi, which did not work most of the time. I have been to RIU in Aruba, and it was one of the best places I have ever been to. That was the reason why I picked the same hotel in Nassau. It was a great disappointment all along.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Rooms updating, reservation in restaurants, bigger pool
Location: Beach next to the hotel, Atlantis next door
Pros: Travelled with family(baby) Location perfect, great staff, good food selection in buffet, ala-carte restaurant food was good, staff went out of the way to help during stay. Few things like room needs updating, restaurants should be able to make reservation rather than first come first serve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice all-inclusive resort with beach access

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Food is great! Nice job by the cooking team. Overall cleanliness is pretty good. Thumbs up for their attention on details.
Cons: Not sure non-smooking floor was available (wasn't offered) but corridor always had cigarette stink. People smooking on restaurant open area disgusting
Location: Good location with direct access to beach and a few blocks from some bars/restaurants. Close to one of Atlantis' hotels making it easier to go there.
We had a fairly pleasant experience at Riu. Our room was very comfortable with an outstanding ocean-front view. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. There is a good amount of variety for food on restaurants and they taste great. Direct access to the beach is perfect for going in-and-out whenever needed (restroom, drinks, etc) and staff helping with hotel exclusive chairs is another nice perk. Our stay was very good overall and I plan to go back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia, nj

a great experience!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The staff were so warm and welcoming. The food was very good with much variety. Beautiful room and views. Thank You to everyone that helped give us a wonderful vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

close to beach and Alantis next door

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: great location
Cons: did not like that you could not reserve your dinner reservations, all other RIU we have been to you can reserve and that let you plan you day
Location: Love location
We went day before valantines just me and my husband, like to due to not many kids, also great location close to everything, took a couple of excurisions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great View and Comfort

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Food, location of room, bed, beach, drinks
We had room 1128. The view was gorgeous especially in the mornings with the sunrise flowing into the room. We had a king size bed and was very comfy. The food was delicious with a lot of healthy options. We enjoyed the Mimosas with our breakfast and the Mojitos were also very good. The staff was very helpful and entertaining. We felt very safe in Riu as security personnel was keeping an eye on making sure no outsiders came in. One thing is if you have small children there is not much for them to do except swim in the pool or play on the beach. You could purchase day tickets to Atlantis which is next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigam

Winter paradise vacation destination

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Check in and out was extremely quick and easy. The hotel was clean. Staff was friendly. Plenty of tasty food anytime you want. If you want a fancier dining experience, there are 3 dining rooms you can go to, but there is limited seating, so get there at least 30 minutes early to get a spot. Also remember to bring pants and a shirt with sleeves. It doesn't have to be fancy, but they don't allow shorts or sleeveless shirts. Parasailing and jet ski rental is available on the beach behind the hotel. Some require cash but one will take credit cards. We booked parasailing on Expedia and were able to walk to the hotel beach and get on. It was amazing. The hotel does have airports transfers, but you have to pay for it. Catching a taxi anywhere on the island is extremely easy. Taxi drivers wait outside the hotel all the time. It's about a 25 minute walk to Atlantis in a nice area that feels safe. I might recommend a premium ocean view because the room faced atlantis cove resort, but when you're on the balcony you could see the ocean. Ice is only available on some floors, not all of them, so you might have to go to another floor to get ice. Every night around 8 they had a show, so you don't have to leave the hotel for entertainment. There was also staff at the pool to rally people to play games and dance, but the pool atea clears out about 5pm every day. No matter where you are in the hotel, you can always get a drink. A taxi to the main land is $12-$13, to the airport it's $35- $38.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very nice property. The staff is great. The place is squeaky clean. Food and drinks the best. Stay there you will get a great bargain. I have nothing but praise for this hotel.