Ratings based on 3,282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated Hotel. STAY AWAY

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Good spot in the Paradise Island.
Cons: The Hotel is in big need of full refurbishment. All rooms are dated, carpets are muggy and smelly and the furniture is old and ugly.
Location: Location wise is not that bad as it neighbours Atlantis and frequent trips over there makes the whole experience more bearable.
The hotel is advertising itself as 5 stars. The only thing that is 5 star is the rudeness of the Hotel General Manager, a guy called Santiago. I will get back to this below. Upon our arrival we have been allocated a room with a horrible smell, muggy and with wet smelly carpets. I have refused to let my 2 year old daughter sleep there and requested another room. The reservation through Expedia was entitled: "Junior Suite Superior Ocean View". The first room we were given was nowhere near an Ocean view room. You could only see the Ocean if you would stretch sideways in the balcony. The view otherwise was overlooking a horrible dated Hotel Kitchen roof.. Upon my complaint we were given another room still not a direct Ocean View room but we were happy with the fact that it was clean and did not smell as the previous one. To my surprise, the Receptionist stated that the room we just moved into is a superior room to what we have paid for and we will have to bare an $800 surcharge. The story gets worse, frustrating and long. I will spare you the details summarising that the Hotel took in the end a charge of $800 which was NOT authorised by me, the Hotel GM appeared to have missed any kind of compulsory Customer Service Training and bluntly told me that he is running a business that needs to make money dismissing my complaint. Furthermore, he blamed it all on Expedia for advertising Ocean View Room when Riu Ocean View rooms are "Partial Sea View". Expedia kindly helped us in the end
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The rooms were dirty and mildew stinged. The hallway floors smelled like dirty mops. The only good thing about this hotel were the staff were amazing. They remember your name they try to make you comfortable. THERE WERE NO ENTERTAINMENT.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good food

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Good
Great buffets ,greatbeach,convenient ,nice people
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Never come back.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Mostly everything
Location: Not much to do unless you rent a car
Not very good, we ended up paying an extra $500 for the suite I thought we had ordered
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Nothing to do in hotel Go to Atlantis
Ugly, never recommend. Below average Can't compare with other Riu
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Hotel from hell. $100 was stolen from my room.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: I was scared to leave my room for any amount of time because I didn't know what was going to be missing when I returned. I stayed in my room.
I was treated like I was the problem when I complained that the money was stolen from my room. The hotel and its staff created a hostel environment for the entire time we were at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Condition

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Hotel was a remodel of an older hotel. Though updates were made to the lobby and main restaurant, the pool area was not well maintained. railings and tile around the pool were not well maintained and was in need of renovations. Rooms were welllayed out but were very noisy - often hearing full conversations between adjoining rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Being Satisified

Posted Oct 3, 2016
When we 1st arrived, we were not happy with our room. We expressed our feelings to mgmt and we were relocated to much better accommodations. All staff members were extremely polite and professional. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Great Resort

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Great resort and amenities. Staff is extremely courteous. The property is well maintained on a constant bases. The all inclusive is top shelf alcohol, with a fully stocked Mini bar in the room (all inclusive), and delicious gourmet food, which is always fresh and prepared to 5 start restaurant standards. Truly the best buffet I have ever had. They give you a bracelet and you enjoy the all inclusive with know hassle or questions ask. The bedding could be better specifically the blankets. The room climate control is adjustable but never worked and was at a constant freezing temperature . This was the same for our friends room as well (which was a nicer room). You can enjoy all the amenities at the Atlantis resort to include the casino and the aquarium. The beach is beautiful with bath water temperature. There were no hidden fees or charges at check out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a good stay.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I was told by multiple Riu staff when your a guest here your free to do whatever you would like.